Assalam Alaikum..NOT

People…for the umpteenth..and hopefully the last time
the response to Assalam Alaikum is NOT Assalama Alaikum
I am tired of meeting desis who do this, aray bhai, u could have said assalam alaikum, but you did not or could not so I said it, now just respond.

Lately I have been watching Geo and Ary, which i subscribed the moment i heard about the earthquake and all these call in shows…majority of the ppl respond to Assalam Alaikum with Assalam Alaikum.

Re: Assalam Alaikum..NOT

Assalam Alaikum with Assalam Alaikum. haynnnn?

yaaa, watch any of these call in shows on geo or ary. the host will say Asalalm Alaikum and the dude on the phone would respond Asalam Alaikum.

jahil kaheen kay

can we say "Hi" or "Hola" instead?

then both would have also said kia haal hain ? together (offline)

but they edited it. true sense of love n passion after earthquake :D :D

i think they are confused when they are on the air.... its sort of a natural plus who knows if the person on the phone heard the host's voice.

FULLY AGREED.... There are lots n lots of Ppl who do it like this....

Whenever Some Elder Used to say Asalamo Alaicum to me tou ... Gahir Iradi Tour se muN se Asalamo Alaicum hi nikalta tha... NOW.. I have almost Recoverd it... :D BUT still having Prob ....

Koi Elder Salam karay tou.... MaiN bhi Salam kar deta hooN.. PHIR yaad Ajata hay tou... JhaT se Walaicum salam keh deta hoN :D

I agree, maybe they didn’t hear the host say Salam, so naturally they want to say it first, as soon as they thought they were on the air…

But i have never come across this…i always hear n say “Walaikum Asalam”…

But y do some Muslims (non-Pakistanis) say Salam, when leaving? Is “Khudafice” just an Urdu word that we (Pakistanis) use, or is it Arabic…or have we been saying the wrong thing and r supposed to say “Asalam Alaikum” when we leave also?

ok..so what they said assalamalikum.

SOMETIMES PEOPLE DON"T EVEN RESPOND TO UR SALAM! :2guns: which is worse. Id rather have them say ASSALAMALIKUm to me than say nothing.

khudafice :rolleyes:

I didn’t say there was anything wrong with saying “Asalam Alaikum” when ur leaving…Wot i wanted to find out is, if saying “Khudafice” is just something Pakistanis say or all Muslims…and also, if we are supposed to (Islamically) say “Asalam Alaikum” when we leave or not? Because i have never heard a Pakistani say that when they leave our company…it’s always “Khudafice” or lately i’ve heard “Allahafice”…and yes, it is bad when no one responds back, i wasn’t even suggesting that.

Only Muslims from the Indian Subcontinent and surrounding areas say "Khuda/Allah Haafiz", it's more correct to say the Salaam.. I say "Ma As-Salaamah".

I don't think there's anything wrong with say "Salaam 'Alaykum" in response to "Salaam 'Alaykum", if done properly it's much better and meaningful than when these posh arse preppy city people say "Hi/Hello" or when they pretend they can't pronounce the Salaam and say something like "Assaam Ekam" or Waekam saam", like what's with that??? If it's too much of a tongue twist just say "Salaam!", "Salaam"..

Fraudz.

I think i can attribute this behaviour to a couple of reasons.

** Number 1. Technology.**

In this day and age of fast paced communications everyone is on a race against time. We give our salutations before waiting to see if the other person will bother giving theirs. For example, heres a scenario where Sister Jamila calls Captain Lota:

** Sister Jamila**: *thinking Ohh i’m gonna say Assalaam Alaikum as soon as Captain Lota says Hello’. *

Meanwhile Captain Lota hears his phone ring and sees Sister Jamila's name on caller ID. 

** Captain Lota**: thinking Ohh its Sister Jamila! I don’t need to say hello. I’ll just say Assalaam Alaikum!

**Captain Lota**: **picks up phone* Assalaaaam Alaikum Sister Jamila!!*

**Sister Jamila**: *ASSALAAAAAM ALA.. err huh?? :konfused:  alaikum, Captain Lota.* 

**Sister Jamila**: **thinking* Damn i shoulda said Walaikum Salaam. :smack: Fraudz will be mad at me now! :bummer:

*Number 2. Ego.

In addition to having the last word, everyone wants to have the first word too. So whoever says Assalaam Alaikum first is considered the winner of a mini race that just lasted 1 second. The loser is the person who didnt get to say it first and now has to make do with saying ‘Wa Alaikum Salam’. Thats all fine and dandy.

Its the sore losers who are a problem. For example, Captain Lota meets a Sore Loser.

**Captain Lota**: *Assalaam Alaikum, Brother Sore Loser!
  • Sore Loser: thinking Huh, what? He said Assalaam Alaikum first! This can’t be! I’m supposed to win this race. So you know what, i’ll be a sore loser and say Assalaam Alaikum too!

Sore Loser: Assalaam Alaikum, Captain Lota!

Captain Lota:* looserrrrrr! :hehe:*

**Fraudz**: :smack:

So there you have it sir. W'salaam.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^^

Hyuck hyuck...:D

lotay....yaar tu bhi :D
hahahaha exactly

is it better than hi, yes, but is it the appropriate response, no.
and aside from preyyp city ppl saying something, i have heard it mispronounced by the not so preppy not so city ppl.

salaykum
slalaykoom
samalaykum
assaenkoom

come on guys, we have all heard these :slight_smile:

i think Khuda Hafiz (or Allah Hafiz) has more meaning than the arabic "ma'a assalaamah"....
hecen u will see some wiser arabs who use "fee aman Allah" (which is the Arabic equivalent of Khuda Hafiz)....

The answer to assalm alikum is Walaikum salam (Period). The meaning of salam, is "Tum pe salamti ho" and the answer to that is "Aur tum pe bhi salamti ho"...

Once i was watching a program on INDUS VISION, where the presenter was taking live calls. His answer to salam was salam and in a weird way Like "salamalaikum". A woman called him and told him that his way of saying salam was wrong and he shold say Walaikum salam. That guy took it personally and started a debate about Pakistani people finding mistakes in others and not minding their own business.
I dont know for sure but i have heard it elsewhere and that woman also pointed out that the meaning of "salamalaikum" was "tum pe tabahi ho".....

Khair the thing is, most of us dont take the criticism positvely.

It is better for the Muslims to use Assalm alaikum because it is the recognition sign that you are muslim. And we should be proud to be Muslims and adopt the Islamic way.

OmG! Yes, i have heard that one…and even i (being born outside of Pak) am thinking wot is wrong with them… if i can say it properly i’m sure they can too!