Armughal as moderator/ Screening process for choosing a moderator (Merged)

*Just a simple question, on what basis are moderators chosen for forums? For example, I have noticed that Mr. armughal usually threatens people with a ban or something to that effect when someone disagrees with him in religious forums. I am not referring to his responses to my posts in particular, as I browse all the threads in the religion forum and I notice this trend often. Do the administrators not look at the history or the responses of the poster to other guppies before considering him/her for the moderator position?

P.S: As far as I remember, armughal’s first thread on Gupshup was in the image forum where he posted a bunch of pictures of young girls and told us how they were all his girlfriends :rotfl:.*

Re: Armughal as moderator/ Screening process for choosing a moderator

lol...reallyyyyyyyyyy?

yeah, change that forum's name to armughal forum or Salafi Forum, since no sunni/shia or any other faith are allowed to go against the [sarcasm on] "True" [sarcasm off] faith of "The unreal King"

Quote from New Forum Policy in Rel-Section

Does the person who wrote those words also follow them or he is above all that.

in Response of someone who posted following links:
the muslim explanation of the situation (an artical by a Shia Scholar on Tahrif al-Qur’an: A Study of Misconceptions Regarding Corruption of the Qur’anic Text full of traditions from sunni books)

another muslim explanation (an artical by a Shia Scholar on The Qur’an: Its Protection from Alteration again backed by a lot of traditions from sunni books), the mentioned moderator gave his fatwa

^ LINK

In another thread he said:

^ LINK

(Please dont forget that almost all the articles posted at al-islam.org (the centre of the shia muslim on internet) are full of traditions taken from esteemed sunni books)

How a moderator who holds so much grudge against shaiism can moderate a relegious forum??

how long admins are going to tolerate and ignore the complains against mentioned moderator, who dont even know the meanings of Moderation.

Does Uqraba Pervari has any bounds at GupShup??

Quote from New rel-Forum Policy

hain , when did taht happen, some one called him murghi?? I am a member her since Nov. 2003 and have never read any comment suggesting him as a murghi. And he made a whole rule just for that.
call him murghi and get banned. wow, why that much insecurity armughal ??

someone mentioned that the forum should be called “sunni fundo” instead of religion…i agree. i mean its no biggie, if u can have 3 separate forums just for pakistan make everyone’s life easier and divide it into a sunni and “all other” religions forum so that armughal can stay in there only…

oh yes please take the hypocrisy of the below into account…

and THEN he says:

hehe :wink:

Re: Quote from New Forum Policy in Rel-Section

muaaahahhahahahaaaaa…

he should keep on banning people and declaring fatwas on stuff he doesnt agree with. pretty soon GS will consist of only him and a few others that agree 100% with him and they can all sail into the sunset happily ever after :rotato:

Re: Armughal as moderator/ Screening process for choosing a moderator (Merged)

I’m keeping quiet on everything else, but one thing.. You can’t judge someone becasue of their posts from long ago. From what I’ve heard here and there he was a lot more different, not the way he is now. People change, so it’s not fair to bring up their past. :slight_smile:

That was just to humour my fellow guppies :smiley: . The message of the post is above it.

It's not just shia beliefs he belittles, but any that do not mimic his own, very narrow interpretation of religion. I have been baffled for weeks at how someone who holds so much disdain for other faiths can possibly be a moderator of a religion forum.

I simply don't want to pinpoint anyone or anything in particular, since I am sure all of us (especially me) are guilty of at least an affair or two in the course of our lives. Nevertheless, I do like to share my two cents on this subject matter. Here as follows:

First and foremost, A mod, according to my point of view, lives by a code......A code of honor, a code of respect, a code of integrity. He is an exemplar, a paradigm, a leader, one who leads his/her fellow members to a fruitful and productive discussion, even in threads where the topic is deemed as touchy and sensitive, and where members are required to remain calm and collected. The jurisdiction where the mod chores are suitably located at should be made as such to welcome all members of all religions, regardless of age, race, gender and background. Of course, when someone is determined to be screened as a mod, there are a handful of factors that should be considered, at all costs, in order to even mark one as a top-opportunity candidate.

Secondly, a mod is someone who constructs coherent, orderly and logical sentences, meanwhile carefully criticizes other members' viewpoints in an objective way. A mod is someone who acts upon, as well as prohibits others, from using racial slurs, and throwing unnecessary childish comments. I am proud to be a member of one of the largest Desi communities, and it pains me to see such affliction and anguish when I see a member, especially a mod of a high-profile forum, constructing the post as the following (Emphasis on the bold letters):

"since u r born n raised hindu, u dont have teh right to speak on behalf of islam on any given day.......u shud b ashamed of youselves."

This, to me, looks more like an AIM/MSN conversation, rather than a post made on a forum as invaluable and reputable as this. If I really have the necessity urge to view garbage posts, such as these, on a daily basis, I would rather call myself an immigrant into the AIM community. At least, from a mod's perspective, he/she should claim the responsibility to at least know the basics of differentiation between a conversation with your friend on MSN and communicating with people all over the world on a public discussion board.

Finally, a mod is someone who, instead of banning people left and right just because they don't agree with the viewpoints given, should prohibit from such actions, and take under consideration the fact that each and every person who is going to read your post is going to differ with your opinion. Assuming such a kind of reality is the very first step towards holding the duties of moderation, and points such as these should be pinched into the brains of all the administrators who consider themselves as "power-hungry", and are too irrestible to ban the next person who is two inches shorter than their height.

That is all. :)

Wow. Looking at this, I actually feel sorry for the poor guy. I think he says a lot of stuff in jest, and he really doesn't know that he's being offensive at times.

Its one thing the guy seems offensive. Its another thing when people post against him thinking they've never acted the same as him - sometimes worse.

Right Crescent, but when you're a mod, you have to accept the fact that people will criticize every opportunity they get.

But he is a moderator and has been chosen among a lot of posters visiting that forum. Just because you agree with his narrow minded views, it doesn’t mean you can justify his childish threats and slurs considering his status as moderator! Really.

Then he probably doesn’t have enough intellect to be moderator of a forum discussing such sensitive issues, does he?

^ plz add the following smily → :crying: to all your posts with my name in it, it will help to show what u r doing really…

Armu bhai does his job just like it should be done. It's really unfortunate that a straight talking, straight forward bloke is being put to the sword, he doesn't deserve the flak. He's one of the very few people on this website who make sense when they talk and are outspoken to issues that, a lot of members wouldn't submit a reply to as, we have many bum chums on here gin ko khush rakhna hai.

Once again, your childish conduct as a moderator amazes me. I just raised a simple question (which hasn’t been answered yet by the way) with the administrators. You should stay out of this thread and go ban people in the religion forum or something.

^ the game, you cant expect to open a thread in feedback criticizing him and have him not defend himself. He has the right to reply whichever way he feels just like every other sheeda, phola and gamma is replying here.