At what age did you get married..

Re: At what age did you get married..

Koi baat nahin... watta satta chalta hai! :D

hhaa'n,...muddat hui yaar ko mehmaa'n kiye huye....

I was 26 and he was 28. we had known each other for 2 yrs and been engaged for 5 months in those 2 yrs.

It was one of the most beautiful days of my life when we got married:)

My sisters both got married young..one at age 18 (been married 22 yrs now)and the other at age 20 (married 15 yrs now). Neither of them thought they were ready to be married especially my sister who was 18 but mashAllah she did well…some people mature when circumstances arise. Now she is so happy that she got married at a young age because she has a college age daughter and she is only 40. People think they are sisters…and they act like it too. :slight_smile: Like you said…it’s nice to be married and have kids at a young age because you can keep up with them and there isnt a huge generation gap.

:eek: wow that’s a long time!

Both AE and Aahmed make a very good point. Another problem with us is that elders keep on treating children as if they were still children even if they are mature and grown up. A person is young until he gets married. A person who will get married on 23rd is considered young until the 23rd and suddenly becomes “wise and grown up” on the 24th? This doesnt make sense. I think children should be treated like grown ups when they are grown ups and a person should marry asap.

I agree with AE. Sometimes circumstances add to ur maturity as well :k:

:eek:your married

Agreed to HHL, in addition Islam also emphasises on marrying after 18 as soon as possible, so that the boy should not be attacked by evil thoughts which might guide him to immoral activities.

Also there is a hadith that half of the "Rizq" of a man is with his wife, which she brings along with her, so no point to think of first stabilizing oneself economically ( on the basis of worldly standard of high status)

There is more "Barakah" of Allah in a good relationship of a couple than their living as bachelors.

I agree with ya STP. I am also familiar with the ahadith as well but am not sure where it mentions 18 specifically. Maturity can come to people at different age, some are mature at age of 16 while others might take longer. But yes, a person shud get married asap to be safe from the trap of shaitaan.

i dont agree with some desi aunties...they think their sons should get married at age 33 when they are all 'settled' and then they look for 18yr old girls for rishteys.....so unfair...the age gap remains for the rest of their lives...and rarely do i see the couple being intimate...its such a waste...
firstly...being financially ready has nothing to do with getting married...Marriage is a bond for spiritual and emotional satisfaction..(apart from the other obvious reason)
secondly.. the 33 yr old man will never be 25.....personally i think 20s is a tender age..and should be shared with a loved one..paisa to aney janey wali cheez hai...you dont need money to be happy...

wut will happen if the shaitan gets to u

@ HHL. I agree. I think it was mentioned that when a man gets " Baligh" which is commonly believed to be 18 in general, it can be plus minus as well.

Than people would be involved in immoral activities. (If they don't ignore the immoral temptations raised in their hearts, by shaitaan)

Try that with a high maintenance desi larki [ABCD ke or nakhrey..] and you will find out.. :hehe:

I think you are a female which is why you don’t care about the financial consequences of marriage.

Then you wouldn’t be sitting here posting on GS. Instead you’d be somewhere else :phati:

Or maybe you would :hmmm:

You are right…I AM a female…the one who takes care of her own ‘nakhreys’…
jitnay kamao..utna kharch karo..the reason people declare bankruptcies..is because…they take the ‘trying to impress the desi community’ too far…with fazool karchi etc…achey ghar ki larki lao..so you wont have to teach her the value of the ‘dollar’ because she ll already know…

I agree with you Chanda :). Not all the girls are the same and not all the guys are the same. We have too much luxuries involved in our lives that we think we will not be able to survive without it.

i know....mediocrity has become a crime in our society...so sad..

Very true, it PISSES me off when parents do that with Children. My ammi does that to me and I react and that’s why we get in arguments because I don’t let her treat me like a baby. On the other hands, she treats my brothers like kids and they let her, she goes to them more because they let her treat them like little kids and I guess they like it. She is not doing them a favor by this “laad”, in fact, she is not letting them grow up and get responsible. To give one example, I wake up with the first ring of the alarm but my brothers don’t. They sleep without any worries because they know mom will get up to wake them up, so why worry that we’ll be late to work or for an interview? :mad2:

Yes, and she’s also a gupshup member “Mrs. Shikra”…so don’t say something that will make her eat you alive :smiley:

^i really thought u were like 26 :halo:

Yea man. Infact this “laad” can sometimes mess up children to the point that they even let go of their studies or take them lightly and end up wasting years of their life and when they do realise (when the laad isnt there anymore), it is too late. I am not saying don’t love your children. I absolutely LOVE children and think they are Allah’s mercy on us (PS/Nintendo cannot replace them lol) but for Allah’s sake, treat them like they outta be treated.

PS - I gotta tell u something but not right now. Mere GS pe dushman barey hain :fatee:. When I do tell you, u wont believe it :stuck_out_tongue: