Re: Arifa Siddiqi
well someone told me about this so i asked you
this is the interview i just found.
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Arifa Siddiqui comes from a family of exceedingly talented artists. Her mother Talat Siddiqui and Aunt Rehana Siddiqui were renowned film and television actresses before young Arifa made her appearance on the showbiz firmament. Her elder sister Naheed Siddiqui was no unknown individual either; she’s a classical dancer-an internationally recognized celebrity. So when Arifa Siddiqui did her first play as a teenage girl, the talent that she exuded came as no surprise to viewers. Once they got to know she hailed in understandable acknowledged.Arifa Siddiqui began her acting career in early ‘80s from a drama series made by Lahore TV centre Tota Kahani. But the play that shot her real fame was Amjad Islam Amjad’s Samandar in which her nickname Makhi gained tremendous popularity all across Pakistan. Her light bantering with Abid Kashmiri, who played the character of rickshaw driver Gullu, was a huge hit, as it were, among the masses. Arifa went on to do a number of plays and serials from Lahore TV centre, including Piyas and Neeley Haath, most of which the viewers saw with great fervor, and the list is a long one. But here I would like to mention just one Khel that Arifa did in early ‘90s,my personal **[size=3]Arifa Siddiqui **[/size]
http://www.livevisionusa.com/images/arifasiddiqui_1.jpg
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]favorite. It was a long play written by Munno Bhai, entitled Khoobsurat. In Khoobsurat she plays Abid Ali’s
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]daughter. As the play progresses she bumps into a young boy, fond of nature and its munificence, and who is dying of a dangerous disease. The boy’s character was played by LTV producer Kunwar Aftab’s son. Arifa tries to mitigate his pain by befriending him. By a twist of fate she herself becomes a victim of a disease and loses her sight, albeit temporarily. The situation leads that boy to console Arifa and hence the friendship flowers. Arifa’s sight gets restored but the boy passes away. It was a brilliantly written, directed play in which Arifa’s performance was exemplary.
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Subsequent to Khoobsurat, which has been aired twice or thrice, Arifa’s television appearance became few and far between. However, she carried on with her singing-another passion of the artist that ran along side her acting career.
[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]These days Arifa Siddiqui can be seen in a sitcom that’s run on PTV 3. But judging by the talent that she boasts in serious parts, not that her flair for comedy is inferior. It’s just that her tragic streak heavily outdoes the funnier side to the actress.
Gallantmon! Thanks. This is a great information. I did not watch the Neely Hath. Also Khubsorat i want to watch.
You are welcome Ali
Arifa has one good play written by Banu Qudsia Starring Uzma Gilani. Uzma act Arifa's mother role. I forget the name of the play. Story is some thing about the house building.
Ghareeb-e-Shahar
Starring: Shagufta Aijaz, Abid Ali, Sadia Imam, Asad, Saleem Sheikh, Ali Afzal, Arifa Siddiqui, Kanwal, and Sohail Ahmed
Written by: Asghar Nadeem Syed
Directed by: Ayub Khawar
Released: March 2000
The story revloves around the family of Abid Ali who is caught between the web of money, power and deceit. Abid Ali leaves his wife (Shagufta Aijaz) and three kids (Asad, Saleem, Sadia Imam) in their childhood to go to London and then does not return till the kids are all grown up.
When he returns,he begs for forgiveness and the wife relents and forgives, the kids refuse to do so.
Asad gets involved in student University politics and lands himself in jail. Saleem Sheikh is a railway station incharge who loves Arifa Siddiqui but due to monetary circumstances cannot marry. Sadia Imam is an airhostess, while Ali Afzal is a pilot in love with her.
A politician (Sohail Ahmed) takes interst in her and she dumps Ali for him because of more money. Kanwal is the politician's first wife who also runs a NGO and is not ready to let him re-marry. The government changes and Sohail Ahmed lands in jail as well as Asad who now becomes best friends with him.
I have seen this one its was good
yes i saw it also. it was good.
see arifa in a song of Naraaz dancing with faisal, different than her drama image.
Arifa Siddiqi
One of the best in Pak film/dramas.
Arifa Siddiqi One of the best in Pak film/dramas.
Yes i agree.
you are wellcome
got anymore info about Arifa lately ali?
No
oh ok.
Ok ill try to find something.I will tell if i find out :)
thanks
Hey Ali I found this video from the film Aisa Bhi Hota Hai (1984)
Dont know if you have seen this one.