Asif CONFIRMED as player with illegal substance in IPL

Dope scandal

Asif tested positive during IPL

Cricinfo staff

July 14, 2008

Mohammad Asif has been confirmed as the player who tested positive for a banned substance during the Indian Premier League, the IPL has announced.

The IPL compared the result from the WADA-approved laboratory in Switzerland with the data collected by IDTM, the Sweden-based independent agency which organised the tests. The IPL said: “It was also checked if Asif had applied for and was granted a Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE). It was found that Asif had not applied for a TUE. A note in writing has been sent to the player and his home board and to the franchise [Delhi Daredevils] on the findings.”

Asif will now have the right to request that his ‘B’ sample [supplied at the same time as the one that tested positive] be sent for analysis, which he and his representative can attend along with an IPL representative. Asif was detained in Dubai for possession of contraband drugs last month for 19 days and he is already the subject of a board inquiry into those events.

In a related development, it is also learnt that the announcement of Pakistan’s 30-man list of probables for the Champions Trophy - due to be revealed today - has also been delayed by another day. The release of the names has already been delayed from last week, after disagreements between selectors and a board committee over some names in the list and confusion over Shoaib Akhtar’s eligibility.

Cricinfo has learnt that the announcement of the squad was delayed till the identity of the player who tested positive was made public, in order to “avoid further controversy,” according to an official.

If Asif’s ‘B’ sample is also tests positive, the matter will be taken up by the IPL’s drugs tribunal, comprising of Sunil Gavaskar, Dr Ravi Bapat (ex-Vice Chancellor of Maharashtra University of Health Sciences) and lawyer Shirish Gupte. The tribunal will study the issue and take a decision in accordance with the code.

Undoubtedly, the PCB will also want to take some action after this and senior board officials have already indicated that stern consequences can be expected. Asif, along with Shoaib Akhtar, had tested positive for banned steroid nandrolone in PCB’s internal tests ahead of the Champions Trophy. He was banned for one year, which was overturned on appeal. Asif also cleared a dope test in August 2007 ahead of the World Twenty20 in South Africa.

© Cricinfo

link - Cricinfo - Asif tested positive during IPL

:smack: :smack: :smack: its about time we ban MOHAMMAD ASIF for life instead of Shoaib Akhtar :smack: :smack: :smack:

Well, well, what can i say. It's confirmed Mohammed Asif is charsi.

So who is going to take action against this charsi, is it going to be ICC or PCB?

If it's PCB than he doesn't need to be worry as he will be banned (to show the World they have taken action) and than he will appeal, banned will be reduced or pardoned.

If it's ICC or some other body than the charsi is in big trouble.

Re: Breaking News - Asif CONFIRMED as player with illegal substance in IPL

We don't know if it's a performance enhancing drug or a recreational drug, so calling Asif a charsi is a bit pre-mature.

I wonder what excuse he'll come up with on this one... he's already used the ignorance and bhola-pun defense in the nandrolone and Dubai episodes. How stupid do you have to be to not declare a drug if it was a prescription? If it's a recreational drug, you'd have to be even more stupid to use it during the IPL, knowing the drug policy.

^ Wasn't something found on him in Dubai? More than likely it was for his recretaional activities and may have forgotten to take out of his wallet and got nickd in Dubai.

True what will be the excuse this time ??????????

I say ban him NOW instead of pampering him with "hopes" that he will become a normal human being. kuttay ki dum terhi hay, seedhi honay ki umeed chhor do bhaaiyo.

Why these players hate their own careers so much?

They don't hate their careers, its fame getting to their head.

They think they can do things it and get away with it.

**Pakistan’s Asif fails drugs test **

Mohammad Asif was detained at a Dubai airport last month
Pakistani fast bowler Mohammad Asif has tested positive for a banned substance during an Indian Premier League (IPL) game, tournament organisers have said.

Only last month Asif, 25, was detained at Dubai airport on suspicion of carrying illegal drugs.

He was held in Dubai for two weeks before returning to Pakistan after a decision was made not to press charges.

**“I am shocked and surprised because I was extra cautious and never used any banned substances,” said Asif. **

In a statement the league said: "The Indian Premier League confirms the player in violation is Mohammad Asif.

**"It was also checked if Mr Mohammad Asif had applied for and was granted a Therapeutic Use Exemption (TUE). It was found that Mr Mohammad Asif had not applied for a TUE. **

“A note in writing has been sent to the player and his home board and to the franchisee on the findings.”

Asif now has the option of asking for his ‘B’ sample to be tested and, should he do so, his case would be referred to the IPL’s drugs tribunal, a three-man group including former India captain Sunil Gavaskar.

**If the positive result is upheld, Asif could face a ban from future IPL seasons as well as possible sanctions from the Pakistan board. **

Asif played for the Delhi Daredevils during the lucrative Twenty20 tournament which began in April and ended in June.

The news that Asif has tested positive for a banned substance is the latest in a series of controversial incidents that the player has been involved in.

In 2006, both Asif and fellow Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar were found to have taken the banned steroid Nandrolone after failing internal Pakistani Cricket Board drug tests.

The pair were banned for one and two years respectively, before the ruling was overturned on appeal.

In 2007 Asif was involved in a dressing-room altercation, during which he was struck with a bat by Shoaib, who was later sent home from the World Twenty20 tournament.

And 2008 has seen him involved in two separate drug offences.

The 25-year-old said he would speak to the PCB before taking any further steps.

Source: BBC.](BBC SPORT | Cricket | Asif asks for drugs hearing delay)

The joker will consult the PCB and decide on his next move. No doubt possible excuses will also be discussed.

Amazing, you seem privy to PCB discussions with Asif or is it your normal hatred of Pak team showing up again. Would like to see you around when they win a match or so. I suppose you are too busy sulking at that time.

I have no problem with criticism and personally think if this is proven correct Asif should be banned for life, but I have no time for people who are here only to take cheap shots at the team at any given opportunity.

After being caught THRICE, I am surprised that there are people here who think Asif could still be innocent.

At the very least, Asif could have applied for a "Therapeutic Use Exemption". He did not. So please throw this hakeem & herbal medicine bakwaas out of the window. Its confirmed, Asif is a Charsi. Look at the guy's eyes and also Akhtar's -- for god's sakes.

Don't you think they will think of excuses????? Or both the PCB and Mr Asif come clean on the issue???

I am always around when the jokers+chokers win a match (not many these days) except when they play Bangladesh or Zimbabwe.

What about you when they lose? What do you do????????? May be it's too painful to do anything.

:biggthumb

I am always around, win or lose, I don't only come to gloat when they lose. Check my posts and than check yours.

Please, concentrate/discuss on the topic and not on each other.

Jazak Allah.

In these days of turmoil and unrest. .... dont really care about some asif.

I am also around win or lose.

However, I am not around when the jokers play the likes of might Bangladesh / Zimbabwe simply because I don’t follow these matches and also don't expect me to me on this site 24/7.

No problem bro.

Mr Asif according to Cricinfo states that he was extra careful, well it doesn’t seem to be the case.

Its ok for a power enhancing drugs to be banned, but why would a charas-like drug be a source of concern. No way it can help get you an unfair advantage over your rival. Its literaly the other way around. Just curious.

:smack: :smack: :smack: :smack:

Kia lantee kirdaar hai yaar … once in a life time that you see such a stupid person around.

If he is found guilty, I hope he gets ban for life … we should be over and done with it ASAP. Our cricket is already in Turmoil, its the best time to get rid of these culprits. We cant go any lower than we already are, nothing to loose you know! Bohat sai logoon ko izzat raas nahi aatee hai.

aah just couple of years ago I was so excited that we have Shoaib, Asif and Gul firing in from both side with support form part-timers like Sami …and now :frowning:

Agreed.

Time to bring new people in and groom them. They would not have seniors to bully around them as well :hehe:

I remember Mudassir Nazar mentioning during the debut time of Asif, something to the effect that there are around 40-45 bowlers in the camps who can bowl like Asif.

If he is right, then, PCB should think along those lines… This is about the country and not about any individual.