Armpit odors

Some desis in the crowded train today were emanating nasty odors from their armpits. An old woman near them almost fainted from the noxious fumes. No one would go near them in an otherwise packed train.

In such situations, is it polite to let them know they are polluting the air?

Pahleaaaaaase DO!

Either that, or dyyyyyyyyyyyye from foul inhalation.

OR
have some small deodrants with you and give it to them for free.....to save your life and others'.

Well if you don't know the desi people emanating the odor, I suggest toughing it out 'til it's time for you to get off the train. The reason being that they would very likely be offended by "advice" of using a deodorant, etc., coming from a complete stranger. I know how you feel though...I wish could tell every desi that ever existed (especially Indians! urgh! in like Indian stores, etc.)...that they need to ummm...get a grip on their body odor!!! It's a catch-22 situation: damned if you do and damned if you don't (say anything). Wish I had an easy solution for you, Kareem.

:Pretty:

*Originally posted by moona: *
Well if you don't know the desi people emanating the odor, I suggest toughing it out 'til it's time for you to get off the train. The reason being that they would very likely be offended by "advice" of using a deodorant, etc., coming from a complete stranger. I know how you feel though...I wish could tell every desi that ever existed (especially Indians! urgh! in like Indian stores, etc.)...that they need to ummm...get a grip on their body odor!!! It's a catch-22 situation: damned if you do and damned if you don't (say anything). Wish I had an easy solution for you, Kareem.

:Pretty:

There is no easy solution. These particular desis were actually Pakistani, so I felt even more compelled to help them by informing them of their problem.

Good post! Kareem.

My sense of smell is at par with that of a canine. Being a desi I get the honor of visiting desi stores, desi melas and flying PIA to Pakistan. Allah Gunjay ko naakhun na dai AUR desi ko sense of smell !. I can smell BO from 100 yards.

Now confession time… I lived my childhood in Pakistan and never used a deodarant except when my uncle would leave his unused orange colored spray cans on his return to amreeka. Also, was forced to use talcum powder (it works well until you start to sweat, then it turns into white keechaRR).

But upon landing in the land of opportunities, my first purchase was that ORANGE color deodarant spray that had a man and a woman’s shadow on the label. Oh it used to smell so good. I later became environment friendly and switched to sticks.

Anyway, I know it’s tough to suggest a stranger but I have a way of telling it to people who I get to meet and spend a few minutes with. The best way is to start a conversation on how you first arrived in this country and what stupid things you did or saw other people do. And in between slip in a made-up story of how this friend of yours was asked by someone to start using deodorants. Also, make sure you add your approval of it’s usage.

I am also working with the state department to add the following line in the oath taking ceremony for entering immigrants. after all the pledges… “I solemnly declare that I WILL use deodornat in my armpits after every shower and will live and let live”

:jhanda:

Oh gosh, funguy, that oath bit is too funny! :hehe:

It depends on the person..I mean there could be those who would tell you to piss off or get all mad and upset. someone needs to tell them, but someone they will listen to. I have told that in the past to new arrivals from India and Pakistan who were college students and as funguy said some examples were brought up to make them aware, some understood and others did not.

The less of a contact you have with a person the less you can really tell them, if its a friend i can even say bro, that shirt shoulda been left in the 80's and toss those dockers already. to a stranger there is not much that you can say without creating tension.

Staring, thats one thing I cant stand and have dealt with people staring in various ways though :)

What if …hmm you don’t use it coz you don’t need it ??

I mean I never sensed the need for it … OR am I not normal :confused: I can’t stands deodrants…the stick ones or the spray ones, its so uncomfortable using them underneath your armpits, it gets so sticky ..yuk. Plus I like the natural smell..that is if you don’t smell bad.. some people smell even worst using dedodrants .. BUT I do use perfumes .. they are lovely.

Fraudz, yeah I HATE it when new arrivals and sometimes even not-so-new people stare! It’s so annoying! Urgh! :o

Wow, Saadia, your sweat glands must be unique. Perfumes are cool though :blush:

saadiaB

there is a difference between deodorants and anti-persperants. There are plenty of good deodorants out there and they do not get sticky.

Many people are not aware of their body odour, just like many people are not aware when they have put on too much perfume. why, because they are used to that smell. The noses thata re not used to that smell are assualted big time.

Its also a question of cover up versus counter act, deodorants counteract the smell, and at the source of the smell. putting perfume on oneself does not counter it, but covers it up, which means that either there is too much perfume on to subdue the BO, or the two smells together form a rather strange smell.

my 2 paisa

*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
What if .....hmm you don't use it coz you don't need it ??

Sadia, yeah maybe you don't need it but people around you might need you to use it :D

But, you could be right. Maybe you don't have sweat glands. A frind of mine didn't sweat no matter what. He had to go see a doctor.

I am not trying to make fun of you. I know of some americans who refuse to use deodorants too.

you guys!

mr fraudia - I have used many products and I tell you I was never satisfied...somehow the smell was worst for my nose when I used deodrants as if I did not use anything under my armpits.

So I bought this salt thingy...I used it for a while but I did not notice any difference at all!

Ok, we might not be aware of our own smell but if I ever would have smelled very bad my mom or sister would have told me by now and believe me I would most certainly would have done something againt it. I have high priority on body cleaness for myself.

funguy - I tell you people around me have never complained :D I mean I have to deal daily with all kinds of people. I just don't know, I feel that I don't need any deodrands... hey I have a sensitive nose and even smelled my armpits right now to be sure and I tell you no bad smell... just natural kind of body fragrance.

OK I am not trying to say that I don't smell at all, I do when I don't take showers for few days :D or I do training ..thats all.

saadia B

that 'natural' kind of smell that you are talking about. That is BO, to you its natural cuz to you its your own smell, to others it may not be.

as far as strangers not saying anything, they usually will not. I know ppl in US and Pakistan that have Bo but I cant really say anything because they will get offended.

Saadia, Thanks for the very graphical and visual explanation of your smelling your armpits as you typed out those lines. You just made my Eid ! Many Happy and fragrant mubaraks to u too.

OK Mr.:fraudia: , choRR bhi dau yaar…hamay maaloom hay aap ears mai itter laga ker ghoomtay haiN.

It’s OK Saadia, if you don’t think you got a BO, then don’t worry about it. But I would still wana know , Sure or Unsure? ( i am sure all the yankees will get the last part)

not just any itter, but shammamtul amber :smiley:

Mr fraudia - For me it's important to take shower everyday in the morning, even if it's snowing or freezing, I do it. I think that takes away any kind of BO for the whole day. I can't wipe out all kind of body fragrance, some things are natural and should be left natural ....if everyone would take regular shower, many would not need to apply deos.

funguy - lol, hey I am sitting alone @office that is why it was possible ..hehe happy eid mubarak to you too.

Saadia, it is important for me to take shower in the morning too. We are sooooo much alike....

Well to be quite honest I don't mind smelling my own armpits. As a matter of fact I have read somewhere that it's a fetish for some to smell their partner's armpits. Supposed to be a turn ON. Never tried on others.