are our elders more stylish/proper?

I look at elders in my family and wonder if I will be like them. They dont bum around.

My dad only looks like a bum when he is just really ill. otherwise even when he is unwell he would wear a clean, pressed kurta shalwaar, shower, shave etc. Moi on the other hand dont tough the razor friday thru sunday. If I am sick, I am passed out in Pjs and tshirts, and thats what I am wearing around the house. he is always very proper, if its not a suit, its a sport coat, or pressed, starched kurta shalwars. He is comfortable that way.

My uncle, who is retired, gets up every morning, gets dressed, has a proper breakfast, reads the paper, watches Tv, goes out for a walk. walk into his house at any time and he is dressed to go. aside from the most formal of events what he normally wears around is good enough for a meeting, a social event.

I dunno..maybe I will be that way. but just looking at my dad, his old pics, his mannerisms, his style sense. I all of a sudden feel like a total bum.

anyone else have the same experience?

Re: are our elders more stylish?

^ absolutely i can say the same thing about my Father and older male relatives

I cannot say the same thing about my father or mother or elder relatives. In fact, they are the opposite of yours.

Really depends on teh families.

kahin aap ke uncle aur dad ka taaluq army se to nahi reh chuka? :chai:

My khalu is like that. He used to be professor for years, so I think that habit has stuck with him. Now that he is retired, he would still wake up, shave, put on pants and a shirt, and then go on with his day.

My other uncles on the other hand might not wear pants everyday, but i do see them in nice shalwar kameez and those that shave do shave. My one khala would wear a good shalwar kameez and prettyfy her hair.

My parents on the other hand are really laid back. And that has rubbed off on me. My extreme is not changing out of my jammies in the morning. Though my bro is different. He does change :cb:

So I guess the really old generation is. Us new people either just don’t want to put too much effort, or we have been raised with a different mind set

a proud bum here...i always get yelled at by my parents but PJs are so comfy :(

I think its cultural difference because in PAk people love to dress up no matter what happen.Ladies need to be up to date with their dressing and men need to be in kalaf lage Shalwar qameez,even on weekends.
But in USA everything looks like casual but name brands matter even u are wearing PJ's they have to be Nautica,tommy or any other brands. Every decent style american are wearing in summer dockers shorts and polo shirts and if they are casual then they are wearing some name brand pj's.
Personally i don't like rough clothes even its pj's then they need to ironed or neat.Otherwise i don't like it at all and usually told my hubby i am the one who is ironing so whats the problem.And he ended it i am the one who is wearing so meri merzi and it piss me off more.But usually i iron them before weekend comes.:D

my uncle is ALWAYS in a business suit…being a restaurant manager and all…even if he’s sick he’ll have a bath put on his suit and lie down on the couch or sumthing :bummer:…i have NEVER seen him in his PJs during the day :hmmm:

me on the other hand :phati:…i look like a tramp ALL the time :cb:…no when im ill i am in PJs all dayyyyy

When my father was alive he always dressed smartly and really took care of his appearance. I think the older generation r more like that.

Fraudiay shame on you for being a bum even after having such amazing role models to look up to.

Usually we bums have our folks to blame for our bumness, but you cant even use that excuse :p

cheegum, hey I got the genes from my folks too. I mean I dress well when I am headed out, or at work, but when at home, I am nto even close to as dressed as they are.

and when sick..fuhget about it, I am not getting out of pjs.

so my excuse is laziness mi lord.

I think I have got my habits from my grandparents - not saying my mum's a bum or anything...........
I have to have clean clothes and decent clothes everyday..even at weekends..like in the morning, I get up have a shower, wear some decent house clothes and go downstairs to do housework, cooking etc..then I have a shower and change into going out clothes, when I return I change into yet another set of clothes (not the ones I wore that morning)....
hubby says I should get shares in Persil.................

I know people (luckily outside of my family) who wear the same clothes day and night for like 2-3 days.......................they even go out in them by just chucking their jhaaba over them...yuk...no way!!!!

I dont know how much of a cultural difference it is. My uncle who I referred to is in UK and has been there since the late 50’s. he moved there in his 20’s. My dad who is currently in Pak, lived overseas most of his life, and even now his base is London, and he splits the time between London, Pakistan and US.

This habit of his was as true in UK and KSA as it is when he is in Pakistan or US.
Part of it may be that they always had an open door policy for guests so anyone could show up anytime, part of it is that I think in general in their generation it was considered proper ( I do believe it is proper also but too lazy to follow it) and that they are just doing what is right to them.

and UZ- please.. no self respecting person ears dockers these days. it is left for tech nerds who wear those with braised leather belts and penny loafers with tassels :slight_smile:

Nope dad’s an engineer, uncle is a phamacist, but I suppose the way they discplined us around the house they should have been in the military :slight_smile:

wana be a mum-

now there is a difference between well dressed, bumming around and being nasty. people wearing the same clothes day in day out is just plain gross and nasty. I guess that explains the desi BO or Clothes-odour one experiences which is a mix of rotten sweat, 15 spices, last 3 days meals, and cheap perfume.

I think I need to go puke.

My elders are like yours' Fraud. Always impeccably dressed as if someone is going to walk through the front door any minute.

Can't say as much for the younger men of this generation in my family. Even after being yelled at quite harshly for not shaving on the weekends, they persist with the majnu in tattered pajama look. My brother avoids my nephew's house early on the weekends for this very reason. They get into fighs about it and refuse to see each other for days until someone steps in and resolves the situation. Funny because they don't get this upset about other bigger things.

Just reminded me of Dada.....he never left the house without his black sherwani on.

And then they have the cheek to go on about paaki/na paaki...quite seriously, how could these clothes remain paak for them to read naamaz/maintain their faith??

My father is the same way..I havent seen him without him all clean shaven and all dressed up even when there might not be too much water (early days in Muree)...He has to take a bath everyday..and sometimes in Muree he used to take a bath with the chilly cold water ...He just has to..Anyway My Ami is the same way too...not as much as my dad..
And the amazing thing is my older brother is almost the opposite. And that drives my dad crazy ..:)...American as a general population r tooo casual...they seem sloppy most of the time aapart from on Sundays or the northerners from certain parts of NY, New Hampshire and places like those...Even the Californians which r supposedly more looks consious...r more into the trendy Designer wear stuff then the sophisticated looks...Am I going off the topic now...Caffeine..need some caffeine!!!:D

I dunno, are people really very clueless, or classless? what is the issue here.

speaking of clueless, someone on this forum once said that she did not have BO, but she had her natural scent. I am like yo hold up…what you refer to as your ‘natural scent’ is what other ppl refer to as Body Odour.

dunno if she is still around.

Clueless I would say..............