Any Canadians here?

I'm sure we have all that in Calgary as well.....but the icing on the cake is our chance to bring glory to canada by hoisting good ole stanley....other areas can keep dreaming.....like they have been for like 45 yrs!!!

Malika we all kno that you only pay attention during the flames game ... lol ur one of hte few people here with her priorities right :p

ahhh mann ... malika is on fire todayy ... lol sure go ahead make fun of leafs ... we have two other teams we can cheer on for in case hockey doesn't work ..

I wouldn’t say any city/place in the world is booooring…as any city could be boring if you want it to be boring, plus it very much depends on the company that you have…if you have fantabulous company in one city (offering basically all amenities) then definition of fun would be different.

As coming from torontorian that calgary was boring, I have also heard umpteem things about toronto being the worst city to live in Canada as it resembles US big city (NY/Chicago/LA) type of culture where everyone is so engrossed in themselves that they don’t even bother being nice…I am not saying either is true but I am just trying to show you diferent perspectives of different ppl.

In my first hand experience, I prefer smiling people, who ackowledge other person irrespective of the fact that they know for thre decades or not. In Calgary, I get that thing, if I am walking with my dog…we exchange smiles, and occasional hello, hi…how beautiful/bad the weather is…your jacket/boots/shoes are nice…etc etc., whereas in Toronto I experienced that I was lost and was trying to find my out…I asked the person and he started walking fast…so do not disturb him. Having said that I am not saying everyone in Toronto is like that, or everyone is Calgary is nice, but proportion of things that matter most to me are more present in Calgary than Toronto…:slight_smile:

As for me, I moved from NYC and also lived in LA, DC and Toronto as well as in London, UK (although for two years only in Middlesex). I travel a lot, and the only city that I would consider living my life would be either Calgary or maybe Vancouver as it is wayyyyyyyyyyyyy better bigger city than Toronto in any respect that you compare it to, as I hate humid weather and that is what you will get in supposed warm weather of Toronto…and in winters nobody can walk on road without proper gear virtually anywhere in Canada except maybe Victoria and Vancouver. However, the winter in Toronto is much worse than Calgary as it gets chinook winds (ref: Chinook wind - Wikipedia), whereas in Toronto which gets wayyyyyyyyyy more snow with humidity makes ones bones chilly. So if anyone wants to sell Toronto over Calgary based on weather, I can debate that person anyday anytime…

Secondly, I do not know if that counts or not, net migration from Toronto to Calgary (in terms of %) is way more than what Toronto gets from Calgary and there are many reasons for that.

Thirdly, what I have felt, is a bitter truth that population mix of desis in any metropolitan city Toronto, NYC, and even in Montreal is less educated (per capita of desi population) as compared to desis living in Calgary as majority are professionals as opposed to more labour class. I am not saying either is better, but unfortunately self employed professionals tend to beat the law more often than professionals, which results in Canadians helping them develop their impressions about desis and especially Pakistanis…and that is what I have felt that generally Pakistanis are much more respected here in Calgary (as most of them are either Masters/Phd’s) and working at top positions in various Oil & Gas companies and stuff like that.

I have gone into too much detail maybe, and I do not know what your objective is for moving to Canada, but all these opinions are based on my experience and I am sure Mabrook and librarulz would not agree with me even 1%…but thats ok…:slight_smile: …different strokes for different folks…

and although its an old thread…but its worthwhile to browse thru this link as well…

Re: Any Canadians here?

Stardust...I am gonna miss you when you move to 'Kannada' and pray that you make loads of friends there.

And all your dreams/abitions come true. xxx

CANADA IS GORGEOUSSSS. I love Canada! I am from GTA and it rocks! :).

here’s wat Canada (well a part of it) looks like right now.. taken from my window :D.

We’re getting abt 25 cm of snowww! :slight_smile:

angel fairy i can bet you anything htat ur in sauga ... and it snowed today just now and its gorgeous outside ... and u kno ria i agree with most of hte things that u said ... and yeah people living in small cities are more polite and i lived in oshawa for 4.5 years for uni and i kno people there are more frndly than in toronto ... but like they say home is where the heart is and i have some of the most amazing frnds here in Mississauga and even thou i have a lil half evil frnd that i've made recently who lives in Calgary i wldn't wanna move (hint hint) ... and i love the whole smiling and saying hi or hello to stranger thing and i gotta tell u that i've lived in a few cities around the world and u can not find more friendly ppl than the ppl in canada .... if u smile at anyone unless hes some lil gangsta wanna be the person is at least gonna smile back and u if not greet u too ... and this is wat i love the most about this country

WOw, all i've heard is praise. But iam kinda worried about the desis bit. Because in England alot of desis are scroungers and live off the dole or are taxi drivers. I really dont want to be in that environment. I have a law degree and a postgrad one (although Iam not a practising lawyer) and the plan is to go to Canada and become a Canadian advocate/barrister InshAllah.

I am moving to Markham for personal reasons but I've heard so many good things about Calgary. I visited Niagara Falls last year and was amazed at the difference in the roads and general atmosphere was alot calmer and nice. Iam just a little scared but whatever happens, I can't live in England anymore. Absolutely hate it here.

Cool pic!!! looks great :slight_smile: I heard there was a bad snowstorm :slight_smile:

angelfairy, r u by any chance in MILTON :eek:

Salaams Stardust

Im a Canadian that moved from Toronto to London, and I love England( i love Canada too-but biased). I think if your use to your family being near by and having an auntie popping around every aftenoon you will miss it immensely. Canada can be quite secluded when it comes to your friends and family and is very formal. Alot of the Desi's are very "Goray". You can quite easily find the sharabi paki there too. People try so hard to fit the part. In England it is still looked down upon if you see a guy/girl with a non pak/ind or even muslim in Canada its the norm. Though Canadian love to say they are multicultural but the only thing multicultural about Canada are pple skin colour. I moved back to Canada for a few years but as I had children i noticed my kids were loosing their roots and ther deen. Its very easy to lose who and what you are living in Canada. We decided to move back as my kids can be British and stll go to Juma prayers without feeling they are missing out on there lunch. My whole family lives in Markham, and well we are quite islamic compared to the average paki in T.O. but as the third generation of kids are growing up we can see how much they are losing their own culture to keep up with this so called multicultural society. Jobs are not there, salary is not good when compared to the UK and housing is cheaper than the UK but i think cost of living (rent- bills taxes) is higher. I hope you love Canada but remember sometimes the grass is greener on the other side. Sorry if I have offended any lovely Canadians, I still absolutely love Canada. The air is cleaner the water is sweeter but there are some flaws...

Libranrulz got it! I am from mississauga! :smiley:

Ofcourse i kno my mississauga ... i can even tell u this is aronud about heartland area ... meaning u probably live like 5-10 mins away from me

sumosabs...I am really sorry that you felt like this while in Canada, as I have always felt that in the cities I lived in, the most changed (from typical Pakistani perspective) Pakistani community is the one living in UK...or that is what I have experienced living in Middlesex.

Whenever I call my to most of the Pakistani ppl I interact with, in Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver they pick up the phone and say "Asalam-o-Alaikum" in perfect Pakistani accent as they are being exposed to Arabic and Urdu on pretty regular basis. As a whole Canada is much more conservative society as compared to Europe where PD(X)A ........:) is extremely common so kids at very young age get used to almost everything done in bedroom.

I still feel that typical pakistani cultural teachings are much more deep rooted in generations which immigrated to Canada, largely because they have maintained very strong relations within their silos (which does have few pitfalls too) but from your perspective I would say, desis are much more conservative living in Calgary as compared to London, I know if one is comparing typical Southall then its a different story but by and large, I have seen much more participation in all religious festivities by the younger generation.

And all in all, it also depends on the type of company that one gets exposed to, in our circle, recent hijabis are six in number and their teachings to the kids are totally islamic and their kids go to Islamic school and its rating in Public School System is also pretty good, as students from this school is getting admission in good universities....

As for Sharabi Pakistani...I like this term, the moment you sit in aeroplane from Karachi on any internation flight, the first thing any desi motey uncle would ask for "Sharab", it has nothing to do with UK, US, Aus, or Pak. The social fabric of our nation is on decline and it is much much much more apparently on decline nowhere but in itself in Pakistan, where all supposedly good school and colleges are inundated with drugs, alcohol as compared to average schools. So so called achey barey gharney are most westernized (only to get bad habits of westerners)* and then they become role model of average citizen, thus confusing them...and result is total disaster.

As for economic condition (which has direct and positive correlation with living standards), I would get shock of my life, if anyone would place UK's economy better than Canada's........no way UK can even come closer to standard of living in Canadian cities, if you think I talk too much, you can always refer to World Health Organization's recent study of top 100 cities to live in, and you can find out which cities make the top 50.

And another measure is to determine how many native ppl from UK have migrated to Canada (obviously for some reason) and how many Canadians have migrated to UK for work.

I like what libranrulz has written, home is where heart is..........and exactly that is sooo true.

Stardust09...you'll know when you hear an immediate ringing in your head/heart and mind....lol when you arrive in any city where you really wanna have a home!

Best of luck and do a lot of research before finally deciding which city/area is best for you to start a new life, as it is very very important knowing we have finite time in our life and we should the make the most out of it! Cheers

Ria you are one of the best writers and more informed posters on this forum ... i just wanted to know what you do for a living if u don't mind ...

Canada and especially Ontario? So baki ke province Canada men nahi hain?

Not in your lifetime, will Leaf win the cup.

gee thanks sarsaparilla ... way to make me feel speciall

Thanks libranrulz.....but honestly I think, I do not write well, as I tend to post without editing and that always make me look stupid afterwards....lol

I am a student at University and will be moving to Vancuover to work towards a degree in fashion.....lets hope I accomplish this goal of mine!

Move to England if you can. Wait, you're from there already? Stay there. Trust me.