Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan (merged)

Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan

Quetta was one of the cities most heavily affected

Businesses have closed in a number of Pakistani cities following a strike called in protest against the influence of the Punjab in national life.

Riot police moved in to disperse protesters throwing stones in Peshawar in North-West Frontier Province.

Nationalists demanding greater political and economic rights also took to the streets in the restive south-west province of Balochistan.

Activists say ethnic groups in smaller provinces do not have equal rights.

Buses torched

Supporters of the Pakistan Oppressed Nations Movement (PONM) disrupted normal life in Balochistan, Sindh and North-West Frontier Province.

The shutdown was most effective in Peshawar and in Quetta, capital of Balochistan.

We called the strike because we are opposed to colonisation of the land of minority nationalities

Sannaullah Baluch, PONM

Hundreds of supporters of the regional and nationalist groups stayed on the streets of cities in Balochistan during the day to ensure a shutdown.

Reports from the interior of Sindh said businesses in most of the cities there were also closed and there was also a partial strike in Karachi, with shops shut in the suburbs and most public transport off the roads.

A government official said transport companies pulled buses off the roads because of overnight violence during which several vehicles were set on fire.

Three more buses were torched on Thursday morning.

In Peshawar, PONM supporters took to the streets on Thursday morning, throwing stones at passing vehicles and shops that had opened.

Police detained an opposition senator, Raza Ahmed Raza, and dozens of others.

Outlets of the Subway food chain and Honda cars were damaged.

Constitution

There were also reports of sporadic clashes in some parts of Balochistan, but officials say by and large the situation remained under control.

Baloch tribesmen are one of the most vocal ethnic groups

PONM is an alliance of several groups that aspire for greater rights for smaller provinces.

The alliance accuses the bigger province, Punjab, which has largely ignored the strike call, and the federal government of denying people rights in other areas.

They say that people in smaller provinces are not given their due share of jobs.

Its main demand is for a new national constitution to ensure equal rights. The BBC’s Zaffar Abbas in Islamabad says that recently the alliance has been rallying around armed Baloch nationalists, who in their campaign for greater rights have started what is effectively a mini-insurgency by targeting government installations in Balochistan. Eight soldiers and dozens of local died in clashes at Dera Bugti last month.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4397315.stm

Re: Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan

pahtano ke saat to hamesha se zyaati hoti aarahi hai and when our government kills them in large numbers what should we expect

and eventho I feel violence is not the way but what they did was out of frustration and anger and it is true that pakistan seems more like punjabistan which should not be the case

Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan.

Why are Punjabis so hated? All the Punjabis I know love people from other pasrts of Pakistn.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/4397315.stm

Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan

Businesses have closed in a number of Pakistani cities following a strike called in protest against the influence of the Punjab in national life.

Riot police moved in to disperse protesters throwing stones in Peshawar in North-West Frontier Province.

Nationalists demanding greater political and economic rights also took to the streets in the restive south-west province of Balochistan.

Activists say ethnic groups in smaller provinces do not have equal rights.

Buses torched

Supporters of the Pakistan Oppressed Nations Movement (PONM) disrupted normal life in Balochistan, Sindh and North-West Frontier Province.

The shutdown was most effective in Peshawar and in Quetta, capital of Balochistan.

Hundreds of supporters of the regional and

nationalist groups stayed on the streets of cities in Balochistan during the day to ensure a shutdown.

Reports from the interior of Sindh said businesses in most of the cities there were also closed and there was also a partial strike in Karachi, with shops shut in the suburbs and most public transport off the roads.

A government official said transport companies pulled buses off the roads because of overnight violence during which several vehicles were set on fire.

Three more buses were torched on Thursday morning.

In Peshawar, PONM supporters took to the streets on Thursday morning, throwing stones at passing vehicles and shops that had opened.

Police detained an opposition senator, Raza Ahmed Raza, and dozens of others.

Outlets of the Subway food chain and Honda cars were damaged.

Constitution There were also reports of sporadic clashes in some parts of Balochistan, but officials say by and large the situation remained under control.

PONM is an alliance of several groups that aspire for greater rights for smaller provinces.

The alliance accuses the bigger province, Punjab, which has largely ignored the strike call, and the federal government of denying people rights in other areas.

They say that people in smaller provinces are not given their due share of jobs.

Its main demand is for a new national constitution to ensure equal rights.

The BBC’s Zaffar Abbas in Islamabad says that recently the alliance has been rallying around armed Baloch nationalists, who in their campaign for greater rights have started what is effectively a mini-insurgency by targeting government installations in Balochistan. Eight soldiers and dozens of local died in clashes at Dera Bugti last month.

Re: Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan.

This has been posted five different times....already being discussed....

jus shows how begirat punjabi log are

Paki government is too much Punjab/Karachi centric and they’re leaving everyone else to pretty much starve.

Pakistan can only survive if it realises that it is not a nation but a multi-national state, every state should get an equal representation and given power of autonomy within Pakistan so that they can live without Punjabi/Urdu subjugation.

Also it’s high time they renamed NWFP to Afghaniya (and merge all Pashtun majority regions to it in one unit) or change the names of other provinces to compass names as well so that they are not affiliated with any ethnic group.

Pakistan is a failed state anyway, it would be much better to divide down it merging the eastern half with India and western half with Afghanistan just like prior to the Durrand line thing.

what the hell kind of name is a ranjan manjhan ?

your sikh/hindu mom is a failed hoe. take your achut bhund to some hindu forum

pakistan is not going anywhere, pakistan is here to stay and also to liberate indian occupied punjab.

was all that even called for pak brave heart? I think you went a bit over the top there brother

Have you ever been to Pakistan before. You seem like a Sikh in disguise to me 4 sure. That name gives you away buddy.

1. Why would India want any of Pakistan, all that would do is increase its already troublesome muslim population.
  2. Before you advocate joining NWFP w/ the poorest most backwards nation in the world (Afghanistan) - why dont you ask Hindko speaking people what they think of it. I know most of my relatives wouldnt be impressed.

u may wanna watch ur language bro…does calling anyone’s mum a hoe make u pak brave heart???

He aint no sikh or a hindu, hes one of the dushman-e-mulq type folks who cry all and call Pakistan a failed state, yet their bakwas never ends and revolves around Pakistan.

what i dont understand is how is torching buses going to help? who drives the buses and who needs the bus most to travel everyday?
than we have idiots who are saying how "begirat" punjabi log are, to make the matter worse your nick is iman wala, what? are you straight out of the zoo?
i agree that balochis and frontier have been neglected but our government has been trying their best to neglect entire pakistan (in last decades) , karachi and lahore are the cream cities so blows have been soft for them.
point about urdu is totally invalid i think urdu is suppose to unite pakistanis, nobody has a monopoly on national language, kick english's butt and replace it with urdu and promote urdu all over pak. would be interesting to see if mushes faces up the problem a little better than last couple of "leaders".
i hope he does but i think he's is just going to be an ass.may be i have turned into a cynic ,hope he can prove me wrong.

so you calling more than 45% population of Pakistan as beghariat? what a stupid generalization.

i know there are some problems and under development of other provinces,
when most of the time in Pakistan history prime ministers/presidents were not Punjabis, but from Sindh, NWFP and balochistan.

You see punjabis more cause they are more in numbers, Karachi is most developed city in Pakistan, is it in Punjab??

every ill and backwardness cant be slapped on Punjabis, other provinces should also take responsibilty of their own issues and management when they are not run by punjabis and national govt heads are and were from small provinces!!!

will torching busses, breaking glass windows, signals, of your local city help???
sure have a peaceful protest, but what actually gained from throwing stones?? blocking roads??? what will acheive?

does these strikes help a patient on his/her way to Hospital? a small shop owner forced to close down his shop hence his living??
this goes to evey protest or strike staged in Pakistan in all cities and political parties should be responsible for destruction of Public infrastructure.

Ranjhar,
mind your comments and views that welcome rage.

Pak Brave Heart,
control, language please.

why people keep screwing pujabis ? i dont get it. now wat was bangladesh all about it was the ESTABLISHMENT against the ppl.
and here we have again the same thing. this ESTABLISHMENT is not WHOLE punjabi and mind u they DONT even mingle with pujabis they have a world of their own 'the brwon gora's '.
aren't punjabis doing their job providing taxes to the govt.
aren't punjabis doing their job providing agri services to other parts of the country..

so wat is it then.. come and see for urself wat an ordinary punjabi gets .. its the same treatment wat pathans or baluchis get.. just neglect..
Calling it a Failed state won;t do any good to anyone. (ok u can b happy saying that)
but this country was carved to EXIST and exist it will insha Allah.
on a different note. i must admit it that India is still there with so many liberation movements going on.. there must b a reason for that and I guess thats coz they have at least tried to empower their ppl more than wat we have done. with ppl in khaki always doing the dirty politics.

Ranjha was not a Hindu or a Siklh, he was supposedly a Muslim anyway my real name is not Ranjhan you fool.

Lol, Sikh Punjab is happy in India, if some ask for Khalistan it’s not just east Punjab they want, they want a large portion of west Punjab as well.

You mind your comments Ranjhar, you know what happens otherwise…
others involved in the same game, take notice of this warning!
Haris.

Re: Anti-Punjab strike hits Pakistan (merged)

:eek:

where are the mods?????

such a useless language by braveheart and Ranjhan!

good grasp over street punjabi, quite shamefull

another proof that his ranjhan manjhan is a hindu achut from india.

These scums know their inferiority to us, and hence come to paksitani forums and predend to be pakistanis.

ignoring the lingo fight and trying to comment on topic at hand

Punjab does take most of the wealth generated by rest of Pakistani regions, it is a fact.

But burning public property even that of your own kind's won't help you. Instead they should target burning government properties if they really want to mark any impression.

What is needed NOW is revisit the distribution of wealth and power.