at the airport ...

so … when flying to pakistan … you’re sitting in your designated lounge … you look around .. how would you describe the pakistani lot that surrounds you? what kind of people do you see?

p.s. when answering this, do mention what country you belong to, or the country of whose experience you’re sharing.

Re: at the airport ...

depends where you are sitting. .if you are in CIP lounge.. then you will see government officials & business man's ..

if you are in general sitting here.. then you can see .. people flying to gcc countries which are mostly low wages workers.. etc..etc..

travelling from heathrow...
terminal 3 is the busiest and has the weirdiest crowd....any country...
and I find like minded pakistani ppl trying to find others like themselves flock together...
the other thing I notice is that the worst sector of flight is always the middle east to pakistan one, as all the low wage workers are usually on those flights so the attendants tend to be ratty too...

and for what it's worth,I find the working class goray have more manners than some of the educated pakistani's,so never have problems travelling to europe usa etc...everyone knows you have to que n wait....

i traveled a couple of times by PIA and what i noticed was people speaking in Punjabi and families with kids, running all around, and yes most passengers with a lot of luggage :)

Re: at the airport …

I never travel with PIA :snooty:

why? are u black-listed? lol :smiley: yaa udhaar nahiiN pay kiyaa? :cb: :wink:

I always get strange looks… I dont really take notice of it though and just soak in the atmosphere. In the VIP/business class lounge which is where I used to be allocated on chartered flights I made my poffish companians nervous and personally I couldn’t stand those eliteists and they always felt that I would spit in thier soup or something… or perhaps the presence of a upstart like me was not worthy of their company.

However in economy class I loved it… I would always have to squash up next to older folks or country bumpkin types and in Britian every flight with PIA outbound I found myself next to a Mirpuri or Punjabi or Pathan fellow and the company was always much more interesting.

In business class it’s all grumpy nervous folk nattering on about business meetings and how much such and such is worth investing in… blah dee blah.

At least in the common lounge one can indulge in some chit chat and idle small talk but at the same time actually get to know the passengers around you too… I hate travelling with people I cant mingle with… :aj:

When I went to Pakistan we went via PIA, desis all around with loads of luggage!

Which TV show/movie were you watching when you wrote this?

I don't know what business class you've been in =)

Yeah is it just me or is there alwyas some chirpy folk who seem to think your thier distant cousin or fifth generation Lord of the Manor or whatever… I am ussually wary of such long lost brethren becuase you can bet thier real intention is to get close and maybe filch something from you… thats why thier so friendly or polite.

Airports in the UK tend to be attented by nice friendly staff, in Pakistan everyone from the cute lady at the Check in desk to the baggage handlers seem to be out for bribes and I particulalry hate the over zealous guards who are quick to throw around weaker people or pick on the wealthy but seemingly un-supported folk… I just love it when I set off all the metal detectors and then have to pull out my medical cards.

Also once you step into the Airports car park the difference is most alarming in other countries the Taxi’s provided are much more friendlier but I know when I come home they either want to rob me… or after I sit in the cab and tell them who I am and were I want to go… they give me the “Please sir not me… forgive me Sir spare me from such a journey” Look until you hand them 1000PRS and they beam you a smile and shrug before saying a prayer and drive you to home… :whistling:

Actually I can remeber the details very vividly it was on my trip to Pakistan last year… was waiting for the 133 flight from London Heathrow to Islamabad, I also remember the company on that day and I had a choice between sitting with boring businessmen, lawyers, a gaggle of Journalists and my hated host for whom I was working at that time. :no:

Honestly if you had been in my shoes you would have done the same. :omg:

:hehe: Shak09 Bhai you really dont want to know I’ll PM you the details… I really had to get out of that room on the day… if I stayed any longer with that bunch I would have hurt somebody. :no:

:rolleyes:

Yeah buddy, enough with turning fiction into fact.

I would also add that maybe not all Business class customers are such types but I was very unlucky on the last to visits to Pakistan becuase my employers later “benefactors” for I wasn’t being employed for them on the second trip were not exactly the best folk to go on a trip with. However I imagine that for the foreseable future such people will still be in the Business class lounge and I will try and avoid the place if I can… beter risk taking my chances with the rest of the poor crowd. :hehe:

I remember we had to stop in Kuwait or Dubai or something once on the way to Pakistan and a lot of the crowd was um, not quite so...classy? Anyways, they announced that the flight will board in 10 min and people just started going nuts, pushing each other to line up etc.

"Lan (line) lagao jee, chalo!"

I was like, they do realize that seats are pre-determined and that the flight hadn't actually started boarding yet....

And then the idiot in front of me had his seat so far back that he was almost lying flat and I could barely move. I was so angry and annoyed.

Now granted, only some people were idiots but a few can ruin the whole experience.

that their chota sa munna has 3 pieces of overstuffed 60 lb luggage. Right. :rolleyes:

hahahahah :smiley:

I hate to say this,but…

PIA is one lousy airline the service is horrendous, be they air attendants (over made up ) or ground staff,the flights are 99% delayed and you will always get an unannounced stop over …
once they took our reserved seats out and gave them to someone else…:smack:
I dont like to always say who I am (as per pakistani requirements) and so I would rather travel by another airline…

but I,m sure they have good days and ppl have had better experience than me

Had that experience at Muscat airport. Some old lady actually pushed me aside when boarding off the bus…I’m like wtf the plane isn’t going to fly off without amma jee :rolleyes:

haha yeah desi people love that. As soon as the announcement is made they pushing, shoving each other to get in line. And then they stand there like fools while it takes another 15 minutes for them to open the gate/counter.

There were hardly any well-dressed and well-mannered people in PIA's flight from Heathrow to Lahore, the ones travelling from Lahore to UAE were the strangest of all kind, women wearing heavy gold jewelery and stuff.