So i want to know what qualifies a person to be called aunty. I’m 20 and married, no kids yet, but the other day we went to my parents house and there was another family there. and this girl kept calling me aunty
. Now normally if she was a kid i wouldn’t mind but she was like 15 years old
i feel old…![]()
Re: Aunty???
She must be really besharam girl, I hate those type of people who are like a year or two younger yet call other uncle/aunty. It never happend to me but once I was travelling from PK by British airways with my friend who is 7 years younger me. A boy was sitting next to him almost same age as my friend and he called me "Bhaijaan" but he called my friend "uncle" (perhaps only because my friend had a beard). My friend was really angry & shouted at him "Oye main teray dand bhann dayyaan ga jay minu fer uncle kayya tay." I couldn't stop laughing because that friend is BBCD & hardly speak any Punjabi but he said that in such a plane punjabi.
Anyway, if it happens to u again, just simply tell the person I am not ur aunty dont call me Aunty, calle me from my name or call me Baji.
jin ko bohat choota banai ka shook hoota hai yahan jou bohat stupid hootai hain they call other ppl aunti:aj:
I agree.
Also, being married sort of does make you an aunty. :p
I have the opposite problem - I look really young for my age and kids feel strange even calling me baji…![]()
It’s hard to command respect in a roomful of kids when you look younger than most of them… ![]()
hi sheen aunty kaisi hain app?
aaj kal nazar nahi a rahi kiya baat hai naraz to nahi ho gey merai saath:shoaby: ??..
^ well i got married when i was 19 ![]()
wats wrong with being called an aunty?
^ theres nothing really wrong with it, i just want to know why someone whose 5 years younger then myself is calling my aunty.
I know people whose aunties/uncles are the same age as them...
It could be worse, you could look like an aunty :(
If she was 5, sure.. but if she’s 15, either she was joking, or she was being a *****. If some HS chik kept calling me aunty out of seriousness, i’d smack her ![]()
^ ya it was funny cause everytime she called me aunty, my husband would give her the dirtest look. she wasn't joking, i don't know her so she couldn't have been joking. i probably will never see her again so i didn't bother telling her not to call me aunty.
The thing is even if i was going to see her on a regular basis i probably wouldn't correct her, i don't know why but i'd just feel like a ***** for doing so.
^ And shes a bigger ***** to keep calling you that. If anyone oes that again, then say something, no use in sitting there and letting them talk.
you got married at 20. why?
I think it has to do with you being married. They don't realize a younger person can be married too. :D I actually knew a girl like that. She used to call unmarried (older than her) girls "baji", and as soon as they'd get married, they'd transition into "aunty" in her dictionary. She'd admit to it too! So as soon as she herself got married, a lot of people started teasing her about transitioning into auntyhood. :D
So yeah, next time she calls you aunty, tell her you're only 20, so she should just call you baji...if anything.
you (whether married or not) should only be called aunty If and ONLY if a child has a parent the same age as u or if that parent is like a brother/sister to you.
This 15 yr old surely doesnt have a mother who is 20 therefore she has no business calling you aunty!!
My mums friends son who is a month younger than me calls me Aunty just because Im aquainted with his mother.
I take it gracefully and not let it worry me.
Doesnt make a difference in who I am and how I feel.
Neither should you let it worry you.
Aunty label is pure desi.
Dont see no goras calling people they arent related to as unkils and aunties
I've taught my girls to refer to everyone by their names with respect.
No aunties and no unkils.
don't let it bother....sometimes ppl say aunty or uncle to get on someone's nerves....or sometimes they simply don't know what the ristha is....or sometimes the ristha is really weird that someone 3 years younger than u would call u aunty or something....like i know of this girl who is 2 or 3 years older than me and she calls my MIL aapa.....and I call her mami cuz she is technically my mami....its kinda weird but can't avoid these types of things....also respect...