Arranged Marriages vs. Love Marriages...

**I've heard before from likes of you
that arranged marriages are more successful than love
marriages. Where is the statistics coming from?

People who prefer arrange marriages do so for two
main reasons:

They are two lazy to put in the hard work themselves
that's needed to build the solid foundation for a
longer lasting relationship. After all, finding the
right candidate, approaching them, really wanting
to get to know them and then getting to know them,
building the trust, the committment, the relationship and
devotion is all hard work and time consuming. Arranged
marriages most often have the adults do 90% of all that work.
There's nothing left to build when two people
are shoved in a room by others and expected to do certain
things and act in certain ways.

The second reason, if something goes wrong in the
marriage it's very easy to have the middle person
be the scapegoat. Whereas, in a love marriage
situation, if something goes wrong the two people
have the utmost responsibility of having to fix
things and work things out themselves. They
are not bound to live with each other for the sake
of keeping other members in the extended family happy.
If they do, it's their choice. If they decide to go
separate ways that's their decision as well. They
are responsible and in complete control of their
life as opposed to doing things for the sake of
keeping others happy.

In response to the whole car analogy...like Fraudia
said, before you buy a car, you think about the
features you want in the car and then look further
into what's available out there. Much like how
things should be before they lead up to the marriage
stage. If the car breaks down, you take it to the
mechanic who fixes it. Unfortunately there's no third
mechanic to fix the marriage if you're not willing
to assume the responsibility yourself.

Before marriage, a person has to know what they
have to offer before they come up with their list
of expectations. And that's the things most
arrange marriage favors try to escape.**

*Mr. Fraudia *: U are so right! His analogy was pathetic and reasoning was preposterous.

claps hysterically

claps along with Chandbeti

Fraudz bratha, you make me proud. :k:

By no means, do I endorse either of these approaches, as it depends on the specific situation, life-style, family obligations etc etc... lately I have begun to see that some of those who advocate (and actually agree to) arranged marriages, do so because they themselves lack decision-making skills, are unable to find appropriate spouse, and worst of all, are unable to take responsibility for their lives. These people are the first ones to blame their parents, or their relatives for getting them into a bad marriage, just as they will find someone to lay blame on for anything which goes wrong in their lives. I find that atttiude extremely troubling.

This is not to say that there aren't people who get into arranged marriages for very noble reasons, and I think people have every right to do that and should be admired.

Its just something to think about.

being a paki female i used to be a strong advocate of arranged marriages not just because i was always brought up seeing all my cousins having arranged marriages, and generally that being considered the 'right' thing in paki society...but also because i always thought a girl is going to get more respect in her in-laws household if its an arranged marriage...

lekin recently...after seeing some of the marriages of ppl close to me...my views on this issue have changed a lot...

i dont think having a non arranged marriage is bad anymore...it can be done remaining within islamic limits...

plus arranged marriages dont always end happily...there can be lots of problems...

it doesnt really matter if u have an arranged marriage or 'love' marriage...the main thing is ur attitude after the marriage...

plus u shouldnt care that much what other ppl say...u and ur spouse r the only two ppl who r going to make ur marriage work or not...couples should have a strong commitment and a strong cooperation ethic between each other...

however, whether the marriage be arranged or not, i think parents consent and involvement is very crucial..

In the days when I tried palmistry a couple of times, all the palmists who saw my hand saw love marriages. If I am to assume that there is such a stupid thing as palmistry, I still would reject love and opt for the arranged...Why?

Well, for one thing, love like marriage is a relation...As with all relations you give love some time and attention as well...And as with all relations, it can get a little dysfunctional in a way...So let's say it does and the parties involved don't work out...What doeas that mean, another relation?

You keep falling in love and breaking your heart then falling in love and so on until you meet someone compatible...You keep getting close to people and then shunning them because of compatibility issues...You keep doing it until you become, as Hendrix would say, experienced...Losing all the spontaneity that comes from instant connections...

And why do you take it as two people being thrown into a roomYou make it sound so crass...It's not like they never talked to each other over the phone a couple of times or nothing...It's not like it's a blind date or something...

The suhaag raat is special because it comes once in a lifetime for many and is the most special and important night of two people's lives...It is the night of bonding and soul connections, iykwIm...By your standards it should remain nothing more than any other night of the week...

And I have the least expected answer from someone by whose standard every person that becomes religious does so out of his inability to become succesful and grows a beard as a sign of rebelliousness...

My brother lived in USA for 16 years and he saw my bhabi for the first time on the wedding hall stage...My cousins, one a doctor and one a lawyer, have beards and have married hijabans through the arranged system and they have been raised in LA...They have been to Pakistan maybe 2 times in their lives...

Some of you wrote elaborate pages on how there were exceptions to my belief, so all I have to say is, I agree...Even death has exceptions and that so would my belief...

It's not like I am dissing love marriage, it's just that I believe it's not a better option...After all, palmistry might actually be a science...

^ ur justification for arranged marriage is slightly hard to understand... doesnt Islam allow people to be attracted to their future spouse mentally and physically before being married? im not saying they have to go out on a date or watever... but they have the right to talk to one another.. understand one another and like each other physically before giving the nod..

im not saying that 'not seeing the bride/groom before marriage' is totally wrong .. but it sorta does go against the principals of Islam..

yes its true.. that we should give parents and our elders to do the right thing by us.. but doesnt Islam also preach to not do things blindly?? if so... why would u blindly marry someone without even seeing or knowing them? shouldnt ur own knowledge account for something?

and about the whole suhaag raat thing.. how does love marriage make that any less special than an arranged marriage? are u assuming that a love marriage consists of physical actions before marriage? love marriage is made into such a taboo.... its crazy na..

my bro is engaged to a girl he loves... she lives overseas.. and i dont see any of them commiting any 'unislamic behavioir' before marriage.... to love someone and to be loved is special... and to finally be married to that someone is a blessing..

Lajoo, you live in a box. Get out, get some fresh air and open your eyes to what the existing world is all aboout. You just might learn there's a lot more to life (and marriage for that matter) than equating it to a bloody car!
I won't bother counting t/ number of arranged marriages AND Love marriages that have worked very well or have ended in separation. It's useless, cuz life is all about xperiences, give and take and how much the two parties involved are willinfg to compromise. I know a lot of ppl who absolutely refuse to give an inch, and geuss what? they are binded in arranged marriages. TRY to keep an open mind, you just MIGHT learn something about ppl one of them being that they cannot be boxed into your opinion!

Pir jii, aap nay too kammal hii kar diya.

p.s : By t/ way, what the hell is a "love marriage" I have always hated that particular term. "LOVE" marriage as opposed to what? A "LOVELESS" marriage? Jeeeezzzzzzz!

^ hehe FunkyDesi… loved the outpour :k:

as a new arrived desi asked us in a family gathering..

“will u have a love marriage or will it be arranged” (in his lovely pakistani accent.. so cute)

in return he only got laughter..

Lajawab.. one day u may truely ‘fall in love’ with a girl… let us know what happens next

Thanx Sadzzz, but it really does infuriate me when some of our fellow desi box t/ whole world and its inhabitants into a tiny lil box. As for your guest’s question :rolleyes: Nobody plans to have an arranged marriage or the so called “LOVE marriage”. Granted that in our Eastern/ Desi culture it is a ‘usually’ a given that a person will get married to sum1 who has been ‘introduced’ by t/ family elders. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Sometimes sum1 maybe destined to meet their soul mate in a classroom, at work, in a bus (yes, one of my frnds met a girl in a bus, and later got married to each other) or heck, even on t/ net!

And Lajoo, your xample about your brother living in t/ States for 16 yrs etc. doesn’t prove any point. Not saying this about your bro, but I know a lot of ppl who’ve srew around in t/ US and gone back after a number of yrs. just to get married to sum1 of their mom/sister’s choice and low and behold they are suddnly t/ know all, be all of Islam. Phuleeeeeeeez!

No worries... i know what u mean by people 'having their lil fun' here in OZ (US + UK bla bla) and then afterwards become all religious and spiritual and go back to desiland to get married to someone their parents have picked out for them.... that i dont understand...

it gets me really mad everytime i go to a wedding.. and i know what the groom or the gal have been upto before they're married.. and now they've come a religous figure... for what? who are they deceiving? only themselves..

woops off topic..

and yeah.. i know bout people meeting on the net.. and falling in love.. its actually very sweet.. it was a big deal here a few years back that people actually did that.. but after seeing how sucessful the marriages are.. everyone's given it the thumbs up..

neways.. i dont even know what classifies as a 'love' and 'arranged' marriage anymore... i dont think it really exists in teh circle im in...

And who are you to judge them? That’s something between them and Allah Mian, no? Sure, you know about their indiscretions, so what…At least they straightened themselves and are now Islamic…A step in the right direction…At least their heart is in the right direction…

and ur saying people who actually marry the person they been messing with … their heart aint in the right place? :hoonh:

Yaaro, wahts wrong with Lajwaab's example of a car??He was just giving an example, wasnt comparing a woman with a car, get over it. :)
And i agree with him on the last post too;we really dont have a right to judge people if they have straightened themslves or not. Thats something between them and Allah mian.

*Originally posted by who---me: *
oh pls not again!

I believe the correct words are:

Oh no, not again...
It hurts so good, I don't understand,
Infatuation...

It was by Rod Stewart sung in the 80s...Great lyrics...

I think all you need for a successful marriage is a strong bond of understanding and blessings of Allah and prayers of your parents.. all these things can be done in both cases, you just need to know how to make it happen.. the hard part is to have awareness of the boundaries that enclose all these crucial things. :-)

^ :k:

God u ppl are So good at beatin abt the bush :p

Lajawab ur example was not a bad one i liked it :D, but thts alwayz not the case.. discoveries might not alwayz be tht pleasant u know .. but then again yeah as u mentioned exceptions are alwayz there

Originally posted by Lajawab: *
...So let's say it does and the parties involved don't work out...What doeas that mean, another relation? **

duh, yes, if you are getting to know someone and you realize that you have differences that can not be reconciled, why not walk away..why make your's and the other person's life a mess and continue something which has no future.

You keep falling in love and breaking your heart then falling in love and so on until you meet someone compatible...You keep getting close to people and then shunning them because of compatibility issues...You keep doing it until you become, as Hendrix would say, experienced...Losing all the spontaneity that comes from instant connections...

even if we accept this theory, what happens when u find out that you are not compaitble with the spouse u got in an arranged marriage. stick it out..or walk away?

IMHO it is better to get to know someone and if there is no compatibility, to walk away rather than to get married to someone u barely know, or dont know at all, and then find out you are not compatible. much harder to walk away..

and bhai sahab, we use teh term love quite easily, why on earth would someone fall in "love" without feeling a compatibility and connection to the other person. attraction etc is not love, simple as that.

what this keep falling in love stuff? cupid uses a bow and arrow, not a damn machine gun

The suhaag raat is special because it comes once in a lifetime for many and is the most special and important night of two people's lives...It is the night of bonding and soul connections, iykwIm...By your standards it should remain nothing more than any other night of the week...

Are you trying to suggest that if somone did nto have an arranged marriage that they have done it already.

I think that is one crude and baseless assumption...what nonsense

*It's not like I am dissing love marriage, it's just that I believe it's not a better option...... *

well the previous paragraph indicates that indeed you are dissing it.

How easily you accuse me of judging others, while this whole post of yours is nothing but a negative judgement about t/ "Love marriage"! When I talk of ppl I know who have screwed around in t/ West as well as back home, @ least I know for sure what I am talking about cuz thru some misfortune I happen to know them directly or indirectly, simple. Oh and by t/ way, the same ppl who go become shareef bacha to marry their elders choice and come back doing t/ same crap all over again and bring in thr wife to tolerate their infidelities. Hypocrites!

Your view about t/ non arranged marriage is nothing but a baseless, not to mention senseless, generalisation. One sweeping assumption and you ghave condemned prtty much all t/ non arranged marriages doomed.

At least I have nothing against arranged marriage or otherwise. Sab kismet kaa khel hay, joray aasmaan pur buntay hain. Bottom line is, it takes a lot of hard work, patience and committment on both parties involved, period! I look @ my frnds who have had t/ "love marriage " and are very happy, and by the same token have numerous xamples of ppl in an arranged marriage where everybody is doing very well.

"The suhaag raat is special because it comes once in a lifetime for many and is the most special and important night of two people's lives...It is the night of bonding and soul connections, iykwIm...By your standards it should remain nothing more than any other night "

And aren't you judging others that if one has had a "LOVE marriage" he/she automatically has had a "Suhag Raat" prior to thr wedding?? Sheesh. Hypocrite!. Anyway, talking to ppl like you is prtty useless cuz you beleive in whatever your mind is 'set' to believe in. There's no thinking ut of t/ box. Like Xtreme said earlier you'll be 'discovering' plenty w/ your 4 sets of wives and in-laws.