The topic says it all … ARGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!
I hate it when people bluntly ask your salary. Seriously, where are all the ettitquetes and manners.
I recently changed my job and i went for training for 2 days. 3 different people from different franchises of our office asked me “Apki salary kitni hai?”. First i was confused that maybe here salaries are rank wise so every one on each rank has same pay. I just said “achi hai, Alhamdullilhah.”
Then on my first day here, a guy who was helping me with the initial processing of getting id, entry cards etc. asked me if i have my appointment letter with me. Ahem? What ever he needs to know of my name, email address etc., he can ask me direct.
Then today the final thing came. I was talking to this girl in my team who tries to act very sweet but makes it obvious that she is trying to be sweet. Today our salary slips came in, and she asked me "How much is it?".. i was confused for a while, what she was asking. And i said “how much what?” .. then she acted very casually and busy fiddling with things on her desk as if what she was asking was a norm here. She then again said .. "Your salary yaar! Kitni ayi hai?" ..“tumhari salary hai kitni waisay?” .. I was stunned at the direct questioning ..I said “jitni hoti hai iss level par ..” She said "Kitni hoti hai … har ek ki different hoti hai .." .. I said "Basic? Kitni hoti hai normally " .. She quoted a number .. and i said “haan isai ziada hai”. She was soooo direct, blunt and immovable that i was unable to escape. I couldnt even ask “Apki kitni hai” to make her quiet but she was incessantly going on for like 10 minutes ke batao kitni hai. I then talked to my Team leader and asked is this common here and is it not confidential information? He said it is.
I am just suprised why and how people be so direct about askin salaries. I dont care what any one is getting but people love to poke their noses every where they can. Who are people so interested in knowing. I even dislike it when relatives ask. My khala always asks us direct question when ever we change a job .. “kitni hai?” .. and even if u say “Allah ka shukar hai achi hai” … toh she would go “kitni achi hai?” … and eat our head till we tell it. Now her own son got a job and she totally ignores the topic of salary and shifts it to some thing else. Man! People are so clever and i hate it how we cant be tactful like them and handle situations.
I totally hate people who ask salaries, how dumb can u be really!
For that girl in your office, or any coworker just say "That's none of your business" with a friendly smile on your face. And say it with a warm tone. Most communication is body language and tone, not verbal. You'd be surprised at the amount of crap you can say in a nice friendly way.
As for your khala, I don't know how I'd deal with that. She's family.
For that girl in your office, or any coworker just say "That's none of your business" with a friendly smile on your face. And say it with a warm tone. Most communication is body language and tone, not verbal. You'd be surprised at the amount of crap you can say in a nice friendly way.
As for your khala, I don't know how I'd deal with that. She's family.
hehhehe.. u r soo right... I never curse but when I do under extreme circumstances, people just tend to smile and go with it because they find it to be cute hahah
I get away with alot
it really depends....some people i would feel okay with telling b/c I know they wouldn't have any weird agendas....
then there are some people, who expect u to treat them and be generous with them....
and heck no i wont tell a coworker...
it really depends....some people i would feel okay with telling b/c I know they wouldn't have any weird agendas....
then there are some people, who expect u to treat them and be generous with them....
and heck no i wont tell a coworker...
No one here has any weird agendas, why don't you tell your salary here?
I work in HR, so I already know everyones salary in the office, lol....but you are right, it is strictly confidential, and you could be written up for disclosing that information. However, it is a brown thing for people to ask! But even to this day, my fiance has never asked me how much money I make! Of course when my mom asked me, I told her! But my dad has never even asked me!
I don't see it as anyones business how much you earn-none of my non-desi friends have ever asked me how much I earn but when I've encountered desi massis they are obsessed with money. Women in my husbands family (e.g. his cousins) seem to want to know everything-I work they don't. I earn because I work, get a job and start earning yourself!!
this salary thing is only common in pak. in america nobody asks. only maybe mom, dad and wife. but while back when i went to pak. this one aunty asked me weird questions. like how much i make and my husband. and what is our monthly apartment rent. and how much our gas/water bill was. what kind of cars we have and how much were they? and what zath we are? how we went to america? what does my dad/brothers do? by the time we left her house i had a headache. i told my husband about the aunty. he was like thats the norm conversation in pakistan between women. i thought i was being interogated. lol.