ATTACK - The missing instinct

Historically Pakistan cricket had great garrison of talents and the flare to play the game at its best, thus converging with the best of the time at Pakistan’s own independence period since 1947 in no time.
Why was it that India and Pakistan being the same chip of the Old block almost achieved different results in a very short span of time?
I guess it was the aggression that put two teams apart from each other. We are blessed with this induction at DNA level to have it in our blood to play ‘Attacking’ cricket.
It did matter and statistics so far speak for themselves.

Both Kapil Dev and Imran Khan had that aggression and charisma to carry the W-Cup for their respective countries which they did.
Both these Gentlemen came from a back ground where its taught from your crib to be a young cub that must wear a ‘tiger’ skin as a toy. Symbolically inducing some tiger instincts in ones blood line. Thus the phrase "mera Shayr bacha’

If you pick a game, any game of Pakistan cricket and analyze it to reveal the layers of success and not surprising one would see the thing that stands out are the ‘Attack ‘ instincts.
That has been the main propeller of Pakistan cricket and its winning streak & the turning point.
But why was it so? When at the same time Hindustan had a good bunch of players but Played for different results?

I guess the logic lies in the following debate. Read on,
Pakistan never followed the footsteps of its former masters the’ English’ way of playing the game. It adopted its own logic and philosophy to shun the image of Slave & Masters, by secretly admiring the way its former masters tamed the foul mouth Aussies to heel and cry mercy.
The ‘Beamers’ the ‘Bouncers’ and the bowling that is aimed at the batsman rib cage are the inventions of the English but the Australians mastered the craft.

Two teams in the world who were instantly interested to adopt this lethal weapon of Venom loaded armor of Pace Bowling were the Australians and the Pakistanis.

They did well by not only adopting it, but by further developing it into an instant ‘Art ‘ of pace bowling that commonly invade our pitches from time to time, and from region to region. This was the period when the ‘Red Cherry’ grew wings.

Many famous names can go here, but that would be irrelevant to the thread topic.

The trio dominated the 60’s and the 70’s when the W-Ind with SA & SL. Joined in
And by the Mid 80’s the ‘Pace Bowling’ was here to stay and never looked back.
ICC with its MCC masters at Lords was quick to introduce the restrictions on ‘Short ball’ and Bouncer rule. That was clearly inducted to save the ‘Gora heads ‘ from their own invention cum loose cannon.

ODI theory further boosted the idea of using it as a quick fire projectile to shake the bat up, break it loose and let the spinners swallow the weak pray if not already eaten.

By then the ‘Ideal Theory’ of a win was clear enough for the pickings. Those who adopted the ‘Attack’ theory made headways into the record books.

Those who adopted a casual approach to the ‘Test’ matches and the so-called 2+3 days boring test cricket with a days rest in the middle made the game boring, slow and a chocker event achieving zeros.

Be it the ‘Test’ Cricket or the ODI, Pakistan never adopted the ‘Chocking’ tactics to the game. Indian were quite into it and played the game as if sipping tea in the lazy late after noon Indian sun.
However by the late 80’s the trend was turning via Prabhakar and Kapil
Compare to Pakistan’s handful of speedsters and medium pacers were still a shade shy off.

This was the period when the games started to go to the wire. But still Pakistan never had to work hard to beat the Indians. It was effortless and with out pain.

The ‘Attacking’ game theory is perhaps the actual game philosophy the inventor never thought would one day take over this ‘Gentleman’s game away from the afternoon teas and biscuits, Casual dash to the ‘dressing room’ in the middle of a play. Or the ever famous after game Pub bash where the looser would toast to the Winners and live happily ever after until the next Test.

Cricket is a game of Bat & Ball there are more refinements done to it than any other sport you care to name here.

The tactics are more inclined towards ‘Attack’ than ‘Defense’.
When you win the toss ‘ you decide to ‘Bat’ or ‘Field’ this would relate to the idea of
Bat = Attack and score as many runs without loosing many wickets on day one.
Field= Attack through my Pace Battery, open cracks into the opponents line of defense force them into a defensive posture and go for the ‘Final Kill’
Pakistan needs to adopt the ‘attack tactics’ once again. Combine the heroics of Bat & Ball to produce a quench for thirsty Tiger’s instinct.

Die trying, than begging for an easy death. The results would be the one that you are so use to.

Please do not copy or qoute - Thanks)

Re: ATTACK - The missing instinct

^ Gosh! It is painful to read. :bummer:

Raindance Bhai,

Pehle to please bataiye ke Aap kehna kiya chahte hou:confused:

Edit: Raindance bhai ne apni galti sudhar li, tou I had to follow suit.:smiley: :smiley:

aejaz bhai,,, ^^ please un-qoute the above garbled qoute - Thanks

^^

Raindance Bhai,

Can you please say whaterev you want to say, In a way that Illitretate(sp) laymens like can comprehend what you want to tell us:p :p :p , every one is not an expert in gibbrish like you are:D

Raindance Bhai,

Until and unless Woolmer is knowledegeble with your penmanship, mujhe nahi lagta ke woh kuch Karega:p

Sorry I don't have to read all that, read only a few lines alongwith title and I think its about players not attacking the opposition. o bhai, if they don't have their basics right then how can you attack? khaali hawa mai balla ghuma dena kaafi hota to Afridi aur Imran Nazir sab se kaamyab batsmen hotay.

Our players lack patience, shot selection and the top ones esp lack the basics. You'll see when Inzi, Youhanna and sometimes Razzaq are batting they attack bowlers (not all the times though) but these are the core-batsmen of our team (except for Asim who is only in Test matches). Other batsmen's techniques are challenged even by people who have only watched cricket. So forget "attack" technique, foundation has to be stronger for that. Wait till PCB selects players whose basics are good alongwith "talent".

Raindance, I feel your pain. The lonely Shoaib's fan missing him in a big series;)

We don't have players like Imran, Wasim and Waqar anymore. We need to eat it. The glorious period is long gone and we are now just another team in the test world. Until the talent that we have is refined and trained properly and play as a unit not for own agenda, we will see below par performances as we are witnessing for last two years. I tell you there is enough fire power sitting out there waiting for PCB to groom them with masters of past. But who can conquere his ego.

:elmo:

koi achha aur “relevanat” muhavra dhoond ke laao plz :stuck_out_tongue:

:elmo:

:bukbuk:

Keep trying :stuck_out_tongue:

I think you might have comprehension problem. I said if swinging a bat in air was enough for attacking a bowler then Imran Nazir would’ve been a successful batsman alongwith Shahid Afridi… Now how does it mean that I like Afridi or Imran Nazir? It only means I don’t like their love for slogging.

good job radiance....very well written......I have to agree that Pakistan and India used to play cricket in two different modes....however, Pakistan’s “aggressive mode” came into play after imran khan took over....Just like their counterparts from India i.e. sunil gavaskar, gandapa vishwanath and Bedi, pakistani skippers i.e.Imtiaz ahmad, musthaq mohammad, asif iqbal and zaheer abbas all used to employ defensive tactics in the cricket. Abdul Hafeez Kardar, Lala amaranth and Ajit wadikar are the only exception. Imran Khan is the man who changed the mentality of Pakistani players and produced some wonderful results with a mediocre team.

However, we should also pay attention to what Captain1 is saying. it is good to be aggressive if you have decent weapons plus you also know how to use them but it would be extremely dangerous to pursue an aggressive path if all of your weapons are of substandard quality.

In another thread, Faisal raised a valid point that it has been 2 years since 2003 world cup and we are still satisfying ourselves by considering all of our defeats as a result of “re-structuring” and “re-building”. Yes, 2 years is not a long time but it is not a very small time period either. The fact of the matter is that regardless of the time involved, there is no doubt that we have totally failed to unearth/produce quality players. Lets just accept the reality. Yasir hameed, muhammed hafiz, imran farhat, imran nazir, tauqfeeq umar and shoaib malik are our future prospects and all of them are a total failure outside Pakistan. After 2 years of continuous experience with all of them, we know that they are not of international standard. what else we have lined up? Nothing….I am just scared who will ever replace inzi?…and inzi has hardly a year left in him.

And bowling huh…….it has been a nightmare….A country who produced imran , wasim and waqar has to rely on Khalil and razaq…….it is really sad….Surprisingly, not a long time ago, our replacement bowlers such as aqib javed, amir nazeer, mohsin kamal and ata ur rehman were pretty decent. So there is something really terribly wrong……Not to mention that it is the same system which produced an artist like zaher abass, a fighter like javed miandad, a master like imran khan, a magician like saqi musthaq, and destroyers like Wasim and Waqar? WHAT HAS HAPPENED NOW?

Leaving aside the Shoaib Akhtar Love that probably fanned this thread, from the pitfalls Pakistan cricket is in, these days, we can go two different routes.

1. We can become like Australia or England. Not many years ago, Australia was a fairly mediocre team (yeah, I know its hard to imagine a time like that) and lost everything in sight, before Allan Border took them out of that vegitative state and infused a sense of winning. From Border, the torch passed to Tailor, Waugh and Ponting and they kept going up and up. England, from their miserable days a few years ago, have finally seemed to turn the tide and are now a fighting and capable unit.

2. Or we can go the West Indian way, who lost their glory touch right after Richardson and for years now, are loitering at the bottom half of the charts with occassional packets of brilliance shown by some individual players (Lara or Gayle or someone), but generally losing everything.

All our winning strategies (attack and what not) are invain if we don't have players who are talented, motivated and deliver their 120% on a consistent basis. Individual flashes of brilliance are no solution. Remember squash.. where Pakistan dominated the entire world when we had Jahangir and Jansher. Look at it now, and there is not a single Pakistani in the charts. It was all individual brilliance. We didn't had the infrastructure to produce quality players. With cricket, there is a lot more enthusism in the public, a lot more sponsorship and competition, but its probably not as high quality as the domestic cricket and academies in Australia and UK. Till we fix our basic infrastructure problems, we will continue to look at individual sparks of brilliance from some players to keep the hopes of our nation alive.

just enjoy the game.

analysis and strategies that you can do something about will be lot more gainful in the orgasmic booms of the karachi market

even there you're gonna loose one day and gain the next

----------------x--------------------

Not true about the thread conception(Shoiab) Faisal!

The thread is based on the fact that Pakistan has started to play ‘Defense’ in all their ‘Matches’ plus the ‘floating propaganda’ that Pakistanis prefer to chase targets. Where as ‘Attacking cricket’ has won them key matches (not referring to Afridi style of aggression though) Plus the Captain & V.C mystery is still a prickly idea we are living with,at least to me its still a mystery,:elmo:

I do realize that without reliable hands on deck, this ship is sailing nowhere.

Under the circumstances us the fans should show more retrains and self control our emotions and let the team be allowed to play their game in flowing rhythm rather than to succumb to the pressure and still step into the ‘Test Cricket’ arena as clear underdogs. Clever Indians do know our weaknesses and these wins will go down in history as 'achieved against the " Wounded Tiger & its Cubs "

My message to them and including “aejaz bhai” :stuck_out_tongue: is to enjoy these victories because today you played better cricket than us. Tomorrow and after would be another day.
But the history will remain on our side and the Future is bright with all the healthy experiments and innovative ideas afloat in Pakistan’s camp.

With 2 wickets down , the boyZ could have easily gone back into the shell. But they opted to take advantage of the batting wicket and took the "Attack" to the opposition.

imo, winning is an option and lot depends on how one needs to go about getting it patiently.

While loosing is a virtue of mishaps and not stickong to the plan.

Test 3 - Day -3
With 500 odd runs on the board, Inzi would want to apply 'constant pressure'
by taking an attacking field set up.
Just as what he did in few initial overs at dying moments of Day-2.

-Carry 3 slips, a gully, short mid off a 3rd man narrow to the 'square-leg ( exposing the empty 3rd man area) + a fwd short leg ( for leading edges & bat-pad)

-Kmaran should come 'UP' for Razzak's bowling - with slips less deeper from their normal posture - It would be the key.

-Use Afridi and Razzak in tendum from one end and use Arshad Khan from one lone end.

-Danish should only be called when neccessery - Inzi should use Danish as a decoy untill it
is needed for him to go flat out with Arshad from both ends.

At random their should be a 'Different' plan in motion every 1/2 hour. Plan ahead for Sehwag & Dravid to allow them to open shoulders with few juicy half vollies or what ever untill a 'chocker' is planted to earn a wicket.

It seems that Afridi's and Arshad bowling will be the 'Key' element, while Danny and Razzak would be able to pick few tails enders cheaply,,:D

Mr. Woolmer has acknowledged this with his thanks and goes on in saying that this has given Inzi the new ' Pivoted mindset ' of winning every match from here on with 'Attacking cricket' (Reply received prior to the match result day-5)

Thread submitted until post # 17.
^^ Thank you guys for your feedback.

Leo