any Muslim singles

Re: any Muslim singles

Because apparently im not highly educated for anyone. I mean even high school graduates find someone. No. My younger cousin is married but they live in another country. They have tried searching, but didn't find someone they like.

PCG with new account??

Who?

No, I’m here.

My recommendation, since I’m in the same situation as you, fast forward 5 years, I’d say it’s important to

1. Be involved in the community. Sadly, not so that guys can get to know you, because that’s useless, since no mom allows her son to marry someone he wants to marry. But rather so the aunties get to know who you are. And make sure your mom is out there involved also, so they can talk to HER when they have some ideas for matchmaking, because no one will find it appropriate to talk to a girl directly about her own marriage. Backwards Victorian ideas still at work. :k:

2. Think of importing. Guys from back in Pakistan or even India are very enterprising, brilliant, ambitious. This can be tricky, since the main motivation for marriage on their side will always be a green card. If you’re ok with a business deal blossoming into something real, this isn’t a bad way to go. Stay away from the mbbs guys, they are not getting med seats in the US anymore. :k:

3. Get involved in ISNA, and other such orgs. Be prepared to be working alongside other such brilliant, single, lonely, angry women in their late 20’s and 30’s who are also there just to bag a husband. And sure I guess they might care a lil about their charity while they sit there looking very bored at the charity table. :k:

4. It is sad that there are many girls out there like us. I forsee a huge group of us who will just age lonely and die alone in nursing homes. In which case, we need to look into adopting a kid. Be careful, because most people will think you got pregnant out of wedlock. So don’t adopt a black baby, because they’ll be horrified you did the dirty with some African American guy, even if you show them the adoption certificate. :k:

And when it was time to become Phil Collins he became Dr. Phil.

Oya kkf sing a song to her. She doesn’t want a councilor. She needs a man .

5- don’t do this :k:, you want to be wife not athletic coach.

Thanks. Very good suggestions.

1. My parents don’t like going out. They think some guy will show up and ask them to marry their daughter. Unrealistic ideas.
  2. Its possible to import but its very hard for them to find a job. And if I work, then I know that I’ll have to be working with other males and females. And if he’s not ok with that, then thats just close-mindedness. Its hard to have a job and not talk to the opposite gender. The guy I recently talked to, he would talk about his female friends very openly with me. Meaning that we both were open with each others and trusted each others. The reason I havent been able to find someone myself is because these ppl are too extreme. They’re either very open; clubbing/smoking/drinking/etc or very strict; not allowed out/no movies/no tv watching/etc.
  3. I’ll have to search for such an org in Canada near me.
  4. Haha my mom would think something else about me if I do decide to adopt a kid. That’s what I am thinking too, live and die alone.

So how are you now anyway? Still single?

thank you…kia aap rishta aunty ban gaii haiN? :smiley: vaise, auroN se bhii to milvaayeN taa k mere chances aur options baRheN. :slight_smile:

who is this Phill Collins? :hmmm:

gaanaa sunaa diyaa to laRkii kia laRkii ke ammi abbu bhii bhaag khaRe hoNge. :smiley:

I think getting involved in community events would help get you out there. If you're family is very strict with letting you out, you need to kind of address this with them though, that you don't have anyone in mind and for you to find a suitable match, they should go with you to Islamic events or things within the community where you are likely to meet people in your age group with similar backgrounds. I know living in Canada it makes it tricky. My parents had the same concerns as I'm also born and brought up in Canada but honestly you need to get out there. How about at work? Any events and people from the same community?

Aunties can really get the ball rolling when it comes to matchmaking but you kind of have to put yourself out there and your mom has to really be open to meeting new people. It's the only way you will come across someone and maybe a great family will spot you. If not, then there are matrimonial websites, don't be so quick to judge them, it's worked for my cousin who landed a nice guy. She's married now happily and they also are in Canada.

And another tip is not to stress it, the right guy will come along when he's supposed to, all you can do is continue living your life in the meantime.

How did you find the other guy whom you broke up with when your parents don't allow you to go outside to begin with?

i was going to mention KKF as well. Larka Indian hai.. :P bt from Kanaada.

Hope outofdisworld doesn't mind me answering. Outofdisworld does work so she probably met him related to that. He was also ready to convert but her parents are strict and would have wanted his whole family to convert. Slightly unrealistic and not somethng the guy can control. They still don't let her go out which makes it hard.
Anyways, this thread is a great idea. Wish you the best.

And some people just wont ever get married. That's just how the cookie crumbles.

lol...laRkaa kah kar meraa dil baRaa kar diyaa...!!! yeh lafz sune huye ek zamaana ho gayaa! :D :p

being single is not that bad. At times I must say it sucks and there are so many nice/compatible people you meet in school/work but with different background/religion etc. But since I am kinda old fashioned guy and would want someone of Paki descent/muslim etc. I would wait. You are 26 .. pretty young if you ask me, you have 3-4 yrs easily to find someone. And I reckon there are so many desis in canada like Toronto, Vancouver etc. unlike where i live so it won't be that hard finding someone. You just need to get involved in community, ask aunties around, build some connection, networking

Larka nahi kehti to Munda kehti kya :) Chhora Indian hai. :) Lagta hai aap ki baat paaki ho sakti hai

What shaasavera said. And it wasn't dating like, we just started to get to know one another in a halaal way.

Thanks!

Id die inside lol.

Hahah aww

Yeh I know. But all these Pakistani men (even those living in Canada) parents talked to want someone younger. :s there arent many Muslims around where I live. The problem here is my parents won't allow me to go out for other than work and neither they themselves would involve with the community. So only God knows how I'll get my prince charming. Let's see....

Exactly. It wasn't dating. From what you've written you both had a deep emotional connection which was only ever emotional, you both cared for each other and he also cared a lot about you. You also say he had many wonderful qualities, you trusted him and vice versa and he was also willing to convert. You also said that he truly loved you and you had to try to find any flaws which you couldnt. However, background and your parent's restrictions seems like they would never have accepted had they known.Don't beat yourself over the past. Just think tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. Life teaches us all lessons. From his actions I would say he also wants you to move on to find someone who will make both you and your parents happy as he cannot. Even if he gives you maximum happiness if your parents do not accept it you won't feel completely happy either. True love is about sacrifice also. Be at peace with the past and even if you do not find someone exactly like him others can have other positive qualities which he may not have (eg. parental acceptance). Maybe comparing new rishtas with the past will make you feel sad.

Anyway don't give up. Keep looking.

Being single and older really isn’t that bad. Depends on your circumstances. We have no boys in our family, so right now, I can devote my income to helping my parents plan for their retirement and dealing with paying off my educational debt. Without having to worry about a guy who wants a breakdown of my check or who is using my money to pay for his family’s needs. Having some freedom in that regard, I don’t have any guilt if I get something to eat from outside, or spend on myself a little here, and there. No one to question me regarding my finances.

I can also go to the bathroom in peace and privacy, and take long relaxing baths. :k:

Thanks so much. Wish I could like this post but mobile site doesnt allow it. :s. You understood me well. Yeh im glad I loved and cared for him like he cared for me. Yeh first I need to find rishta lol.
Thanks for all ur help. :slight_smile:

He never asked me for money.
But anyhow, glad uve moved on and are helping ur family.