Anyone been treated like crap at an asian restaurant?...

Obviously not all but many Asian and Arab places treat their own like crap…
I remember being with friends at a Bengali restaurant and sometimes cos they are your own they either look down at you or assume you will understand…
My friend was Bengali and busted some lingo…it was the worst thing he could have done…a white family came in after us and there were more of them yet they were served 10 minutes before us…ridiculous especillay since they came over 5 mins after us…

One Arab panini place…we know the guy…My friend ask for chocolate cake…hes like ‘Akhi Akhi take a seat ill bring it to you’…we sat down…some white guy came in and asked for chocoloate cake…he served it to him first…My friend was waiting and asked where the his cake was…the d*** goes ‘finished akhi none left’…never went there again…still i wonder whether he got a little too comfortable or he was just dickriding the white guy…

Another incident which is just the guy getting too cozy…an Arab barber that i used to go to just took the piss…if i came in he’d say ‘brother you mind waiting five minutes i need to do my salah’…now obviously im not gonna say no…and he expected me to inform customers that he had just gone upstairs…he did that twice now i dont go back…somehow i dont expect he would have done that with people other than his own…fair enough ill understand but more than once is taking the piss…

And the annoying think about Arabs…they hate you if you come to their restaurants with a girl…you invariably get treated badly especially if the girl is Arab and you arent…also those stupid waiters always prioritise a group of girls over a group of boys…they get their sheesha coal so much quicker than us…

End of rant…

Re: Anyone been treated like crap at an asian restaurant?...

i hate desi restaurants.

That's why I ran my desi restruarant at home, when I was in London. Always cooking for myself and my freinds! I really loved it!

Just once. I never went back to that restaurant.

never had attitude prob at any desi resturaunt here.haan aur sau kharbiyaan hoon gee.

yeah once never went back to that Restaurant

Did not have problem at Desi resturaunts. Perhaps u shud avoid going to Arab resturaunts. And secondly, never shy from making a shouting at these people when they serve others b4 you.

Lay kha mur!
Lena hia to lo! Warna agay baro!

I think the attitude is from their roots! Most shopkeepers in Pakistan behave in this way.

The other day my freind was telling a joke of a PIA air hostesses - One guy asked for another glass of water from her and she said "Khud lay lay"

Same is true about customers here! On my first day in London, I went to buy a bus ticket from the local newspaper agent. He was an old indian man. When I entered the shop, there was already an english lady inside and he was servin g her. As it was quite normal here in Pakistan, I asked for a bus ticket from the shopkeeper while he was still dealing with the lady. They were both surprised. But I was more surpurised when the shopkeeper reprimanded me!

Re: Anyone been treated like crap at an asian restaurant?..

I once went to a desi restaurant with my husband, and the owner started talking to my husband in urdu (the asshole didnt realize i was paki): wa bhai saab, tussi tay kamaal kitha hai… gori noo phassa lai ho…:naraz: and guffawing like a donkey… that sooo pissed me off…and then he proceeded to ogle me the entire time I was there… it was so uncomfortable… perv :mad:

:bizz: :bizz:

never had any !
i wud bang the person who ever try showin attitude

not funny at all... theres no professionalism involved... they bark the first thing that comes to mind

Arre yeh attitude India main bhi har jagah dekhne ko mil jayega. It really sucks. At new Delhi Airport Immigration...there was this gori-chitti in front of me and apna desi bhai poori tarah se flat ho gaya...kaan tak jabdaa phaad ke batteesee dikha raha tha. Mera number aate hi saala aise behave kiya ki poocho mat.

Hum bhi kum nahin passport pay stamp lagne ke baad jor se sabke saamne usko jhadaa...gori ko smile maarte ho aur apne indian bhai ko ghoorte ho?

if i was u i wud’ve start talking in urdu after tht and kept giving him dirty looks :smiley:

I told him I understand what he was saying and that I was in fact paki, but he didnt apologize just said "wah kya baat hai lagti nai ho"... this was 2 years ago, but i've stopped being polite now... anyone who acts this way toward me faces the wrath of Sabriya :D

Happened to me once in London, I went in an Arab restaurant with my wife and they treated us awfully, even though I speak fluent Arabic but preferred to stick with English (they even asked me where was I from & said Pakistan) they used horrible words & awful statement & their serving was as if they are doing a favour for us.

So when I was leaving - I told them in plane Arabic, that I speak may be even better Arabic than them, the woman with me is not my GF but is my wife & since you think like Nazi Germans that you are God's gift on this earth I wont recommend ur restaurants to humans.

It did shock them & my statement were heard by someone who was sitting in a corner having tea, that guy later on followed us & apologised for the staff's behaviour & invited us for free dinner at the restaurant at some later date (He was the owner). I never went there again, neither did I recommend that restaurant to anyone.

We (few desi friends) were once served last in Paris in a Morrocon restaurant (those morons served even those customers who came 30 minutes after us) - but what we did with them - was what we did with them. They will never treat a Pakistani bad again their lives - OR - they will never let Pakistanis in their restaurant again.

I was never treated bad or like crap in any desi restaurant in any country.

wow... thats BADD...
by the way, what did you do?:D

Hmm... dunno about Arab restaurants, I didn't go to many Arab restaurants here in Canada. In Dubai I only used to go to the shawerma/falafel shop around the corner, they served good and on time. But I did happen to go to an Iranian restaurant; it was formerly a Pakistani restaurant but now an Irani party bought it, although the main cook was still the same Paki dude.
Okay so we ate, the serving wasn't half as bad as what would follow on, and the food was just eatable (barely eatable to be more honest). And then when we go on the counter to pay the bill, the bill was $30 something, and the lady boosted the bill up to $60 something!! My dad caught her and we never went there again.

Same thing here with this Paki grocery in my city. Their prices are extraordinarily cheap, but I guess we have figured out how they make up for it. Since many of their customers are freshly landed people, they try to cheat often... not big time cheating, but stuff like putting 3 packets of masala instead of the 2 that the customer actually bought etc., and many of the Middle East/burger parties fall for it. Plus their younger son who's 20-something is prob'ly half the reason their shop is in business! I gotta admire the guy's skills at loading extra money in the cash machine. His dad (the main owner) never cheats though cuz he's standing up for the election or something. However, we still go to that grocery but never get cheated since they now know that we are gonna catch them (my dad caught them more than once).

yeah i noticed the behaviour towards asian ppl is a lot more laid back prob cos they know we wont be suing em like the rest of em lol...my glass of water was late im guna sue the restaurant u can imagine a gora sayin that