Many kids and babies need milk, people need food supplies. Most people in Pakistan dont do groceries weekly like u may be doing in west..But, the worse is need for medicine.. heart patients need urgent medicines.. people were seen rushing for ambulances that were not allowed.. saw on TV how people were begging for ambulances for their patients needing dylasis etc.
I addition, there was no electricity and with that water supply goes in most cases.. no water for cooking, roties etc... If people had known they would had stocked..
Moslty Islamabadian do a weeks shopping. I also used to do when I was living over there in 1991-1992. I do not think so that the curfew would be so much harsh that the people of the area would be having nohting to eat. Supplies will still continue.
Many kids and babies need milk, people need food supplies. Most people in Pakistan dont do groceries weekly like u may be doing in west..But, the worse is need for medicine.. heart patients need urgent medicines.. people were seen rushing for ambulances that were not allowed.. saw on TV how people were begging for ambulances for their patients needing dylasis etc.
Well I dont really agree, I have seen families buying supplies at least the most urgent and daily used items .. as for water, water comes twice a day and ppl stock the water for drinking and cooking. There must be food to eat, even if its plain daal and roti at home. I do see a problem for babies and old, sick ppl, thats bad.
Have u waited for someone - how the time passes? compared to normal times.. how about if someone is not alllowed to leave a room for some time ? say in jail... one acnt compare normal times to these panic situations! With no elecricity without some food item, medicine and most importantly never knowing when it would stop..
Its not my fault that they are inside!
They have to make the best of the situation thats present there right now.
Well I have lived there and know what it means to be at home all day. I know most will be having chai and samosas and watching the news. Its not that bad, atleast the ones that are home are safe.
Moslty Islamabadian do a weeks shopping. I also used to do when I was living over there in 1991-1992. I do not think so that the curfew would be so much harsh that the people of the area would be having nohting to eat. Supplies will still continue.
here you go fraudz. in pic 2 to the left of laal masjid, there are govt qtrs for clerical staff, to the right for relatively higher grades 16, 17, 18. Very very old construction, late 60s to early 70s. The ones for clerical staff are two small bedroom, one latrine, one bathroom a small yard at the back and a smaller one at the front. They are old and in dilapdated shape. The ones on the right are 2 and 3 bedroom houses, relatively bigger in size. The middle class private houses on the left can be from 80 lakh rupees to 1.25 carore depending on the construction. If you move further left from the govt quarters to the left of lal masjid you get private housing of relatively rich. The houses are around 500 square yards and can range from 2 carore to 3 carore. Further left and towards the top left corner you get the houses of the ultra rich. Cheapest will be around 8 carore and upto 20 carore. Some houses in that area are rented for 15-20k USD a month, yes you heard it right 20k. These are the ones behind covered market and my alma mater ICB.
d G sector is a relatively poor sector of islamabad i mean wen we passed thru dt sector it ws diff from d rest of islamabad this sector looked like lahore ki galliyaan bt i think there ws a massive market js nearby it called blue area market or sumfin
well obviously if d ppl r poor dey may nt b able to afford to buy large supplies of atta n chawal or daal n may onli b able to afford once in a while so i wudnt b suprised if dey ran out of supplies
Thanks for the comments guys, I was just trying to get an idea. and all perspectives make sense.
maybe I just come from a family that is pretty much always ready for emergencies due to my folks having to deal with civil war in nigeria and then the anytime anywhere ghunda gardee in karachi thatw oukd result in shops closing, and hartaal.
medicine at home was always atleast a few weeks more worth of stuff, water was always in tanks, and there was almost always
even when teh whole cyclone thing happened, my folks were ready with food items that they did not need to refrigerate, could be eaten without cooking etc. drinking water and water for washing in tanks etc.
but there were many times in the 80's and 90's when you woke up to find out there was hangama and shops were all closed, and you had to make do with what you have.
I guess in this case people are not used to any hangama in their area and thus were in a situation where they did not have all the stuff they needed. But the reporting on it seems a little over the top.
jee pakistani’s kai paas fridge hotai hain ..laikin woh american,canadian ki teraan grocery itani zaida nahi kartai:) like for breakfast things they buy it everyday at night .and i used to remember my phuppho used to say MAI TOU CHICKEN TAZZA BUY KARTEE HOON KIU KAI LOAD SHEDDING SAI FRIDE MAI KHARAAB HOO JATA HAI:hehe:
so khanai peenai ka life style is diff in pakistan.
i dunno what the hue and cry is about ppl w/o food to eat in the area who are hungry due to curfew
sounded a bit over teh top
I don't know if curfew was pre-announced or suddenly enforced, if suddenly enforced then its very likely people will run out of food... its not like US where they go grocery'ing once a week, they buy vegetables/meat for everyday consumption.