I dont know on what basis you call SriLanka the Second Best Team ? Here is the ICC Test Rating ICC TEST RATING
Sri Lanka is at no. 3 and Pakistan is at no. 7. Once again let’s not speak hypothetically. Pakistan has better bowlers - but they are not playing. I am sure you dont count Shoaib Akhtar/Razzak/Malik better than Fernando & Vaas. Only good bowler Pakistan has is Waqar Younis. They clearly has an edge in bowling also with Murali.
Also Having good bowler doesn’t make a team better - It’s the bating/bowling/fielding performance as a team which makes a team better and Sri Lankans are better over all and its a fact no matter how much you deny it.
Regd Imran Khan - He retired 10 years ago and lot of water has flown thru Indus since then, so no point in beating old drums here, We all know about Imran and his Leadership.
I know the stats Akif, I told you im NOT Argueing that Sri Lanka is second Best or whatever!
Read my posts carefully.
Secondly the bowling example you are giving me is also clarified in my post. I said they should have bowled and fielded better. Eventhough the best of best bowlers where absent.
But Waqar is still a good bowler for me.
Imran Khan is a legend and you are right its been 10 years.
And see no one ever had the “ability” to gain such fighting spirit, which he used to have. Maybe Wasim but not even on his I.K’s level.
Sad, na?!
*“na maiN momin vich masiitaaN, na maiN muusaa, na fir’aun!”
well Pakistan nowhere to winnin this Test Match as didnt show any class in any department, well the bowlers cant be blamed as this pitch has nothing for them, only mistake by the batsmen n thts it, as the whole Pakistani line up did, full of mistakes, not even one person capitalized
khair wht happens if the final is a draw, does the point system come into consideration, if tht is the case then SL has won it, Pakistan cant afford to save it also, so sad!!!
Kuta key Dum kabi sedi nahi hoti! .. PCB is never gonna change be it General Clown or his predecessors .. they still have the same attitude .. there are some unexplainable moves Shoaib in place of Saquilan? Afridi as a batsman or a crickter or a sane human ? what an a s s .. Taufeeq another Mansoor Akhatar in the making .. we already had batting depth in Lateef and Razak as no 6 and 7 why we need to scarifies Saqi for a mediocre bowler whose only credential is a century in a one day against a very weak side on an extremely friendly batting pitch! And to top it all WHERE DOES THAT HAUMN A S S AFRIDI comes into play??? Why in the heck he is playing international cricket ! it’s a total failure on expense of few players .. we should have gone in with five specialist BATSMAN .. ie any one excluding AFRIDI .. even Saquilan has a better foot work and temperament than him .. no one better understands Pakistani cricket than Imran K .. and he always insisted on playing 5 specialist bowlers and 5 specialist batsman .. according to him if 5 fail the 6th extra batsman in not gonna work either .. TRUE VERY TRUE .. yikes .. Sri-Lanka is kicking ass left and right .. yeah both butt-cheeks .. winning is about attitude and Lankans have it
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
pakistan 32/1
man this Taufiq guy is failing again and again
Well obvioulsy now ppl will question PCB decision for dropping Wasim and Saqlain , the bowling didnt seem to click at all,
I dunno know how much difference wasim would have made considering he never made any major contribution for more than a year now.
Saqalin might have claimed one or two wickets but still not enuff to turn around the game. Every bowler and yes including the skipper waqar failed to deliver, so there is no point in whinning.
Do you guys know that couple of catches were dropped , unfortunaly its becoming a habit and acceptable to drop catches.
Pakistan 178/5
Once again the whole batting failed except afrdi as being unpredictable as usual scores 70 runs.
Inzimam 39 not out
Shoaib Malik 6 not out.
Pakistan trail by 112 runs.
Does Pakistan have chance of winning, if Inzi and Latif miraculously post atleast 300 or more runs tommorrow then we have a chance to win.
Another hatric for sami.
As for Saqlain, wether or not he had made a major difference, the question is of selecting the best option. By dropping him we certainly left our best spinner out.
As for Pak batsmen its useless to comment abut their performance. They have been like this for almost a decade now. With no signs of improvement.
Originally posted by sherrybaba:
*Well obvioulsy now ppl will question PCB decision for dropping Wasim and Saqlain , the bowling didnt seem to click at all,
I dunno know how much difference wasim would have made considering he never made any major contribution for more than a year now.
Saqalin might have claimed one or two wickets but still not enuff to turn around the game. Every bowler and yes including the skipper waqar failed to deliver, so there is no point in whinning.
Well lets not try and make excuses for the pathetic decision of PCB to drop world class players and include ordinary players like afridi and Malik.
Whether Saqlain had made a difference, who knows, maybe one wicket, but what if it was the wicket of Sangakkara when he had made say 50 odd. Class makes a difference and PCB let the nation down yet again.
**Anyway lets not forget the hattrick of Sami and congratulate him on his feat.
Sami became the third Pakistani bowler to take a hat-trick after Wasim Akram (twice) and Abdur Razzaq.
Two years ago at Dhaka, Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by an innings and 175 runs in the first Asian Trophy Championship final. Sri Lanka's previous highest total against Pakistan was 479 at Faisalabad in 1985-86.
Afridi, who received a life when he was dropped on six at first slip off Nuwan Zoysa, threw his wicket away with a careless shot that started the mini-collapse. **
[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited March 08, 2002).]
and i don’t think pakistan will last long enuff on 4th day to give any challenging total for sri-lanka to chase…prolly close to 100 runz…
God bless u all…
DerVaisH
Ai khuda jazba-e-ehsaas na bakhsha hota…
Acha hota ager pather ka tarasha hota…
Waja-e-tehQeer hon insanon mein insan ho ker…
Pather ka hota to inhe insanon ne pooja hota…
The result is staring us in the face. The only question is will it be innings defeat or not. Even if Pak avoides the ignominy of innings defeat, Lankans will still slap a heavy defeat in our backyard.
Well... u win some u lose some.
How is the pitch? Since I didn't watch the match, so can someone tell me if Lahore's pitch is supporting bowlers or what? Why are Pak batsmen failing again and again, and Sangakarra scored a double ton. :-/
Not commited enough. I mean thats the impression I get looking at the scorecards. If we have the talent then surely the only thing missing is commitment.
Lä§§äñ, Pïÿäz ÇhüQäñdä®, Häm ßhälöö, Tüm ßäñdäR.. :)
Yep it’s a lost cause now .. its not matter of win or loss .. we sure lose some and win some … it’s the manner in which we lose .. an average bowling attack on a flat wicket get 20 wickets in less than 5 days (probably 3.5 days) .. and not because of some extra ordinary bowling but some flat out stupid and unprofessional display of batting … by throwing away wickets … Akram/Saqui given there recent form would not have made any difference .. rather than depending on make shift openers and batsman we should bank on real batsman who can bat with out putting stigma of ‘great find’ unreal expectations that centuries will flow .. Faial Iqbal, Hasan Raza, Imran Farhat, Shadab Kabir, Imran Nazir have pretty good batting technique and can improve with consistent exosphere … PCB should stop creating unreal hype where a batsman/bowler puts a single performance and flood gate of expectations open and a mediocre player (ie Afridi, Taufeeq) is expected to pull rabbit out of his A S S
Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go
Good Morning from Gaddafi Stadium for the 4th days play in the final for the Asian Test Championship final The weather is cool and cloudy with a few spots of rain but play is starting early to make up for lost lovers