are we allowed to dance?

I was playing with a few lil kids aged 7 and under, well I was trying to entertain them really so I put on the Lion King CD for them and said “lets see who can dance the best!” and they’re like “ammi ne kaha hai ke dancing nahi karte” I was like wtf??? I was rather baffled that these lil kids are telling me this!
what’s so wrong with dancing? does our religion condemn it?

ok well i don't really know much but, i thought other word for dancers is kanjaree, (but they r those who dance infront of guys/with guys) well i sometimes dance eid/weddin only infront of gals, welllllll i i'll look farward for the replys,

can i juz ask another quest here is singing condemned too?

What i can say is that you cannot open a door which cannot be closed, age is not the limit. You know well every thing starts with a minimum and then it keeps on demanding further space and space.

you can not justify one thing to your kids today and refrain them from it the next day.Well dancing exposes your body which is not allowed in Islam. Thats my opinion.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/cool.gif

Billi-Khala:

It will be interesting when all the replies will come in. So before this thread gets a little out of hand

I thought I should share my humble experience.

I was always brought up with the sense that “actions” that will not bring your closer to Allah are not worth doing. Life is always a struggle to be amoung HIS servants!! Secondly, in Islam, Hazoor (saw) life is considered to be the “best way of spending one’s life” …

Now if you can prove that by dancing you will be closer to God and will be considered among His true followers, or if you can point out a incident in Hazoor (saw) life, where he appriciated dancing or such activities … then by all mean dance all you can!!!

And until you do … I am with the little kid who said dancing is not allowed!!!

P.s: No wonder I LOVE KIDS!!!

Humanity First! Though I give you the right to disagree …

BTW cat woman after completion of this thread and going through this thread would you cahnge your opinion?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/cool.gif

Wow, I have no idea what kind of dancing you’ve been doing

The rest of us usally manage to keep our clothes on, when dancing

Well, it depends, what kind of dancing is it.

Little kids can dance.
Women on their own can dance(not in front of men)
Husband and wife may dance in their private area.
Public dancing(dancing clubs, parties) it totally prohibited.

*V~V~V*He came, He saw, He conquered*V~V~V*

----*High Priest-OF-Painful Truth*----

*And cover not *Truth with falsehood, nor conceal the Truth when you know (what it is).
**Quran,Al-Baqara, 42.

How about singing?

Can guys dance in public?

from my knowledge, i think singing in front of guys by women is not allowed.

-mehndi

[This message has been edited by rizwanfareed (edited March 10, 2001).]

ahmedjee what you said is very clear-cut and I agree with it. Dancing for me is something which I enjoy so much, it's like a major stress-reliever and I love music. I usually put on the radio full-blast when I'm working in the kitchen and shake my booty a whole lot!

quote:

Originally posted by mm10:
BTW cat woman after completion of this thread and going through this thread would you cahnge your opinion?

Umm...I would make it my profession if it wasn't for my religious values, and my parents ofcourse!

My mums side of the family is very religious (as Pristine bhai would know), so no dancing waghera esp. in front of na-mehrams.

what is that saying..amlaun ka daromaadaar niyyat peh hauta hai…ur actions reflect ur niyyat..cat-woman…i dont think the dance u were going to do would be of the caliber of a belly dancer or sumthin…i think that was just plain fun… ‘just having fun’ and not sumthin outta control..i dont think they is any haraj in that
P.S–i also think that ammis of such kids should also explain to their kids why its haram (in their view)…often i see kids who makes loud comments (usually mouthing their parents words)…but those little ones dont even know what they re saying..its terrible

saleeem bewafa tha!!!

What sort of profession did u had in mind, anyway?

yes isloo ki, i agree with u! harmless fun!

hahaha, not what you’re thinking peacemaker!!

What you do behind the doors is between you and God!!

No one should have any say in it …

Some take dancing as an exercise … and I think they have every right to do so!

singing is a very broad term! Those who are reciting Quran (Tilawat) are basically singing!

Narrow down on what kind of singing are you talking about, then maybe you will get some more replies … examples won’t hurt!

Why do I have the feeling that she is not talking about “Tilawat”?

Before passing judgement about anything be sure to bring the proof and do not rely just on logic. It is best to remain silent on things that you do not know much about.

So if any of you say its allowed or not allowed and the situations where it is and where it is not, please bring the proof and if you cant, then say that I cant proove this careful.

Some sahabah did not discuss the hadith after the prophet in the fear that they might say something incorrectly.

Cat-woman why don’t you just say parents,and why don’t you answer mm10’s question?
Dancing in general is frowned upon in Islam and not at all an acceptable practice.
And besides those kids’ mother sounds like a wise woman.