Are we the next target?

Fears have been raised in certain circles that PAkistan can be the next target of UnitedStates preemtive attack after Iraq. Are these fears well-founded? Are they baseless,ludicrous? Is there any grain of truth in that?

It is said that in the absence of any concrete evidence establishing Iraq’s link with AL-Qaida, of bio-terrorism and WMD against it; THe US is bent upon working on its plan. Keeping that in context,would Pakistan be the next target of United States of America. Is it because of our, ’ unofficial complicity and with the Taliban and Osama Bin Laden’ that has given rise to this popular belief?

These fears/rumors have been spread by the Media of Pakistan by manipulatin' Mualana Co. statements regardin' United States. Because of that, it has created problems for Pakistanis' livin' in America; and made suspicious in front of the World.

WMD is not the case at all. History is witness, relation b/w Pakistan and America has always been based on 'interest', in which America did a little or done nothing for Pakistan.

i used to hear exactly the same thing when America started their war in Afghanistan and everybody around me was saying that its Pakistan's turn next.

but Pakistan has a lot more gun/man/missle/ammo (wutever) power then Afghanistan and Iraq or even North Korea.

any preemtive strikes on Pakistan is going to cause America almost everything. its different if India attacks Pakistan and its different when America hundreds (thousands?) of miles away from Pakistan strikes, even if they camp their bases in Afghanistan/India.

In Iraq's case, Iraq has nothing, they may have a huge number of Army but war today is not about armies anymore. its about how many toyes do u have and Allah ka shukar hey kay Pakistan has a lot of those toys.

Aside from that stuff, America doesn't have any specific reason to attack Pakistan. Pakistan is (for now) an American ally and hasnt' given America any reason to start a war.

i totally agree with Pakistani Tiger that these rumors are being spread by our Mula group for their own cause.

As long as Pakistan is dancing to the tunes of Americans no problems. Musharraf is too shrewd and he knows how to survive. Besides Pakistan is also admitted to war advisory group of US.

I must admire americans. They are using crooks to hunt crooks.

http://www.dawn.com/2003/02/06/top11.htm

Pakistan joins war advisory group

By Anwar Iqbal

WASHINGTON, Feb 5: Pakistan has joined a coalition planning group which advises US Central Command on the war against terrorism and could also play a key advisory role if the United States goes to war against Iraq.

Besides Pakistan, the 20-nation group also includes Britain, Germany, France, Turkey, and Qatar. Some of them render unstinted support to US war efforts around the globe while others - like France and Germany - are opposing an expected US military offensive against Iraq.

Military officers from these 20 countries are already based at the CENTCOM headquarters in Tampa, Florida, as part of Gen Tommy R. Franks’ staff. The general heads the US Central Command that stretches from the Horn of Africa into Central Asia. He is also expected to lead the US offensive against Iraq.

No, US will not go after Pakistan directly after Iraq. For numerous reasons.

1, as Rifak explained, Musharraf is very shrewd and knows how to deal with the US and other nations, atleast in the short-term.

2, After 9-11, Pakistan has been put back on the world map with a bigger bang than the missle testing (which was really a fizzle sequel to a bad movie after India's explosive entry)

3, Because of this, Pakistan's power base has experienced a tenfold increase. It's more than just an ally now, it's the grand vizier's backstage vizier. Neither will Pakistan relinquish it's power so easily, nor will it allow US to grab it. Pakistan knows Asia like the back of its hand.. it's more than vital, it's the Emperor's concubine.

4, Rather than launch a pre-emptive attack on Pakistan, US would have more interests in rooting out the House of Saud and showing them their place. Gaining control of Saudi Arabia will open the whole Middle East to free looting and purging out religious elements.

5, US will not address the Kashmir issue, ever, coz it wants Pakistan to remain occupied with a homegrown scuffle of its own. The more enemies Pakistan makes - and yes, it will make a lotta enemies besides India now, esp. if Iraq is bombed, coz all the surrounding nations wil resent it's prestigious ally position - the better for US, coz that way US won't need to interefere at all in Pakistan's ultimate downfall. The rest of South Asia will automatically take care of it. Afghanistan is already hurting. Karzai is a clutz, but the Afghans won't forget.

A hands-off policy always works. Saanp bhi mara, aur lathi bhi na tooti.

USA abnegated from using indian bases after 9/11…too bad if india feels like a destitute whore…

1, as Rifak explained, Musharraf is very shrewd and knows how to deal with the US and other nations, atleast in the short-term.

2, blah blah blah.....(which was really a fizzle sequel to a bad movie after India's explosive entry)

now which response should I choose....lol? roftl? get a clue? Did the UN feed you today? hmmm which one?

3, More blah de blah de blah.....Pakistan knows Asia like the back of its hand.. it's more than vital, *it's the Emperor's concubine. *

Oh I see the rejected whore gets the sour grapes and starts cussing boo hoo....

yet more blah blah blah.....coz that way US won't need to interefere at all in Pakistan's ultimate downfall.

You wish you so so wish that it must have made your dalia taste good today. Rajput Fury was right nothing would make you pathetic little .......'s happier that to see Pakistan's downfall. Allah bachai from such snakes in the grass...coming on this site and saying things like that.....#$@!#$ Cheap Indians....only one ana aur itni kameengee? (its spelled anna by the way)

2, After 9-11, Pakistan has been put back on the world map with a bigger bang than the missle testing (which was really a fizzle sequel to a bad movie after India’s explosive entry)

yes Indians like you talk big..remember the Nuclear testing? I remember Indians and your pseudo Hindu President Abul Kalam and the rest of the fools thinking “we have Pakistan down and out” until we came back with a few bangs of our own. For a country of India’s size, and the position it occupies in the world is quite pathetic. China, which is more India’s competitor both in terms of size and population has roundly beaten you Indians.

**3, Because of this, Pakistan’s power base has experienced a tenfold increase. It’s more than just an ally now, it’s the grand vizier’s backstage vizier. Neither will Pakistan relinquish it’s power so easily, nor will it allow US to grab it. Pakistan knows Asia like the back of its hand.. it’s more than vital, it’s the Emperor’s concubine. **

So we’re concubines eh? Then India must be the gutter trash that was left out in the cold when the Indian government went begging to give the US assistance on the “War on terror”…that whole @ss kissing episode was pathetic enough. Pakistan’s assistance was formally requested, unless Indians have decided to revise that history as well.

5, US will not address the Kashmir issue, ever, coz it wants Pakistan to remain occupied with a homegrown scuffle of its own. The more enemies Pakistan makes - and yes, it will make a lotta enemies besides India now, esp. if Iraq is bombed, coz all the surrounding nations wil resent it’s prestigious ally position - the better for US, coz that way US won’t need to interefere at all in Pakistan’s ultimate downfall. The rest of South Asia will automatically take care of it. Afghanistan is already hurting. Karzai is a clutz, but the Afghans won’t forget.

Wow thats what we call an armchair political analyst. So hoping for Pakistan’s downfall? Well get in line, apparently we have a lot of haters. Just let me remind you that Pakistan’s is one of the leading Muslim states and I am fully confident that once we have taken care of internal politics we will emerge as a stronger nation than ever before.

**Saanp bhi mara, aur lathi bhi na tooti. **

One thing is for sure, Brother Mufakkar has discovered a saanp right here on Gupshup :hehe:

My best hope for Indians is that they should worry about their own nation before getting involved in our business. I have said it before, nothing would give Indians more pleasure to see Pakistan’s downfall because we have always been the thorn on the Indian side in their quest for hegemonic designs over South Asia and beyond.

*Originally posted by Ana: *
The rest of South Asia will automatically take care of it. Afghanistan is already hurting. Karzai is a clutz, but the Afghans won't forget.

The rest of South Asia will take care of what? What would the rest of South Asia have done differently? And what is it that the Afghans won't forget? Which other country has gone out on a limb for the Afghans at the risk of our own reputation?

It's too easy to always blame Pakistan for the troubles in South Asia, but I would like to ask which nation provides an example from that region we should be following?

.......The noose tightens....

What I see in the crystal ball .........

Slowly and steadily US will pull its troops out of afghanistan , It will fund and help india with the latest technology and weponry , Pakistan will be given redundant bits and pieces to keep its mouth closed . It will only need the slightest of spark to start a full fledged PAK/india war which will be provided by the US. The US not directly but undercover of india will take out pakistans nuclear installation first and formost , not to mention they must already have a contingency plan ready for pakistan . Both countries will suffer allot but one will suffer more then the other .

Thats what all i see, might be wrong , but who knows.

PS:expatriate Pakis dont wory u all will survive , u will be staying in concentration camps and will live to tell the tale.

*Originally posted by Sardar1: *
What I see in the crystal ball .........

Slowly and steadily US will pull its troops out of afghanistan , It will fund and help india with the latest technology and weponry , Pakistan will be given redundant bits and pieces to keep its mouth closed . It will only need the slightest of spark to start a full fledged PAK/india war which will be provided by the US. The US not directly but undercover of india will take out pakistans nuclear installation first and formost , not to mention they must already have a contingency plan ready for pakistan . Both countries will suffer allot but one will suffer more then the other .

Thats what all i see, might be wrong , but who knows.

PS:expatriate Pakis dont wory u all will survive , u will be staying in concentration camps and will live to tell the tale.

And we will obliterate as many Indians as possible, will YOU be one of them? Only time will tell :)

<>

Hold it, rest of the South Asia? Hmmm let’s see. Iran, Nah, Afghanistan, Nah, CARs, nah nah.

India? So much wishful thinkin’ Ana jee, eh?

From India, every day we hear ISI done this, ISI done that. Kiss America toe to pressure on Pakistan. 1M troops couldn’t take of infiltration, not up to now.

How the hell India suppose to take care of the downfall of Pakistan since ISI comes in the nightmares of Indians? You guys couldn’t even handle Verrapan Babu. Heck, Mujhs set up land mines for Indian troops. What else, hmmmmmmm Remember how you guys copied X-File terminology for catchin’ ISI monkey man? That was :rotfl: Agent Murli and Shilpa must be drollin’

<>

Of course, they will not. After all Bush has screwed up Economy, they will eye Indian Market for back up, to get the Economy on the track. This has been goin’ on for years.

Just like Russia did and still does by sellin’ out junk to India after havin’ bitter defeat of the Cold War.

So the tally of lunatics from India is: 3
Sane folks from India: 2

For a while there it was tied, so I'm still holding out hope that more Indians here on Gupshup will give a realistic analysis rather than what they "wish" would come true.

Get real, no country in Soth Asia is next...

** revived]b]

I initiated this thread when the war against terrorism was at its peak. Today, however, the war against terrorism sound like a thing of the past and has now been replaced by yet another operation to free the supressed Iraqi citizens....

There isn't any new point to discuss this time. However, as the American offensive agaisnt Iraq proceeds;our mass media has once again picked the same issue. This time around the list goes like this. After Iraq, the next possible target could be

Iran
Pakistan
North Korea
Syria.....

Do you think that America can take any such step when its facing resistance the world over against this immoral act?

Originally posted by lost soul: *
revived]b]

I initiated this thread when the war against terrorism was at its peak. Today, however, the war against terrorism sound like a thing of the past and has now been replaced by yet another operation to free the supressed Iraqi citizens....

There isn't any new point to discuss this time. However, as the American offensive agaisnt Iraq proceeds;our mass media has once again picked the same issue. This time around the list goes like this. After Iraq, the next possible target could be

Iran
Pakistan
North Korea
Syria.....

Do you think that America can take any such step when its facing resistance the world over against this immoral act?

It would be more the enough for yanks to handle Iraq...

I don't see any reason why we would be the next target. US is more bothered about potential threats to Israel like Iraq, Syria and Iran.

*Originally posted by Abdali: *

It would be more the enough for yanks to handle Iraq...

What has Iraq got to defend itself? NOTHING... Reminds me of the people in 1991 who actually believed Iraq was going to win the war. At the expense of a few hundred soldiers, half the country has already been thrashed... Then again, you probably said the same thing about the talibz giving a whooping to the Americans ;)

Even CNN has started to report that the Americans wont have a walk over in Iraq, like it was looking in the beginning of the war. Spock, there’s no comparison between Iraqi, and US weaponary but surely the Iraqi will deserves credit, and that has surprised many including me.

**Pentagon sees stiff resistance in war’s first week
Analyst: Quick victory ‘not going to happen’

WASHINGTON (CNN) – U.S. war planners may have miscalculated the strength and capability of paramilitary fighters in Iraq, a U.S. official told CNN on Wednesday, as the first week of fighting came to an end.

Saddam Fedayeen fighters, along with members of the ruling Baath Party and other security forces, have launched several attacks against U.S. and British forces for a week.

One of the most feared of Iraq’s paramilitary groups, Saddam Fedayeen is known for deceptive tactics, torture, assassinations and a willingness to die for Iraqi President Saddam Hussein. It was established as a domestic security organization answering directly to Saddam’s eldest son, Uday, and bypassing the army command hierarchy.

“We did not know they were so well-placed” across southern Iraq, the official told CNN. Informal Pentagon estimates indicate that there may be as many as 30,000 Fedayeen troops.

Members of the group have caused problems for coalition forces in some areas, where they have disguised themselves as civilians to ambush troops or pretended to surrender and opened fire – acts the United States have called “serious violations of the laws of war.”

The Indians seem to be living in cloud cuckoo land! Americans will never trust the Indians. As past historys shows, during the Cold War it was always Russia and India, and US and Pakistan. Pakistan has always been a staunch US ally.

The Americans will be using India for their own good. They know that they can boost their economy by exporting to nation of 1 billion ppl!! They've already drained India of its brains.

Pakistan has a certain postion on the global stage especially in th eyes of other Muslim nations. In the near future Pakistan may become the bridge between the US, EU and the Islamic world, like US and Blair and Europe!

India needs to take of its immediate problems first before looking over the fence. It has enough trouble at home, MAJOR poverty, communal violence which is endorsed by its government!