Arabification of Pakistan and Pakistani culture:

Re: Arabification of Pakistan and Pakistani culture:

Saying ramzadan kareem is example of emulating a culture?

lmao. All examples are being given of what people in western countries are experiencing in their community.
Many different residents of Pakistan have repeatedly stated that its NOT a trend in Pakistan. But people keep on suggesting that stupid pakis don't know anything about their countries - we living in west know more. Its seriously annoying though.

Yeah...I know what you mean.
I have a significant number of friends that were born and brought up in ME. But even they don't say Ramadan Kareem.
And nobody I know calls sehri suhoor.
I think I would feel lost if they did.

Still scratching my head on the hijabis being gunned down in America statement based on ONE example. In Statistics, that incident would be called an outlier.

aap ko mill gaya baal....
ab aap uss ki khaal udaiRo.

Hum baal baal bach gaye
Humne socha aap taane de rahi hain

aray nahin janab....meri yeh majaal kay aap ko tana doon?

I started wearing a thaub in ramadan... this thread opened my eyes....am going back to jeans and t-shirt

I kept wearing a jubba too.. (only in masjid), but over my shorts so it felt really good :k:

Old ptv days showed real pakistani culture.

I think that the problem is that many people think that emulating arab = emulating islam and being good muslims. This is NOT TRUE considering wahabiyat and ISIS, Al Qaeda that have been spawned from the gulf.

Arabs of today aren't the arabs that came after Prophet Muhammad and even then, I wouldn't blindly follow them if they are wearing the robes and jhaantay. I think that it is overall ill of Pakistani (or muslim) society that we can't identify ying from yang.

I could also make a thread about indian influence (why do we need ladki when we had larki for centuries) or why do we need to dance to bollywood songs when Pakistan does happen to have a very good industry? Of course, the so-called "islamists" who seem to think that they are doing a service to islam by worship arabs or persians etc would be first ones to jump and criticize 'indianness' on that thread. I can probably name them but lets avoid the conflict.

Guys who wear long dress shirts:

Aren’t you emulating women which is haram in islam? :smokin:

Well, to be a devil’s advocate, Karachi is a mini-Pakistan and more with rohingyas, bengalis, chinese muslims?, afghans of all sorts and iranians living there in large numbers. There are some iranians that live in lahore but karachi is a true melting pot which can be bad as well if not handled properly.

As for hijab issue, I don’t think that PCG said to shoot hijabis or abayis. Murder is another issue all together.

To be honest, I would say even in front of goras that burqa is not required in islam. None of the sunni schools say so, even the sha’afi school that asks women to cover feet in prayers, so burqa is an overkill. I was sort of scared in school because this all enveloped in black saudi girl was moving, but then I saw a white hand and put 2+2 together and figured out that she wasn’t ‘burqa mullah’.

Islam gives you options so why go extreme with it and get targeted for it? Burqa is not necessary and so is cousin marriage. Be it zakat or sadqa, Islam also emphasizes to give your needy relatives first or a neighbor as aptly said in english that CHARITY STARTs at HOME. But in the criterion for finding a wife (or husband), it never mentions that first or second cousins have a right first to get married to you or you won’t be a good muslim. Of course, now we know that it isn’t good genetically to do so as you get recessive allele diseases with too much mixing in the family.

Bhai ji mene aur konse halal kaam karne ka dawa kya hai aaj tak? :chai:

I agree with Indianisation is also an issue, but you cannot really outlaw saris or certain accents and dialects because it's still part of the same shared heritage in one way or another. Bollywoodnisation of Pakistani weddings, or mindless Hindification of Urdu language is a different issue, and slightly more worthy of being talked about.

Allowing elites to pick on how covered up 'unparh' and working class population and bash it under the pretext of Arabification of masses is counter productive. If you really want to talk about Arabfication in real terms - then it has to be acknowledging the Biddah police and sectarianism, not beards and Hijab. Wahabism is an issue some of the most educated folks living in Western world, not just Pakistani working class.

Already in this thread someone had said that they opted for abaya because they didn't have the patience and time to find a new jora for every other every day. Now for Pakistani working class women, replace patience with money, don't you think there are plenty of socio-economic reasons for working class women to opt for one piece black Burqa? Considering in Pakistan, there's a such a manic obsession with designer lawn and boutique labels which can be recognised from miles, people are judged by that. Even in my experience, I have found that when I'm in Pakistan, I need to put 50% more efforts into my clothing just to compete with the super trendy and stylish locals. I can imagine why working class women would rather go for burqa than waste money following latest trends.

We are not living in 80/90s where any printed kameez, white shalwar and white dupatta would do. Pakistanis over the years have generally grown lot more materialistic and fashion savvy.

Great thread. Mabrook ya akhi on starting this thread.

Even today we look down on others for their choice of clothes, accent, preferred language etc and then we talk about freedom and tolerance :clap:

The highlighted bit is part misconception, and part true depending on what we're emulating. Although there are dress requirements in Islam; however, there is no dress code for being a good muslim in terms of which cultural dress we wear; some people wear the thobe because it fulfills the requirement of covering the aura and comes upto ankles. There are hadiths that warn against dragging clothes below ankles. Most of us including myself wear pants that go below the ankles either for work environment or it's habitual. That's a debate on its' own.

The rest of what you've said holds weight. Unfortunately, we haven't done enough. There is work to be done; we need a better effort to educate ourselves, and by extension others around us so that the coming generation(s) of Pakistanis can be well aware of what is a part of Islam, and what is a part of culture, and make the distinction on their own merits.

This of course is all just an assumption because I'm saying it from my perspective, and I might be the lone voice on this. Each person's mileage may vary depending on their own reasons and experiences.

My dear fellow Pakistani! You always seem to hop into conversation when it's half-way through, to post almost the same message. Why don't you contribute and let the rest of your fellow contributors know that you are in Pakistan, and based on what you experience within the country, such is or is not as it seems. That would be far more beneficial, and allow the rest of us to learn not to make assumptions. Please share your perspective instead of criticizing others for attempting to address what they may see as a possible "trend". Your post may be the one that helps shed that misconception, but only if you make it known.

All the good reasons for arabification are explained in the first min of this vid:

Must be old omar sharif as I don't like the new one anymore.