A tv channel which is popular among Pakistanis showed a tv program last nite, where they discussed some real taboo issue. And in such a manner that it seemed like it is very common issue, which is so not the case.
I find it quite strange/disturbing…
If the same program was shown by some foreign channel, they must have rated it like 18 or something. But there is no rating on desi channels yet !
As I am not in favor of pushing the dirt under carpet. There are serious issues like these in society and they should be dealt properly. And some people really need emotional/psychological help in this regard.
Now my questions
Is it right time for our tv channels to follow the rating system and rate the program according to the subject material, Will you still like/watch the channel if some programs warn you that they are not suitable for younger audience ( not cuz of visuals but discussion) ?
OR
These kind of issues should not be discussed on desi channels. the queries regarding taboo issues should be answered privately ?
If i think it is not appropriate for public channel, then it is also not approprate for public board :)
These kind of problems were answered in english news papers in pakistan. I have been reading them for years, and as these issues are really very delicate the psychologist respond to them in a very sensible way. But to do the same on tv channel is not the same thing.
Older people may understand the issue,but
if an immature, young teen sees, it would be quite disturbing development for his mind. As they are still at a stage of exploring initial realities of life :(
Frankly, I do not believe there are immature young teens who are blissfully unaware of these kinds of issues. It is better that it gets discusses publically amongst mature adults and seen by the youth, than if it were discussed privately amongst groups consisting netirely of immature youth.
Ignorance has never been the foundation for a strong society. Education is important, if no one else will pick up the ball, let tv. Rate it, though, if you want. But no one will deny that these things exist.
Code, I have to disagree with your idea that teens are influenced by what they see on these shows. Discussing things usually kills any ideas for young, immature teens, showing them is a much more effective form of brainwashing (ie. movies). I'm not sure what topic you are talking about, but chances are that whatever show it was is on late enough for most kids to be asleep. In short, these shows don't influence teenagers, indeed, I'd say teenagers are better off because of them, especially if a teen is mature enough to stand a discussion.
Sensationalizing issues is entirely another ballgame. However, most shows are being mature about it. Ulljahn Sulljahn masks the identity of whoever is speaking. They have qualified people there, and the host herself seems quite sensible. They have a disclaimer at the beginning of the show (of the accountability kind) but it would be nice if they had a "no kids allowed" disclaimer.
Help me understand …you think talking about French kisses and showering with your spouse is ok to discuss on a public forum and such topics are taboos on TV? yahaN martians atay hain?
Ok... I think you all are genius :p so here it is...
'A person was experiencing serious physical and emotional abuse/blackmail by a very close member of family. And they (host and guests ) were explaining how to cope with the situation, as the case was quite complicated.'
MS - If we go by your opinion, then you are saying that there is no need of rating ? Jerry springer is good enough for a 13 year old ?
RT wolf - I can't really say anything about todays teen, but i can only speak for myself. When i was passing that age, new found realities were some times very hard to digest. And sometime mind does not accept what we hear and see.
Of course there should be ratings...on movies, music video channels, violent programs, and adult stuff etc. and these programs should be blocked. Infact, tv ghar main hona hi nahi chahiye.
haan, aur ghar mein computer, microwave oven, fridge, vaccuum cleaner kuch nahin hona chahiye… main to kahoonga bijli ko bhi kaat do.. tats the best solution
physical and emotional abuse - if this was the topic of discussion, then I see absolutely no problem with kids watching this kind of a discussion, especially if its held in a mature manner.
I don't get why you think its an indecent topic that needs a rating.
Ratings dont help, and forget about such subjects being taboo. Its all up to the parents and what they wish to let their children watch/hear etc. people will be able to get this info from all sorts of sources.
It won't make sense unless you tell us what they really discussed. :p
To hell with rating! kids watch these shows anyway when adults aren't around. I really don't think rating makes any difference unless you keep your kids in sight every friggin' second.
Rating system should be implemented for all desi programs. We seem to be copying everything good and bad from other nations, so why not the rating system? I'm sure it'll at least do some good, as parents can block the channels or can refrain their kids from watching programs that are not suitable for their age.