Anthropology and peopling of India

Re: Anthropology and peopling of India

Could be.. I haven't met them in my life.. actually, there are some Pathans who are slightly blondish/red-haired that actually give Pathans central asian/Iranian looks but reality is that majority of Pathans look Punjabis. I gave a very good example of Jahangir Khan- he looks pakka madrasi. He can go to madras and fight for elections.. Even Rahim Shah and Junaid Jamshed look very Punjabi to me.. yes, there are people in Balochistan, NWFP, Hunza Valley, and north plains of Punjab that are blue/green eyed and are very tall.. It depends on the caste too.. generally, Awans, Arains, some Jatts/Rajputs, are the lightest of all... no one's denying that. Some Indians are fair-skinned like Preity Zinta(I guess she is mixed- half european), Madhuri Dixit (She is a Punjabi), Saif Ali Khan(Half Pathan, Half Bengali), and Hrithik Roshan(Not sure where in India is he from).

so now madhuri dixit is punjabi. anthropology, teri maya apaar hai.

Madhuri Dixit is a Maharashtrian (Marathi)

What a constant striving on the part of Pak Guppies to pass themselves as Europeans! Accha bhai. AAp sab log goren hon, ham san Hindustani negro hain. Ab khush?

This community of "Koknastha Brahmins, from Maharashtra are also known as Chitpovans. These are Pathans or Afghans who fled when Islam was introduced into central Asia. They represent perhaps 0.000000000001% of the Indian population, and of these only a small number have fair eyes. You’re looking at about 0.00000000000000000000001% of the Indian population formed by Chitpovans with non brown eyes.

Dont believe me, follow this link

"The Chitpavan Brahmins of Maharashtra are often mentioned as a caste that stands out by its physical type. Their slightly more “Nordic” build and the occurrence of blue eyes among them look like the perfect evidence for the theory that the Brahmins are the descendents of the Nordic Aryans who invaded India in 1500 BC. In fact, it is only during the initial Islamic onslaught that the Chitpavans migrated from the Afghan borderland to their present habitat."

http://voi.org/books/ait/ch49.htm

Let it be known to you that the point of anthropology is not to show the existence of one or two odd people in a population (which the Chitpavans are)..

There's many Indians who claim to be Pathan, some Punjabis too.. I'll give you the examples. Clearly you can see some Indians claim to be Pathan but are really heavily mixed, and they appear more Indian. Also Rajputs, Awans, Arains do not have light coloured eyes, like almost all of India.

True Pathan (top) and Indian Pathan (lower picture)
(One further point is your continued use of Bollywood examples like Hrthik Roshan is irrelevant - he wears coloured contact lenses, probably skin lighteners too..use your cricket team to see what Indians look like.)

Iyengar community of south India are known to have fair skin and sometimes light eyes.

Konkanestra brahmins: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chitpavan

Saraswat community is known to have fair skin and/or light eyes. I’m gowda saraswat and
most of the saraswats I know have light eyes(green eyes) and either fair skin or very fair skin

some Punjabis, some Kashmiris, people of Himachal Pradesh, parsi Indians(zorastrian religion).

God, this discussion about fair skin and light eyes is making me throw up:yukh:. How utterly superficial can this discussion be:yukh:.

Wikipedia is a bad source. I was reading one link that was talking about light eyes, and some Indian stuck in that there’s lots of blue eyed people in India :smiley: . Once again wiki is not accurate as anyone can change it.

The Iyengars, never heard of them..have you got a link? they sound like just an insignificant amount of people, like the Chitpavans.

Saraswat are not known for their “light eyes” as you put it..Cant find one link, even wikipedia claiming it (no doubts it’ll be changed soon :D).

Himichal Pradesh generally have brown eyes. There’s a bit of oriental mixing into there that gives them lighter skin though.

The highly intensive anthropological study aside just for now, what exactly does light skin/light eyes mean to you roadrunner? Please explain in detail. Thank you

I want to know why Indian Hindus are so racially segregated on the basis of nothing more than colour and why white skin and fair eyes is worshipped also why the people have to be brainwashed into believing that fair eyes are common in India, by giving out the image that they're fair skinned and fair eyed.. There seems to be a lot of denial going on here..Some people clinging desperately to Chitpavans who form a very small coastal population of a state in India, and most of who are brown eyed. Realism is what I seek.

you never answered my question....

wow.. so you expect people to write in wikipedia if they have blue eyes or not. hadd ho gayi che-pan ki..

Only indians?
We have debate after debate and thread after thread opened here at GS with people bent upon trying to prove how Pakistanis are lighter colored than indians, how pakistan has more in common with arabs and persians and now finally how the average paki is atleast a shade lighter than the brahmins of india. And you say Indian hindus?

All of south asia is racially segregated on the basis of colour- all of it.

haha! So every Indian who has blue eyes is wearing contacts. And since you did bring up Cricket team, at least Indian Cricket team has Agarkar with light eyes. Show me one Pakistani cricketer with a set of light eyes. And Shahid is the only one in Pakistani team who is easy on eyes. Rest are no different from the Indian team.

I really didn't want to get this petty and shallow, but since roadrunner is gunning to compare using examples, I might as well provide him with some.

And cricketing team aside, let's refer to Image gallery 2 right here on GS. Now point them beatuty pagent winners out to me..since they are abundant in Pakistan according to you.

its no use, abhc. pak cricketers are mostly from lahore and karachi, who as per roadrunner are ethnically non representative of pakistan. :hehe:

Edit: tsk tsk ... talk talk and talk ... washed away into the guter ...

Edit: Removed the comments on a loser post above ... please continue ...

No proof is needed in my opinion. People are what they are..some are lighter, some are not. If I had to say so, I'd definitely say Pakistanis were lighter than Indians by a lot, but this would probably provoke a reaction from some people..Also, generally people who pose off about Pakistanis being lighter skinned than Indians tend to be the darker Indian Pakistanis..Most of the lighter skinned Pakistanis arent so bothered about this.

Onto the Arab and Persian part..I would say just under half of Pakistan is part of South Asia, and more than half is perhaps part of the Middle East. There are important haplogroup/genetic differences between Pakistanis and Indians, and also Arabs and Persians only fit for certain populations of Pakistan. So it's a mixture. I would say some parts of Pakistan can be considered Arab, some Persian, some Indian, some European.

When I said the average Pak is a shade lighter than Brahmins, it was based on genetic as well as observational fact..hence the thread, anthropology..Some Brahmins are pretty dark, in fact the mixing with female Dravid ancestry is pretty much assured because of the high M haplogroup in the region.

I disagree that South Asia is all segregated on the basis of colour. I agree there's different colours in South Asia, but I dont agree colour and discrimination is as pronounced as in India due to the caste system. Let's assume Pakistan is a South Asian country (though the G8 classifies it as part of the greater Middle East), a Makrani in Pakistan (Negroid) has the same right as a Punjabi in Pakistan. The Dalits are still struggling in India though.

I disagree..Younis Khan (real Pathan not a fake Indian Pathan) has green eyes. I've stuck a picture of his green eyes (genuine) below, and a picture of Agit Agarkhar's fake blue eyes (left) and real eyes (right) below.