Re: Geo TV to shut down!
mashallah!!! They already lost millions because of Ind/Pak series loss, now the complete shutdown.
This is the first Martial Law where tyrant has reached offshore to shut puplic’s voice=media.
:jhanda:
The end is near!
mashallah!!! They already lost millions because of Ind/Pak series loss, now the complete shutdown.
This is the first Martial Law where tyrant has reached offshore to shut puplic’s voice=media.
:jhanda:
The end is near!
More specifically it is "Dr" Shahid Masood ranting on about Pak govt having had Geo closed down, and we all know that he is the channel's main problem, like an albatross round their necks.
Geo is broadcasting to it's global viwers from Dubai, UAE. So he is really insinuating that the Pak Govt pressured an oil-rich Gulf state to get Geo closed down completely. If that is so, then why does Geo not move it's HQ to London or Washington who have been lecturing the Pak Govt about allowing these channels back on air? I don't see why they cannot do that, especially if they want to continue to provide a service to it's large viewership in Europe and North America?
Or is Shahid Masood saying that the so-called Pakistani dictator Musharraf, whom we are told is on his last legs, has so huge influence that he can tell the most richest and powerful states in the world to do as he commands?
Shame on your post. Can a person be this blind and low. I am sorry to say this, but you have crossed all limits of coming up with the lamest excuses in support of this Maharaja Musharraf singh.
gentlemen...
lets go easy on the personal insults
baat tameez say bhi ki jaa sakti hai
Although a sad news but GEO brought it to its-self. As I said before that freedom comes with a responsibility and if you don’t use the freedom carefully, it can be snatched away.
It’s the prime responsibility of the news channels that they air the NEWS (AS IS – Without adding their own prospectives) and INVESTIGATIVE STORIES BASED ON FACTS AND NOT LIES which was not the case with GEO. Shahid Masood and Abbas Ansari kept telling lies to the viewers and GEO did nothing to stop them. It was the responsibility of GEO’s management to take action; they didn’t so Govt had to do it.
I can give you many examples from Western press where generalist and executives were fired or replaced on false reporting. Prime example was CBS’s actions that it took on “Bush war story” during 2005 election campaign.
no one is thinking about the ppl who work for this such immense network.. i am sure there must be around 5000 ppl directly related to GEO network, and i dont know how many are indirectly related to it....
how will these guys search for new jobs and the immense losses that are related to this decision.
So true...some of my relatives work there, I'm so worried about em and their jobs.
Shame on your post. Can a person be this blind and low. I am sorry to say this, but you have crossed all limits of coming up with the lamest excuses in support of this Maharaja Musharraf singh.
Bhai, there is no need to get personal, I am just stating the facts.
Is Musharraf that powerful that he can order oil-rich states like Dubai/UAE to get Geo closed down? If so, then why does Geo not move it's HQ to the UK or USA? Or are we really saying that Musharraf even presuured the world's super powers as well?
Geo Group's management made a cool headed business decision to arrest it's financial losses by shutting Geo News down, and maintaining it's core interests in Pakistan i.e. the Jang/News Group.
An oil rich country does not hear its partners/friends? I hear some friends got their criminal/corrupt friend out of Pak who was about to kill a COAS.
You really don’t understand meaning of “close to the end”, do you?
About richest and powerful:
yea they are super powers, US, UK, China, India everyone calls Sheikh for his “advice” on what they can and cannot do.
Although a sad news but GEO brought it to its-self. As I said before that freedom comes with a responsibility and if you don’t use the freedom carefully, it can be snatched away.
It’s the prime responsibility of the news channels that they air the NEWS (AS IS – Without adding their own prospectives) and INVESTIGATIVE STORIES BASED ON FACTS AND NOT LIES which was not the case with GEO. Shahid Masood and Abbas Ansari kept telling lies to the viewers and GEO did nothing to stop them. It was the responsibility of GEO’s management to take action; they didn’t so Govt had to do it.
I can give you many examples from Western press where generalist and executives were fired or replaced on false reporting. Prime example was CBS’s actions that it took on “Bush war story” during 2005 election campaign.
Every statement makes sense, when backed by examples. Your arguments on lies being spread by Geo throughout the world, hence making the government shut down the networks, maybe a valid one. But then only if you can provide examples and some proof!
CBS and Co are western media made in US of A. I believe too many on GS take them serious. No wonder, you guys have never experienced the taste of "real" freedom of speech, expression and media. Therefore you guys need to live in Europe I suppose.
Is Musharraf that powerful that** he can order oil-rich states like Dubai/UAE** to get Geo closed down? If so, then why does Geo not move it's HQ to the UK or USA? Or are we really saying that Musharraf even presuured the world's super powers as well?
Who says Musharraf "ordered" Dubai/UAE? Living in lala land are we?
you guys have never experienced the taste of "real" freedom of speech, expression and media. Therefore you guys need to live in Europe I suppose.
as long as you dont deny the holocaust, cuz free speech ends there :)
Is Musharraf that powerful that he can order oil-rich states like Dubai/UAE to get Geo closed down? If so, then why does Geo not move it's HQ to the UK or USA? Or are we really saying that Musharraf even presuured the world's super powers as well?
Geo Group's management made a cool headed business decision to arrest it's financial losses by shutting Geo News down, and maintaining it's core interests in Pakistan i.e. the Jang/News Group.
Nothing can stop Geo from becoming a UK based company, they have facilities there already.
there is something black in the lentils.
According the Jang/News website Pakistan ordered the Dubai/UAE govt to close down Geo. Now I wonder if the Dubai will confirm that?
Geo TV ordered to shut down
Updated at 2400 PST
KARACHI: Geo TV network has been ordered to shut down by authorities of the country from where it is being aired. The concerned authorities told the reason that there is immense pressure from Musharraf government on them to get the telecast of Geo network closed down.
as long as you dont deny the holocaust, cuz free speech ends there :)
Caused by the heavy influence by such a powerful Zionist lobby, but that's another topic.
And in 2008 I'm pretty sure no one can deny holocaust. Not arguing on body count though.
According the Jang/News website** Pakistan ordered the Dubai/UAE govt** to close down Geo. Now I wonder if the Dubai will confirm that?
jhoot ki hadd hoti hay Reza Mian, the news you posted nowhere mentions Pakistani govt ordering Dubai/UAE, jootay chatna band kar do
Why GEO is not mentioning the name of the country that has ordered them to close down. They are just mentioning: shut down by Authorities of the country from where GEO is aired. They are so careful to not name the country and when it comes to Pakistan, they were lying for past corrupts.
Another News: GEO News is only closed down, not other channels.
Nothing can stop Geo from becoming a UK based company, they have facilities there already. there is something black in the lentils.
Exactly!
What is stopping the Geo moving their HQ to the UK or US, where a great deal of their viewers are?
Why GEO is not mentioning the name of the country that has ordered them to close down. They are just mentioning: shut down by Authorities of the country from where GEO is aired. They are so careful to not name the country and when it comes to Pakistan, they were lying for past corrupts.
Another News: GEO News is only closed down, not other channels.
Pakistan has not huge influence on Dubai, so I suppose America must have had a chat or two with the Sheikh of Dubai.
Exactly!
What is stopping the Geo moving their HQ to the UK or US, where a great deal of their viewers are?
With all respects, how can you blame GEO for not having an HQ in UK or US, while on the other hand a crook like Musharraf is using all kind of tricks to keep the awaam shut.
I really didn't want to, for weeks I was holding my anger on your (and some others) posts defending a tyrant with excuses that rip through the skies.
In farsi its called......... uzre gunnah badtar az gunnah
As a sincere Pakistan (same as others here) I think 83% of the nation (check latest approval ratings) think the same way. So those 13% that stick with the economic illussion need to do reality check. The same media was great few years back when patting Mush.
Coming to the point, in a very short time, you will get all your answers. This is the beginning of the end.
so if now other channels like ARY and etc dont close, we will know its because they succumb to the dictator.