Are they going too fast ?

Re: Are they going too fast ?

Faisal,

It is a solution to which I agree in principle, but as you yourself noted in part, it isn't applicable in Pakistan due to a variety of fairly obvious reasons.

Mr. X.. very thorough analysis. I don’t believe that child molestation in Pakistan can be termed “Homosexuality” because it is not, and the culprit (usually a sexually frustrated male) would have sex even with a banana if he couldn’t find any other hole. His first choice will always be a female, but in the absence of such he will settle for a young boy who is helpless and powerless over an older male. So as much as you are making a lot of sense, calling that sickness Homosexuality is not really right, not even true.

Homosexuality is not a crime, nor is it about child molestation (or londay bazi as is called in Pakistan).

:jhanda:

Madhanee,

I see your point; fair enough. I guess I was taking homosexuality in its broadest sense, including all male on male action.

Mr. X, I knew you were talking it in that context, and I guess it could be stated that way, but if a reader who is a Homosexual may take an offense. I 100% agree with you on this issue.

Codie its easy, ppl come and inform or rather update you on latest happenings, no kidding. The sheep jokes are not just that, nor are male rape cases that rare anymore, homosexuality in it's 'western' form is not that difficult to witness in Pak either. What do you think happens when ppl have free access to net and cable and a closed society with nonsense moral restrictions? Youngsters take out their frustrations on anything available. I have in my short visits and on-off contact to Pak heard about more homo cases and rapes cases than I'd want to admit. So look around and judge.

Child abuse is not a every day subject in western world either, I have a friend who's son was abused by his uncle during all the time I knew him. Do you think it was any easier for my friend to talk or deal with this than any desi mother would have? Even the mere thought of being in such situation is devastating for a parent, how do you think the child would know what's going on? Parents should at least know how to read signals their children are sending. These programs should make it easier for parents in such situations to seek help for their children as a minimum. If you look around I thin you'll be surprised to learn the fact that almost all of us either directly know someone or are relatively close to an abused victim within our desi social circles.

As for not trying to understand or that 95% of population doesn't want to see such programs can of obvious reason not be true. We know from a fact that commercial tv would not air something that doesn't generate traffic and money, they know there's market for such shows, they monitor traffic, hence if anything 95% would watch it, some for educational purposes others for sick thrill. Haven't you ever seen that a drama suddenly stops being aired? That is when it's not generating enough money to cover it's own costs. Same is the case with all other TV programs. If anything we should be proud of the fact that we still have media ppl who dare to risk their lives and reputation to gather information and help distribute it among masses.

There's a difference between haya and ignorance, btw. Everyone should know and understand that one single man can boil hundreds of kids in acid and that it's their social responsibility to react on time.

Faisal bhai, for parents to be able to decide what's good or bad for their kids, there has to be some choices available.

first a “LOL” and one more LOL @ replies.

Interesting thread but of no use.

80% of us or rather said the majority is sitting outside Pakistan and
giving knowledgeable replies. Let us be honest how many of us are in
pakistan? Majority of us is living outside Pakistan. We all think
about our own betterment and our own Mufaad. We love to thrash out our
thoughts but what do we do in practial? We unprioritize our country to
live in, because we don’t believe we have a good standard of living
there. Why should we get a pay on 10-15thousand rupees when we are
making sacks of money or earning a pay which is 20 x times bigger than
an average pay in pakland. This is what an average person does, goes
once or twice to Pakistan in a year, visits his/her relatives, does
loads of shopping, and wupsee there u are back in US after a month’s
visit with ur handy Sony camcorder and loads of shopping. We are all
stuck in our countries, but there is always a way out more likely in a
form of sacrifice. Ham kiyo jayain Pakistan? Udhar ham aisi araam ki
zindagi guzaar sakte hain? We got jobs and studies here, and with time
we are getting more stuck in the daldal of hawas and mufaad. So Nope
we cannot, so lets just sit here and talk about all the negative and
try to act smart. How will this thread help us when we are
replying?Hamari idhar kon sunay ga? LOL It is just like opening
threads in feedback forums and the corrupt administration still
remains there.

Now back to the topic, to rate the programs? Zamana waqt kay saath
badalta hai, aur waqt zamanay kay saath. Almost every 2nd home in
Pakistan has cable and access to channels that we do not even have in
Europe. Who watches ptv or other local channels there?Lets be honest
kon dekhta hai local channels? Everyone watches private pak channels
or other Indian channels like star plus , sony etc etc. Our local
Pakistani channels are not even family channels anymore, kehte hain
kawa challa hans ki chaap aur apni bhi bhool gaya, ye hamara hisaaab
hai. I agree with Faisal though its all up to the parents in most
cases. But life is so fast in Pakistan, no one has time for anyone,
maaN baap idhar to bachay udhar. That is just how things are and we
have to face it. If we are really serious about this issue of tv and r
rated progs and all, then lets take some practical step, lets bring
this issue further, lets go to Pakistan , talk to the higher
authorities in Pakistan, newspaper media etc etc. Who has time for all
this? Hahaha no one, in two weaks this thread will be dead, and on one
will even bother thinking about this serious issue, cuz we all TALK
and do nothing in PRACITAL.

So I advice you all to go to café and enjoy life there, instead of
acting super cool smart :eek:

^I guess you haven't fully understood idea behind a message board. So have fun while others try to understand some realities and shed some ignorance off :)

^^ understand the idea behind a message board…hehe
well unfortunately that theory does not apply in this case. Most of us are outside Pakistan, hell we dont even have Pakistani passports. We have to get a freaking visa to visit pakistan…how do u expect us to make a change when we are not even citizens of the state? it would have been an altogether a different issue had we all been in pakistan, and even those who are living in pakistan are least bothered abt these problems. The majority is more involved in their their petty social gatherings…where all they discuss is phaddas and drugs and movies and girls, where status class is defined by the car you drive, the cell phone u carry and the clothes and the shoes u wear.

Realites? LMAO what realities are we trying to understand over here… what have we realized in this thread so far? We are’nt even able to understand who we are, what do we stand for. We are a nation that has forgotten our sole purpose and the meaning of our existance and u talk abt understanding realities and shedding of ignorance. We are getting ignorant with every passing day. WE are becoming more ignorant than ever in the name of liberalism and secularism.

Mark my words…the mess Pakistan is in right now, theres only one way out. And we are not prepared to take that route. We are just too weak and too scared to do that.

Insaani Nafsiaat kehti hai agar nafs e murtakish say sakoon hasil na kia jaye tau insaani zehan ko sakooN nahi milta, So this is something that will carry on without any end. So have cola fun and happy postings :hehe:

:slight_smile: waslaam

I think we are walking in circles :rotato:
Anyway this will hopefully be my last post :wave:

Sabah ji - I have noticed that pakistanis visting on vacations are generally very sensetized about different issues and they apply newly gathered knowledge on population, disregarding any ratio proportion..

Here i want to point out some basic principles which i learned in statistics and research…

For research about any population, the sample size is very important to get better idea. The bigger the sample size, the more we will be confident about our analysis…

When you visit for 2 week, your sample size of population may not get beyond two figures and more likely be very small. For example you getting some resluts like (2/20). But that resut is not sufficient for conclusion of 10% as sample size is too small and population is too big ( take a city’s population).

As you asked me to check my sources again, I did so to find out any one who i may doubt for that practice. Looking at my extended family( a big one) friends, extended friend and assosiates ( again very big number) colleagues and their families. After thinking quite hard and killing thousands of my innocent brain cell, i found that only 5’6 person I know who never married beyond certain age. ( still I don’t have a slightest of doubt about their orientation) most probabaly the reason is medical. Also I rememer one incident which i heard regarding an isolated act of sodomy in a hostel between two adults.

Well this concludes that I had a sample size way above 4 figures and it was very well distributed. So my results will carry more weight and higher confidence level than yours, according to rules of research :snooty:
:gizzy:

Well, the first rule of sampling is to ensure you have a representative population to pick the sample from. For example lets say you are doing a research on why people in Pakistan go see a mujra. If you ask people in your family, your friends and your collegues, and come up to a conclusion that only 1 in 75 people you asked has ever seen a mujra, and he saw it because he was bored, and hence you conclude that only 1.3% population has ever seen a Mujra and they see it because they are bored. This is not a valid research and the conclusion is probably completely faulty. To get the answer to your question, you should visit a place where mujras are held and ask people there. This example is just to say that asking the right question from the wrong sample is not going to get you to the right answer.

Having said that, I will also tend to agree, that pending some one providing a better evidence, homosexuality is not rampant in Pakistan. It is there, ofcourse. In every daily newspaper we have sotries of a man ho did *ziyadti *to a boy. And then, the red light districts of each major city has volumes of homosexuals lining up the streets looking for clients. Plus, every now and then, we hear stories that some religious maulvi sahab is charged with molesting his students. So, yes its there. I don’t think a proper scientific survey has ever taken place in Pakistan to gauge the severity of the issue or how prevalent it is. Its just all anecdotal and heresay.

To get the answer to your question, you should visit a place where mujras are held and ask people there.

or you can just ask Madhanee...trust me its the same and to top it all off you can quote him as a very reliable source and forget about all your sample vamples

Codie yaar, you asked if they are going too fast, and I think you are going too slow if you cant understand that some people think that it is OK to discuss such issue.

No topic is sensitive or sacred enough if it means that discussing such thing will prevent evil, even if it only a minor. 20 years ago, no one talked about drugs and prevention in Pakistan, today Karachi has close to a million drug addicts. Tomorrow Aids is going to hit the fan, and we will be crying tears while holding our sick pious and holy pricks in our hands. Concept of honor and Sharam should be shoved up someone ass and should be kept there until people are mature enough to understand that it is ok to discuss topics such as Homosexuality, Child molestation, Rape and incest, etc.

Just because we would like to turn our faces away from reality doesnt change what Pakistani 'reality' is. We would all love to brush these ugly situations under the rug and pretend they dont exist. And it is exactly this kind of behaviour that has brought our country to where it is. You can hate "liberal" ideas all you want.....and blame someone for the destruction of society..but its simply not true...

I think its great that these things are being discussed in a mature and sensible manner...as long as the show was on later in the evening. I would like to see some sort of a comment beofre each segment simpyl saying the topics are very sensitive or something along those lines... Abuse breeds abuse, violence breeds violence..its a cycle..and a vicious one in Pakistan because we have allowed this cycle to continue while we all watched silently...

This is definately a step int eh right direction....perhaps its not best way but its a step....

S.

First it is very sad that despite repeated clarification by myself and Madhanee, No one is paying heeds to difference between homosexuality and child abuse.

**Man who did ziyadti to a boy or maulvi sahab is molesting his students is not I repeat NOT homosexuality It is Child abuse/rape. where one is criminal and other is victim these sick people just find an easy prey in shape of young boys due to carelessness of parents

In homosexuality both parties are adult and willing doing the act or living together.

I thought all of you must have this basic info…:rolleyes:

Why there is a case against Michael Jackson in court ???

Are you kidding ? Asking people who are watching mujra, that if they watch it or not ? eveyone will be saying

*Nai yaar, toba kar, :nono1: main te aithey Phajjey de payee khaan aya waan, ai te bas langdey langdey sochia nazar maarr lawaan *:hehe:

I will still go with 1.3 % that seems to me veryyyyyy realistic ! At least people are being honest, that is the quality of research :k:

for the desperados there r other means from which they can learn about sex, foreplay whatever etc.... our tv channel's shouldn't broadcast such filth like geo once did with dat cyber cafe turned sex scene in cubicles.