Arrgh! FIL problem!

I know it’s Ramadan and I should be not saying this. But I can’t help it! I am going to try my best to be polite and get over the rant!

So I tried to make a suji ka halwa yesterday by looking at the online recipie, which I admit I tried to follow the recipie as exactly said. Which was to roast the samolina first in a pan until it was light brown. Anyhow I had the suspicion it went wrong and in the end it was dark brown halwa.

Meanwhile my husband was skyping with his parents and I bring the halwa to my husband .. He starts laughing by looking at it and I join him too just for fun. FIL asks why are you laughing, and show him the halwa! He goes, yeh Kya hai? Yeh halwa nae lagata and u need proper training blah blah! I told him I tried to follow a recipie and it didn’t turn out well!

So today again while skyping with his Parents, My FIL goes bashing my cooking skills? What the hell? He thinks we do takeaways everyday as I don’t know how to cook etc! I know am not a perfect cook but I can still make things! We hardly do takeaways .. Only once in a while. They literally do outings and proper restaurant eating every other day! My husband in the meanwhile was listening in and wasn’t really standing up, until the very end of convo, he meekly said nahi aisi baat nahin Hai, khana bana leti hai.. Then he goes acha bana leti hai to acha nae banta hoga! What the hell does he think? Then my hubby goes, acha kyun nae banana! Hum acha khate hain.. Then he goes phir halwa kyun nahi acha bhana? If she can use her mind then why didn’t halwa come out correctly! My hubby goes, it did! She tried again and it turned out great! My FIL goes really? Sahi bana tha? OMG! What does he think of himself? Your daughter is stupid, litterate and has no education! She dropped out of school in pk and wanted to be home! While I got married straight off as soon I finished my masters thesis and that too from one of the best universities! Yes I can cook and sometimes I cook very great dishes! But am not perfect! I have problem with roti but am trying! You learn things through trial and error! Your daughter is badtameez and obviously know cooking because she was home all her life! She lacks manners obviously you couldn’t instil it in her! What right you have to bash me?

And my hubby doesn’t really speak up! What’s the point in speaking up in the end? There are other things too, my FIL tries to control his son!

This weekend I went shopping with my hubby after so much hard push and literally had to beg him to do his shopping! He doesn’t like shopping., so thank god, we ended by buying lots of stuff for him which will last him long. At home, during Skype, my hubby tells his FIL what he bought. The man just listens then goes does this shop has this n that because I am going to buy that when I come there! Selfish much? They hardly do any shopping for my hubby even before wedding! My hubby had basic wardrobe but they wouldn’t shop for him than compared to his other sons n daughter! Arrrgh!

He think he is the king! During wedding he demanded that we give him gold ring? Does he know its haram to wear gold in Islam! Buddha!

He has no respect for my parent! I have no respect for that man!

How do I speak up this to my hubby to stand up and have his own thoughts! Without sounding negative!

Re: Arrgh! FIL problem!

:hinna:

Your husband doesn't seem to be the confrontational type, and your FIL seems to be very outspoken.

If you push your husband to stand up to him, at this stage in life, he will more likely get stress ulcers than anything good coming out of it.

Restrict your communication with your FIL. Let him be as he is. From the sound of things you guys live far apart so don't blow things out of proportion.

And please, don't skype so much with him. If your husband wants to, fine. But you should make yourself busy during those times and just say a quick salam.

Zalim susar kaheen ka

So are you feeling any better now Rose aapi after letting out all (or some of) your frustration? :naraz:

To be honest, you don’t need to talk to your hubby as it is not going to serve any purpose. He is already doing what he is supposed to do. His father might not be the most pleasant FIL on earth, but after all he is your husband’s father. Good sons (and daughters too) never cross certain limits while talking to their parents, even when they are advocating their spouse’s cooking skills!

And despite all the idiosyncrasies of in laws, them being our spouse’s parents should be reason enough for us to respect them.

simple and happy solution.

make more halva. eat. repeat.

All these problems can be solved if you hire a maid and stop using paper plates

haye Allah

Arrgh! FIL problem!

Lol queer and TLK :rotfl:

Rosie meri jaan…khuda ko maano yaar…tandi lassi piyo and find something else worthwhile to worry your pretty little head over.

Oh the irony.......

Your husband was defending you in a calm decent manner. Ignore your FIL and move on.

Aik halvay ki waja se itna tofan.. tauba.

lol … you are fuuny kheekeee … rosie ko rosa lag raha he :hehe:

Arrgh! FIL problem!

Just try and ignore it. You know your husband enjoys your food so let old people be. Trust me I can relate. You live on your own, be thankful and just shrug it off. Your husband supports you but some things are too petty to mention.

ur thread made me go buy sooji :phati:

There are two ways either you can talk to your husband or FIL or both head to head telling how you feel or you can simply restrict your communication with your FIL to salam dua only. Read namaz and pray.

Rose,

You seem as bad as your FIL. I'll explain why:

Regardless, of your thoughts of the SIL you just dissed the hell out of her! If anything your response was arrogant! I think many people on this forum also went to excellent universities but most won't brag about it. Besides university is not for everyone.

Your confrontation is with your FIL. You're probably aware of this rather demeaning way of talking so why don't you just avoid talking to him for that reason? I do empathise with you as you're trying to be a better cook but you're ranting over non-essential talk.

Why don't you just concentrate on keeping your relationship strong with your husband because eventually your overt emotions will spill over and could affect your relationship with the husband. No son is going to openly or in a direct manner put his father down! He did his best to settle the ruckus and I commend him as he seems stuck between his father expectations and maybe you?

Hope that helps.

Agree wholeheartly with CEO here. Just watch how your husband is dealing with this issue. He knows his father better. And I understand..you wanted to rant..because you got annoyed. Just focus in your relationship..
Cheers!