Can someone guide me on pain management for arthritis patients?
My mom has it bad and both her knees are in a lot of pain these days. Its worse this year than its ever been and I don’t know what to do anymore.
We’ve tried:
Hot pads
Oil malish
Liniments
Are there supplements for arthritis sufferers that she can take and feel better with? I need to know whats really going to help her with the pain and mobility.
What works with ppl that i know who have the same prob...
Try hot sauna... 1/2 times a week inshallah it will help
And if ur in pk... Do visit tatta pani... Its a famous place with natural hot geysers... The best time is to go durin summer and just steam urself witg the water... I know a few auntiis who r mashallah almost cured from this with the steam in tatta pani... U should look it up on youtube u can find some links ( so u know what am talkin about)
Try the thermo leggings and keep the joints warm.... U can try hot stone massages aswell
1 tsp of turmeric every single night.
I’ve been using this remedy as there is a history of arthritis in my family and I’ve started to feel it in my joints.
My mother suffered for years and she always said that the best thing for arthritis is to stay in motion…do not give in to the pain else it will control you forever.
I posted some info on the benefits of turmeric in another thread…
Exercise! It won't help right away but long term it will do wonders. My mother has arthritis and started exercising two years ago (2-3/week after a lot of encouragement-prodding) and feels that it has really helped her. Her pain used to be so severe that she was ready to get her knees replaced. She still does oil malish and heating pads and gets steroid injections yearly but doesn't have to take medication on a daily basis anymore. If your mom has never exercised before, the best way to get started is to get her doctor to give her a referral to a physical therapist.
Also, if your mom stands a lot an anti-fatigue mat may help. I put a couple in the kitchen and she really likes them.
there are prescription medications that eases pain and swellings but do NOT cure arthritis. they are quite helpful. my bhabhi's mom uses "Meloxicam" and helps her knee. if your mom has arthritis in her knees [most common among our folks], losing weight is extremely helpful. occasional use of "Tylenol Arthritis 650 mg" is helpful. surgery often helps.
Btw in the glucosamine chondritine supplements it may or may not be an issue but many are porcine based, glucosamine itself usually is okay the chondritine part is dodgy so u should search if so inclined.
I would definitely suggest looking into natural remedies. Exercise is highly suggested.....can u take your mom to the gym or get a threadmill a mom.
I know that taking a warm shower really helps.
We have a treadmill at home that she can use and does every so often.
Knee replacement
Btw in the glucosamine chondritine supplements it may or may not be an issue but many are porcine based, glucosamine itself usually is okay the chondritine part is dodgy so u should search if so inclined.
I'll look at her supplements to see if anything is in them.
Yes, she needs to be at least evaluated for total knee replacement. May she feels better soon.
Sometimes gel/cartilage injections into joints help as an alternative to knee replacement.
So her doc isn't recommending knee replacement yet. According to the doc, its not that bad. According to my mom, she's in constant pain and she is. She won't take cortizone shot because she's nervous about it and is scared of side effects.
I have to see what I can do with natural remedies or supplements for the time being.
So her doc isn't recommending knee replacement yet. According to the doc, its not that bad. According to my mom, she's in constant pain and she is. She won't take cortizone shot because she's nervous about it and is scared of side effects.
I have to see what I can do with natural remedies or supplements for the time being.
If she has constant pain then something needs to be done differently. I talked about Synvisc type of injections.
She may need to see orthopedic surgeon or get second opinion.
My mother used to have the cortisone injections once or twice a year in the knees as well. I recall taking her for them. They do help but the relief is short-term (depending on the degree of degeneration in her joints of course).
They are a bit painful to get but the relief is available for those that really cannot live with the pain.
In my experience, people are often resistant to the steroid injections but once they get them and get a lot of pain relief, they feel much better. Does she not want any injections or just not steroids?
Exercise, as was recommended, is key.
Also, tylenol and Lidoderm patches are often helpful for some patients. (avoid ibuprofen, or too much of it)
Yea i agree with Muzna on this. My mom’s in the same situation. She gets the cotisone shots.
Before the shot, my mom could hardly walk because of the pain in her knee. But almost immediately after, she was climbing up and down stairs as if nothing was wrong. But with in 6 months she was back to get the shot again.
And i have heard the shots could be bad for the bone after a while.
If anything, if the pain is intolerable, get a second opinion from an orthopedic surgeon. My mom had orthoscopic surg in one of her knees and hasnt had to go back for shots or any further physical therapy after the surgery.