After seeing so many debates recently being posted in different threads, highlighting the differences with the inlaws, i just wanted to know the honest answer, that how u find ur parents when they act as inlaws.?
How u act when ur parents do something which u would not like to see withurself by ur inlaws.?
Re: Are u satisfied with the way ur parent act as inlaws to some girl.?
my parents are pertty cool with my bhabhis and damad. we are a family and treat each other as a member of the family. my dad is a quiet type person and always mind his business. my mum pretty much covers my dad's lack of participation as father in law in house. but that didn't mean fights and chak chak 24/7. these days she is visiting us and will leave at the end of the month. they don't live with us bcoz dad's in ME bcoz of his teaching job and mum lives with him.
as for us bros, sis, and bhabhis, we get along very well.
My parents are no longer alive but my mom's example is one that I will repeat till the day that I die.
I remember several occassions when one of the bhabhis would complain to ammi (which in and of itself was something to be proud of cuz most women don't feel close enough or secure enough with their MILs to approach them) and ammi would take the skin off my brothers.
She would always remind them that they had brought this girl away from her parents to start a new life and it was their sole responsibility to make sure that she never wanted for anything.
There were so many occassions where I felt slighted or neglected by my mom or brothers because they would favour my bhabhis. At the time it would tick me off, but now, in retrospect, I don't blame them for what they did. (Keep in mind that these were petty issues that really should not have been argued about in the first place. Nothing major.)
The final testimony is in the fact that my bhabhis served my mother till her dying day. Never complained about looking after her and still speak very highly of her. May Allah bless her soul.
I should probably mention that two of my SILs are not of desi origin. But all of them deserve the same praise in the way they dealt with my mother.
My parents have 2 sons-in-law and they give them much more importance than they give to any of us i.e. their own children, very VIPish treatment, one starts to feel neglected when they are around actually.
My parents hated, my brothers wife.
He'd married of his own accord, they didnt like her, or her family or anything bout her.
I'd hear stories bout her family and her from my mum all the time degrading stuff that no MIL should say bout her DIL.
In my case i told my mother to shut up, and gave my SIL the chance.
You know what she did in return, she prove that everything and anything that my parents, neighbours and her neighbours and people who know her and her family was true.
I regret giving her the chance. She didnt deserve it.
One day my brother is going to relize what a ditch he's dug for himself.
Unhappy stuck in a relationship no where to go.
Im waiting for that day cause then I'll be the first one to rub it in his face.
I'm someone who would like to believe that all this in-law politics is non-existent.....because I've only heard abt. this stuff.....n Alhamdulillah theres nothing I've seen happening.
My parents have no DIL yet.....but as for sons in law....they are veryyyy caring n loving.
There are bahus in our close family n I would say....We are lucky mashaAllah....because not only we got great mothers in law....but we've got excellent daughters in law too. We are a big family....mostly girls....n i don't see any in-law problems in our family on both sides. :)
I dont have much of experience considering neither me or my bro are married...but in respect to my mother's experience i can say they had one of the best relationship with her mother in law...
which really does give me the inspiration to treat my mother in law in the same manner inshaAllah...
My mom is very sweet to both my husband and my bhabhi. She lived with a very decent mother in law so she doesn't play those scheming games that some MILs do. If sometimes she goes off track then we point out to her the mistake and she realizes and corrects herself :-)
My dad is one of the best fathers in the world. Alhamdulillah. He won't hurt a fly :-)
my mother treats my hubby like a son..in fact, better than a son..actually, better than she treats me....i guess cuz she think hes here all by himself and his parents are back in pak, so she should be like his mother....sometimes my mom acts like my saas than my mom.....
but for my sister's hubby, she treats him like a damad...i think cuz hes older, and also he's my dad's nephew, so they are more frank and have their issues...
as for my two bhabis...there are times when my mom does more for them than for me...one example of that is at my brother's wedding....in our family, the bhabhi gets and does everything...(does the gharoli thing, mehndi thing first, blah blabh blah)..maybe im just a jealous nand, but hey! us sisters shoudl also be a part of the brother's wedding..so anyways, for the wedding, my mom bought extra stuff for her from paksitan (clothes, sets) while me and my sis got the usual crap...boy was i pissed..and i let my mom know it..lol...i know its not my bhabhis fault, so im cool with her....
but there are also times when my mom does go overboard as a saas, and then i step in and take my bhabi's side...
and like i always tell my friends, i have one goal in life: to be a saas...now, that's the life!
there aren't any evil mother in laws I don't think, but there are ones that give the daughter in law and her family care and importance and than there are ones that only care about themselves and their son.
^ now that's scary! I guess the ones that are uneducated and closed-minded do things like this. I don't know why some people do this.
most guppans and their family are educated people. They tend to be more flexible in their thinking and more open minded. When you are educated, you don't just see one way of thinking or one way of life.
My brother lives with his wife in Florida.. when she came here, ammi didnt really speak to her, my dad did all the talking.. when we went to Florida, ammi taught her how to cook tpical desi stuff (rotis, biryani, salan etc)..they’ve never “argued” n i’ve never seen her ever roll her eyes at my mom.. its cute when ammi tries to talk to her in broken english .. my mom doesnt like to stay too long over there, n she doesnt meddle with them at all.. she stays away from their bedroom.. i know she wishes things were different, but shes learning to accept n love her.. she gave her a lil bit of her own gold jewelry (appropriate for her lifestyle)on the wedding n will give her the rest when her potra (or is it dotra? ) is born :D.. I wish she wud talk to her mother though, her relatives dont live too far away from us, but my mom wont make the first move, she says why shud she.. I know biggest obstacle is the language.. I hope when kaka is born, things can be better..
My dads pretty gud wit em too (in theory).. he instructs us to not stay for too long n to not meddle in thier private affairs,coz that always drives a wedge between relationships, even though he has no objection to his relatives being total sh*ts to my mom..maybe its double standards (shes gori, shes desi) so i dunno.. Ammi has said, one lessson she learned from livign wtih her in laws, she will never ever ever put anyone through the same torture ever.. noone deserves to go through what she went through, n she wud never be that type of saas to my bhabhi
I know realistically not all inlaws are evil, but I can’t help being scared shtless due to countless incidents i’ve been told within m family (like one pregnant aunty whos husband beat her so bad that she miscarried, coz his mother said to beat her). i dont wanna go in thinking “ohhhh it’ll be sooo wonderful and we’ll all be best friends” coz iwhen I think positivel I only get disappointed
My parents are so kind and loving towards their son in laws, MashaAllah! As far as having a bhabhi my brothers are still unmarried but once they are married InshaAllah.....my parents will treat them like their own daughters!!!! I will make sure of that!!!