Appetizers

**REMINDER Please don’t post any comments in this thread and use the http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/310906-comments-recipes.html thread to leave your comments or ask any questions. Thanks -Mod **

Tuna Salad By Shinoo

Packed saladleaves (various sorts)
Canned tuna (in water)
Juicy tomatoes
Cucumber
Olives
Red bellpepper
Red onions (didn’t have those so just used white)
Boiled egg (one per person)
Green beans (had to use pre boiled ones but normally use fresh ones and cook them till they still have a ‘crunch’)

Just built up a plate with these ingredients, make sure you top it with tuna and beans. Then use whatever dressing you like. I made my own with mayo and mustard with black pepper and seasalt.

Tandoori Aalu by Shinoo

Ingredients:
7-8 baby potatoes peeled
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 tea spn cumin View definition in a new window powder
1/2 tea spn coriander View definition in a new window powder
2 tbl spn thick curd/yogurt
1-2 tea spns chili powder
1 tea spn ginger-garlic paste
1 tbl spn lemon juice
Oil
Salt

Method:
Prick with a fork or put some deep slit marks with a knife on all the potatoes.
Grind onions(preferably without water) to a smooth paste. Add onion paste and all other ingredients, except oil to the potatoes and mix well so that the potatoes get a thick coating of potatoes all over. The yogurt should be very thick so that the mixture remains thick.
Leave the potatoes for around 1hr. Heat oil in a non stick pan and add the potatoes with the masala. Close the lid and let it cook on a low flame for around 15mins.
Preheat the oven at 350F for around 5mins. Take the potatoes in a greased bake ware and broil at 350F for around 10-15mins(till the coating has turned brownish). broil at 350F for around 10-15mins(till the coating has turned brownish).
Serve hot with lemon juice.

Potato/Tuna salad by Shinoo

Here are the ingredients, you can use these in whatever quantity u like!

Baby potatoes, skinless boiled
Peas, boiled
Tuna chunks
Radish
boiled eggs
red capsicum
red sliced onion

Dressing: mayonaise, black pepper, salt, lemonjuice

Bulgur salad:
Bulgur, cooked
red paprika powder
Capsicum
Salt/pepper
thinly sliced carrots
cucumber (not too much)
Coriander

The other potato salad is creamy mashed potatoes with sweetcorn and carrot. Season it with salt/pepper/butter/milk etc.

Re: Recipes from Aaj Kiya Pakaya/Khaya

Egg Khagina by Plusha

its too ez to make...just add chopped onions in oil fry till pinkish brown..add chopped tomatoes+ lil bit of ginger garlik paste+ green chillies + fresh coriander+ chilli flakes+salt+ haldi...add in eggs(unbeaten) let it cook on low heat with mixing it...cux my mom sayz wen u mix up the eggs too much in masala...u wont be able to c the yellow color n white one seperate....its luks presentable wen its not too mixed or mashed...then just mix up a bit...n serve!

Recipe for Cheese Sandwich by Shumaisa

Ingredients:

• Cooked Chicken * Boil the chicken with water. Add salt, Black pepper. When boiled, take out the chicken & shred to small pieces...
  • Finely chopped cabbage
  • Grated cheese
  • Mayonnaise
  • salt
  • Black Pepper

Method:

Combine chicken and all remaining ingredients, mix well. Take one piece of bread, spread some chicken mixture on it. Cover with second piece of bread.. Cut each sandwich into two parts.

Put oil in a frying pan, Dip the sandwich in the egg mixture to wet both sides and fry them in a hot pan. When one side turns golden brown, then turn the sandwich. Wait till the other side turns golden brown. Now pour cheese on top.. warm up in Microwave. (About 30 sec.)

Recipe For Egg Roll by Shumaisa

EGG ROLL wrapper:

• 1 egg
  • 1 cup Plain flour
  • 2 tbsp corn flour
  • 2 cup water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • half tsp black Pepper

Make batter of egg, Plain flour, corn flour, water, salt and black Pepper. Beat until smooth. Grease a fry pan with a very small amount of oil. Heat pan, pour in a little batter to cover. Leave on heat just long enough to set, about 1 minute or less. Make as thin as possible.

Filling:

• Mutton Mince
  • Oil
  • Ginger Garlic paste
  • Chopped onion
  • Salt, Black pepper, crushed Red Chilli, Garam masala powder
  • Soya sauce
  • Green peas (canned)
  • Boiled egg noodles

Method:

Heat 2-3 tbsp oil in wok, add g.g. paste and saute well. Now add chopped onions and cook until onions turn a light brown color, about 8-10 minutes. Add mutton mince, Cook over medium heat for 20 minutes or until mince is thoroughly done. Add salt, Black pepper, soya sauce, crushed red chilli, & garam masala powder. Add the green peas & boiled egg noodles. Cook for 5 min more. Remove from the heat.

Place 2 tbsp filling in center of egg roll wrapper. Fold bottom point up over filling and roll once. Fold in right and left points. Brush beaten egg on top point.. Heat oil for deep frying and fry until rolls are light brown.

Chicken Sandwich by Ira

Mano this is the recipe i used for the chicken sandwich. I made a few changes though. Instead of franks hot sauce, i used Lousiana brand and also didnt add any water to it. I just dipped the chix straight in the sauce. I also coated the chicken in a beaten egg, flour, egg and then flour again.

http://www.recipezaar.com/Wendys-Spicy-Chicken-Fillet-Sandwich-134437

Egg sandwiches by Berhi_bee

Ingredients

Sandwich bread (i use Harry's American sandwiche bread)
eggs
mayonnaise
salt
blk pepper
finely chopped tomatoes
finely chopped cucumber (optional)

Method

• Boil and mash eggs
  • Add salt,blk pepper,mayonnaise,tomatoes & cucumber -Spread on bread slice, cover, and press lightly together.

Wraps by Shumaisa
Ingredients:

Wheat flour half cup
Plain flour 1 cup
Oil 2 tbsp
Salt half tsp
Cumin seeds half tsp
Water

Method:

Mix all of the above ingredients together to form a stiff dough. Knead well until the dough becomes smooth. Cover this and keep aside for 1 hour.

Dinner Biscuits by MarriedNY

1 cup cheddar cheeze(u can get from halal store)shredded
1 1/3 cup water
1/2 cup butter(melted)
1 1/2tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4tsp onion powder
2tsp parsely(finely chopped)

Direction..
1.. Preheat oven to 375 degree F(190 degreeC) line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
2.. In a mixig bowl combine the baking mix ,cheeze,1tsp parsely ,1tsp garlic powder.1tsp onionpowder and water.Mix until dough is firm.Using scoop,place dough on the prepeard pan or tray.
3..Bake @ 375 degree for 10-12 min until golden brown
4..Combine the melter butter,garlicpowder,salt,onion powder and res of the parsely ,Brush over baked bicsuits immediatly upon remaing from oven..and put it back in oven for 3-4 min..

enjoy..
U can use bISQUICK INSTEAD OF BAKING MIX IF U WANT..

Appetizers

Testing!!!!

Re: Appetizers

ok I dont know where to post this so the mods can move it to where ever it belongs…
I came across this recipe on TV this morning .I have never seen the show itself and wasn’t able to catch the whole recipe on TV but it looked so good and easy…I searched the website and there it was…

OLIVE STRAWS

Ingredients:

Makes 12
All-purpose flour, for work surface
13 ounces Rough Puff Pastry
15 large green pimento stuffed olives, about 1 1/4 inches long
1 medium egg yolk
1 tablespoon milk

Directions:

1. On a lightly floured work surface, roll out puff pastry to a 12 1/2-by-6-inch rectangle, about 1/8-inch thick. Using a large sharp knife, cut the rectangle into a 5 1/2-by-6-inch rectangle and a 7-by-6-inch rectangle. Place both rectangles on a baking sheet and transfer to refrigerator; let chill 20 minutes.

2. Place the 5 1/2-by-6-inch rectangle on a baking sheet. Place 5 olives, end-to-end, in a straight line along the short side of the rectangle, leaving about a 5/8-inch border. Repeat process two more times to make three lines of olives.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together egg yolk and milk. Brush egg mixture on all exposed spaces between olives. Cover with the 7-by-6-inch rectangle of puff pastry, pressing the whole surface of the dough between the olives firmly with your fingertips. Transfer to refrigerator; let chill 20 minutes.

4. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Using a very sharp knife, trim edges of dough; cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-wide straws. Lay flat-side down on a baking sheet. Transfer to oven and bake until pastry is golden and crisp, 5 to 6 minutes. Transfer straws to a wire rack to cool slightly. Serve warm.

Olive Straws

By Plusha
Cauliflower Tempuras

for the batter
4tbsp heaped plain flour+1 egg+ 1tsp baking powder+ 2tbsp corn flour+salt and black pepper…mix with lil water till u get the consistency in which u can easily coat and fry gobis…deep fry dem n serve…u can fry any veggie u lyk in this batter

Re: Aaj kya pakaaya/khaaya

**Salad With Kidney Beans
add a lil milk in mayonnaise to bring out the proper consistency..put in desired amount of sugar +lil salt +blak pepper…now u can add whateva u luk in this mixture…i added pineapples + red kidney beans + cabbage+ sweet corn…serve!

Russian Salad

cut some cabbage really thin…pineapple..green or red apples…corns…cucumber…

soak some kishmish in warm water..when soften add this to the veggies as well…

u may cut up some almonds and/or walnuts and add them as well…

for the dressing…i mixed mayo…cream..milk…black pepper…sugar…pour and refrigerate…serve chilled..

Salads

Right one:
Its type of coleslaw, mix cabbage, carrots, cream, some sweetened condensed milk (for giving sweet taste), Salt, black or white pepper, sugar.
Left one:
Boiled potatoes and chick peas (in salty water)
Finely chopped parsley
mix them, thats it.

Right one:
cucumbers, onions, iceburg lettuce, carrots
for dressing take olive oil, vinegar, salt and black pepper.
Left one:
simply mix canned peaches, pineapple, little boiled apples in sugary water and any other fruit that you like.

Right one:
Boiled pasta, boiled and mashed chicken(add salt and black pepper while boiling)
Mix them and add hot sauce or chili sauce.
Left one:
Canned sweet corn mixed with finely chopped green chilies
Boiled kidney beans.

**Kheeray Ka Raita

** Kheera…2 adad

{kheera lambayi main katein

baad main is trah katiye jaise pic main hain}

Dahi …aik piyali

Hari daniye poodene ki chutni…1 chaye ka chamch

namak…2 chutki

chat masala… .aik chutki

dahi phent ker achay s eis main hari chutni namak chat masala dal ker bhentein aur ab is main kheeray kate hue dal dijiye mix ker k srvin bowl main dalein kheeray ka raitatyar hai

** Khati Salad**

kheera…1 adad

{lambayi main bareek bareek aur sakht hisa kat lein}

gajar …2 adad

{kat ker ander se white hisa jise keel kehte hain nikal lein aur l;ambayi main red hisa katein}

lemon juice…3 khane k chamch

namak …1 chutki

chat masala… ..half chutki

{mean zara sa}

lemon slices… …Garnish k liye

** Tarkeeb
**mixing bowl main kate hue gajar kheray lemon juice masalajat dal ekr mix kerein srving bowl main dal ker lemon slices add ker k srv kijiye palak gosh brown rice k sath

{yaad hai na sab bnatay hue Bismillah patrhi hai aur sar per duppata ho }

insha Allah chhaye ap phir yeh banaye ya koi bhi nayi dish 1st time alhamdulilah mazay ki banay gi aur kharab bhi nahi ho gy

Bread Rolls

i use the masala we normally make for aalo kababs, or aalu paratha, then take a slice of bread dip it in lil water when its wet press it with hands and squeeze out the water, this is to make sure the slice doesnt break when u roll it up and it’ll absorb less oil when u fry, then take a spoonful of aalu masala, put it in bread and roll the slice. dip in a beaten egg and fry.

Qeema Aalo Cutlets

Here’s a aalu masala recipe similar to mine, posted by Redvelvet :slight_smile: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/6607751-post5.html

4 potatoes,

1.2 kg qeema

sweet corn 4oz (prick them lightly with fork)

1 onion finely chopped

1tsp garam masala powder

coriander and mint leaves according to taste

salt/black pepper to taste

2 eggs, maida (white flour) and bread crumbs.

Mash the boil potatoes, add qeema, sweet corn, salt pepper, chopped coriander mint and garam masala powder. mix it with hands. add an egg.

Make round patties with them, mix 2 tbsp milk in an egg, dip the patties first in maida, then in egg(plus 2tbsp milk) and then finally coat with breadcrumbs and fry. InshaAllah you’ll like it as its different from the regular qeema alu cutlus or qeema kababs.

Pooris by Lusi

I use flour totillas, fried them in hot oil and high heat/flame. Since the tortillas are almost cooked so you don't have to fry them longer, just fry them 5 seconds on each side. Just make sure your oil is nice hot...

Thanks jalpari..actually there’s isn’t any authentic recipe that I followed..just put together some stuff I had available..anyway here goes:

Salsa- No particular quantity..add as you like:

Mangoes
Tomatoes - de-seeded
cucumber
capsicum
spring onion..just a little
fresh dil/parsley/coriander anything will do…i had dil so just used that..

Chop all of the above in cubes and add

olive oil
lemon jucie
salt and pepper

Toss everything together. Done.

I had the Imli sauce in my fridge from a couple of days back..

Imli sauce: Again I am bad with measurements and just cook by approximation.. you can modify the ingredients to your taste..for example if you like it a bit sweet add more gur or if you like more of a khatta taste increase the ratio of tamarind and/or masalas..

Tamarind paste without pits - I packet - forgot the exact weight of the pack..i guess around 400g
Jaggery (gur) 250g
salt , crushed chillies to taste
Chat masala - 1tbsp or to taste..
cumin seeds - 1 tsp
corriander powder - 1 tsp

Method:

1.Boil water, around 2-3 cups..
2. Add the tamarind paste ..cook for few minutes.
3. Add jaggery(gru)
4. Add all masalas.. and cook till it thickens

Let it cool before using.

Tip: If the mixture doesn’t thicken for whatever reason you can add cornflour to it. Mix it separately in some water and then add to the mixture. Also if the tamarind paste you get isn’t fine, you can blend it all at the end.