hey guys any one from dc here ???
I work in D.C. but live in Maryland
where do u work in dc? i use to live in md
really does it matter that we shuld live in dc, in order to talk u
work in DC live in DC.
oh woah!
when I asked the same question... no one responded hunh!
Khair, I'm in Baltimore right now, was in DC for the weekend and will be there next weekend for the mela on the 19th.
BTW anyone knows who's coming to the mela? Is there a website where I can get some info on the tickets and all?
Hey Umar i live in DC too, well suburbs of DC. You moved from Toronto right? hey i am from there too ......
hahahaha..... HEY I AM BACKKKKKKKKK :)
oh sorry, i forgot that the POST was from Mehak, thought it was from Umar.
Mehak i live near DC, in fairfax county and work there too, also starting my graudate school at George Mason.
What about the rest of you DC guppies .. what you do?
See Bhola...
this is wut moi calls gender-bias..
me asked the same question like a month or so ago... kisi Allah key bandey ney jawaab nahi diya thaa...
aur abb dekho.... mashaALLAH DC mey kitney guppie paidaa ho gaye ;)
Shahzad Roy
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif
and a bunch of other great artists are coming down. The program is free. I doubt that there is a website for this event, but i know there is a website for the one on September 2nd @ the MCI centre. It is: http://www.pakistanday.org (I sound like an advertisement!) Also, about the show for this weekend- it’s an annual event hosted by Z. Hamedi- host of a Pakistani program on ch56. I doubt you get that in Baltimore though. Anyway, both shows are completely free. They both run from noon-8pm. Email me if you want anymore info. Happy Paki Day peoples! BTW- anyone go to Aabshaar Paki Day program this past Sunday? Just wonderred.
In three words i can sum up everything i’ve learned about life: it goes on. --robert frost
i went to the aabshar one for a little while... u didnt miss a whole lot. it was way too crowded.
Mundyaa- Oh, I was there. It was alright. But, I hate it when I come out to these events and hardly know anyone there.
In three words i can sum up everything i've learned about life: it goes on. --robert frost
wow thanx Bharysh... the info is really helpful. Now the question is how would I get there, but that's not such big of a deal :)
September 2nd aint too far either. If its gonna be a good show then I might as well stick around until then.
Yeah, I haven't seen any desi programming on cable here.
Hmmm... this Aabshaar place is famous ... I din't know. I went there like a couple of weeks ago. Had quite an adventure finding the place. prolly will go there once again before I go back to Toronto. Come to think about it, someone told me they have a really good breakfast on weekends, so prolly I'll eat and then go to the show on Saturday.
Starting to sound like a plan already...
thanku all :)
barish, hahaha i know what u mean. stay a little while longer in northern virginia and you will know so many desies, you would want to move out.
umar, try the qulfi next time at abshar its pretty good. there is a lahori auntie who runs a restaurant by the name kabobs etc. near fairoaks. they make the best tikkay and kabobs with tandoori roti and lassi. some goras have got hooked on the taste so its pretty crowded during lunch hours but any other time its not that bad.
what's the name of the restuarant mundyaa?
Umar- The best way into dc if you are coming by yourself is to take the Metrorail. That way you won’t get lost trying to find parking.
Mundyaa- I don’t live in N. Virginia- that’s the problem. Hardly get an opportunity to meet desi’s in this big shaare even!
Baarish- wow- you are from this area too? wow- that’s a big coincidence. I hope you don’t mind I have a similar name too. ..Who knows, maybe we were seperated at birth? ![]()
I’m planning on going to a museum in the morning while mom sets her chair up front somewheres. Anyone wanna come with? :)(not trying to sound offsetting to anyone, but since I don’t know too many desi’s as it is and I came to Guppy land to make new friends…I guess I have little to lose in asking for some company..
) If not, s’cool.
Take care local Guppies.
In three words i can sum up everything i’ve learned about life: it goes on. --robert frost
[This message has been edited by Bharysh (edited August 16, 2000).]
"kabobs etc."
its at the intersection of rt.28 and rt.50.
barish and bharysh, u two are on to something.... trying to flood this place? :)
sorry guys i was away so icould't reply you guys soon
i m so ammaze to hear that lot of you guys are from dc.
i live in manassas
and work in dc .. hey barrish i did go to abashar on sunday and i will be going to 19aug in dc..
the show in sept in mci i think it will be cancel soon coz there are some problem with accouring with the person who is orgnaizing the show he cant get enough funds to pay like 70,000 $ for the mci center...
its a long story .. nay ways.. i m so glade to hear you guys are from here .
hey i didnt know we got all these LOCAL DC guppies ... i thought this kinda stuff only
happened in TORONTO :) ... guess moving here was not bad after all.
I went to the ABSHAAR thing too, it was pretty good, lot of people showed up. I think
that parking lot was too small for the event.
Umar lets go for the BREAKFAST on saturday at Abshaar, i am in :)
Kabob etc .... thats a good place, went there last week, and thinking of going again
today .... anyone hungry???
OH another thought, i guess i will introduce myself and then all you other DC guppies can
do the same. so here i go,
name is Adnan, 23 years old, moved here last summer from Toronto, and working here as a
software developer. I live in Springfield and work in Chatilly. Also starting my masters at Geroge Mason this fall.
now your turn...
[This message has been edited by Bhola#1 (edited August 16, 2000).]
Bharysh... museum??? ... now that sounds kinda boring ... unless u going to the
space museum!!!