As a Pakistan cricket fan, aren't you ashamed...

…that a Cricket legend (who brought home the World Cup…no less) was roughed up, locked up inside a room in Punjab University for 45 minutes and then handed over to the authorities for arrest by some losers from the student wing of a political party.

Even as an Indian Cricket fan, it makes my blood boil.

Whatever your political affiliations are, we are talking about Imran Khan here…the legendary Imran Khan…who brought more pride to Pakistan single-handedly…than any of these chty** mullah students can ever dream about.

How can you treat your National Hero like this. Its utterly shameful.

And I am amazed that there hasn’t been more outcry against the treatment meted out to him.

Imran came out of hiding to mobilize support among the youth…and this is what the “youth” (the future of Pakistan) handed to him. Disgusting.

Re: As a Pakistan cricket fan, aren't you ashamed...

yep - indeed a sad day for us as a nation. This is how we treat our true national heroes & legends. Politics is a really nasty game. Imran should have stayed away from it.

Well, I don’t now what to say….last few weeks have been extremely disturbing and I really mean it….I have never felt so dejected, so embarrassed, so miserable, so disconsolate, and so glum….that is precisely why it is so hard for me to even think of cricket let alone watch it or enjoy it…… everyone on this forum knows how passionately I used to follow cricket especially india-pak series but our nation is facing a defining moment in its history…….. ….an army dictator has dispatched our whole judiciary to the trash bucket for self-preservation…first time in our history, our judiciary was acting as an independent judiciary and if masses don’t come out and stop military dictatorship, we will be a history….but alas these people are busy playing cricket…

I am not trying to give an excuse but the way the Pakistani team has played clearly indicates that the team is simply down…. none of the match had that typical india-pak flavor…..it appears that they are simply doing their job because if they refuse to do it, the dictator will literally hang them….I wish pak team had refused to play…it would have caused so much international hype and embarrassment for the dictator …

Speaking of Imran’s incidence, I am again speechless….simply speechless…..another slap on our face and as usual we are sitting still…..how selfish we Pakistanis are…..and you know what, now I can understand Musharaff’s dilemma…if bunch of cheap and pimp mullah students cannot afford sharing their so-called kingdom with a national hero for a national cause fearing that it may weaken their hold on university, how can we expect Musharaff to give up on whole Pakistan…we may say that those idiots do not represent majority of studets but what about thousands of those students who were present there? no reaction from them? may be we deserve to be treated like this......we cannot even stop ourselves from watching cricket for 2 weeks.....

aray bhai, hamaray cricket players ka bhi to "blood boil" ho raha thaa issi liye focus nahi kar sakay game pe.... dhayan Imran bhai ki taraf.

Seriously, those responsible for doing that are now criticised by almost everyone, many leaders of that sector are said to quit them. It might be a blessing in disguise (an ugly disguise). Many hundreds (if not thousands) came out to protest against it today, so yes we are proud of those who came out protesting and shoved it to IJT.

my brother, if you cannot shoot on time, then you should simply shoot yourself....what were these 'thousands" of protestors doing yesterday? and dont you worry about so called exclusion of these leaders....they will be back very soon.....

Re: As a Pakistan cricket fan, aren’t you ashamed…

Good hard-hitting editorial in the DAWN today :

Islami Jamiat-i-Tulaba has…terrorised the Punjab University for the last year or so, bullying the administration into taking certain decisions like shutting down the musicology department or disrupting cultural functions. The self-professed morality police seem to be upset that Mr Khan was invited to the PU campus without their knowledge, as if the university is their sole turf. This self-righteous attitude coupled with coercive force — similar to another fiery ethnic student group’s in Karachi — has never been taken to task by university administrations or the political leadership of the parties the student groups belong to. This time a JI leader has condemned the behaviour of IJT but it must be followed through by stern action against them. No student group should have a monopoly on campuses.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/16/ed.htm#3

When things happen not everybody knows about it, even if they came protesting late - atleast they came to protest, it would've been worse if no protest had followed.

About "exclusion", let me clarify, nobody is "excluding" anyone, those who disapprove of IK's manhandling are said to quit the IJT.

sorry to say but what else you can expect from Jamaat kay londay. their parents belong to a party who dances on greenback. IJT is the pioneer facist student org in the country, followed by NSF, PSF and APMSO. Bunch of B@$tards!

i was talking about it to my friends few mins ago at the coffee shop..
its a real shame... no matter how much i hated imran when he played against india but i always respected him.
after he built the hospital my respect increased many fold..
now today i saw a picture of him being manhandled.. it just made me sad..
he looked so helpless..
now anti terrorism charge against him too...
he is a true south asian hero.. and needs to be treated as one..

This is really sad…

http://news.independent.co.uk/world/asia/article3160649.ece

I am speechless and extremely worried about Imran khan and I dont want another Indian or anybody else to wake me up or if you like "boil my blood" FULL STOP!

Its time to think how we can make a difference and what contributions (seriously) we can make to protect him, make our voices heard.

Lets talk about that rather than just grieving. I hope Allah gives him a long life we owe him for his contributions, his welfare work for needy and poor of Pakistan.

I just found out that there is a pretty long thread about this exact topic in the Pak Politics forum : http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=269653

Moderators, please feel free to lock this one if needed.

I agree with every single word you wrote. I just want to comment on the part when few idiot students captured Khan sahib what were the other students doing? At the time when Khan sahib appeared the students took him on shoulders and welcomed him but than from somewhere these few students appeared and they threw some crackers to make it look like a blast or something and all the students dispersed right that time they came and captured khan sahib and took him to a room or something. After the ameer or nazim of university came to talk to those students to let go Khan sahib but they did not listen and that tells me they had backing of someone bigger who has control.

On the cricket part I am really dishearten due to whats going on in Pak and I am not going to watch the last ODI along with that I will not watch the Test as well....I hardly saw one full over of 4th ODI. I am really dishearten.

Pak cricket stunned by Imran’s humiliating arrest

KARACHI: Pakistan’s former and present cricketers have expressed sadness and disappointment over the arrest of former captain Imran Khan, who led the national team to 1992 World Cup victory.

Imran, an iconic figure in Pakistan cricket, was arrested on Tuesday when he turned up at a students rally at Punjab University campus protesting against the emergency clamped on the nation.

Imran, who now heads the Tehreek-e-Insaaf political opposition party, was reported to have been mistreated during his arrest and faces charges under a anti-terrorism act.

His nearest rival to equalling his iconic status as a cricketer, Javed Miandad said he was disturbed by the photographs of Imran being arrested.

“It is a fact that when Imran entered politics he knew what he was doing but having played with him and seen him up close as captain I did feel sad at the way he was roughed up,” Miandad said.

“Having played with Imran the cricketer it is not easy to see him arrested,” the former captain and coach said.

Former national selector and Test player Iqbal Qasim said he hoped for the best for Imran.

“We respected him a lot as a player and captain and he had a certain aura about him. His position in Pakistan cricket is undisputed and historic. I was never comfortable when he decided to enter politics but that is a decision he took and is now bravely facing,” Qasim said.

All-rounder Abdul Razzaq, who will appear in rebel Indian Cricket League, said he was very upset to see the way Imran was treated by the students wing and police.

What do u expect from these people ?They love to humiliate ,harass their legends . Not a new thing . They have very short memories .Shameful.Name a cricketeing legend who got a decent treatment from the pakistani public ,Imran right through his cricketing career was subjected to severe criticisms especially from the Karachi media .And so were other legends .Now their cricket has touched rock bottom . Now guys face it , u don't deserve more than this for all those humiliations u had given to ur greats . I know there are nice people too ,but a whole lot of maniacs as well .

Yeh bhee dekh lain. Not only Imran but his sisters are being mistreated as well

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=269658

some1- it is not only about Imran khan, its about us :teary2:!
your feelings are just as a spectator, but we are the ones, facing.

yet, we dont know how much we have deprived!

all we need more is “Rational” IMRAN KHANz.

p.s. ho sakay to pray for us. otherwise we are so far from feeling anything. it is just we are getting immune to all of this irrational/chaos.

YES I AM DEEPLY ASHAMED...
Some1 yaar thanks for opening a thread about someone whom I have idolised (and I really mean it) since 1983. So after seeing yesterday's footage of his maltreatment by ghundas and Ch*tiyas of IJT you can imagine how I am feeling right now. It makes my blood boil, it makes me really angry when I see pictures of Imran being manhandled by a bunch of jaahil bastar*. They are a disgrace to our nation. And Imran's crime was that he was the only politician who had the guts to criticise that idiot Mush and his emergency sham and suggest that the punishment for Mush should be hanging. That obviously got to the dictator who is now showing his true colours.

Anyways a country where matric-pass (and I really mean it) and educated jaahils (like Sheikh Rashid, Wasi Zafar, Pervez Elahi and Ch. Shujaat - I am sure you have been on these forums long enough to know something about these A** holes) can become minister and chief minister, that country really has no future.

ashamed? NO
sad and disgusted? YES

Relax some1, I know India won and you are high.
Anyway, I think we as Pakistanis are frustrated because there is nothing much we can do to stop Mushi. I feel so sad that one person can take over Pakistan and there is nothing you can do to stop him. Pakistan feel hopeless at this time. But things will get better, inshallah.