I am not sure why are you so against what he wrote. I think he made sense. I was thinking of the same thing. We are one jazbaati quom and that also jazbaati for wrong reasons.
What does InshaAllah mean? Agar Allah ne chaha! Why did we not win? Because Allah ne nahin chaha. Kyun nahi chaha? Allahu alam. But his point about Pakistanis needing to get their priorities right is a fair one too.
truth hurts...cricket is the least of my worries as a Muslim...we, Muslims, are being punished by Allah all over the world and we are ourselves to be blame for that. hamaare sar pe juuN tak nahiiN reNgtii aur yeh hamaarii bad-qismatii hai...raushan Khayaal logoN ko yeh bakwaas lagtii hai magar sach yehi hai aur sach sar chaRh ke boltaa hai aur bolegaa inshaa Allah...aaj nahiiN to kal ... May Allah guide us ALL to the right path...aameen.
:k: 100%
Don’t care much about Abbasi - as TLK also said, he is from the same emotion driven nation, however, he is 100% correct on this:
"…**Everybody had simply gone crazy as if this world cup win would bring the world honour for Pakistan. **We are one of the most corrupt nations in the world, governance here is in tatters, morals and principles have lost their value, self-respect is simply lost and still we wanted to rule the world by merely winning a cricket match or a tournament.
We are not ready to change ourselves. We elect the most corrupt among the available lot to rule the country. We return to parliament with far more majority votes to those who were disqualified or are made to resign for being cheaters and fraudsters. We shower petals on the accused facing serious corruption charges including those who are probed for having been involved in minting money from pilgrims in the name of Haj…"
agree to most of his main points.
And @ ravage & @kaka
please don’t bash him or call him names. Mullah is a derogatory term in todays world. It used to be a degree awarded to scholars. Now it is simply a taunt on any one who speak about spiritual reflection or quote quran or a saying of Prophet Muhammad p.b.u.h
Lets see. The article's headline is "Let’s us see why prayers not answered". So no, NOT just Allahu Alam, but Ansar Abbasi Alam too. The article is truly inane, the list of gripes that include setting Raymond Davis free, and not protesting when an American pastor burns the Quran. Two of these you would think involve America too right? Some would say America is the main culprit in those things. Are we to expect that America will start doing badly in sports now? Infact, lets look at the list of countries that do well in sports. Say the Olympics. Is that supposed to be a list of countries (in order) that Allah miyan appreciates in terms of their domestic and foreign policies?
What a load of complete bollocks.
As for Mullah being a taunt. Yes it is. If Mullay are afraid of getting a bad name, stop doing ****ed up things that give them a bad name.
Lets see. The article's headline is "Let’s us see why prayers not answered". So no, NOT just Allahu Alam, but Ansar Abbasi Alam too. The article is truly inane, the list of gripes that include setting Raymond Davis free, and not protesting when an American pastor burns the Quran. Two of these you would think involve America too right? Some would say America is the main culprit in those things. Are we to expect that America will start doing badly in sports now? Infact, lets look at the list of countries that do well in sports. Say the Olympics. Is that supposed to be a list of countries (in order) that Allah miyan appreciates in terms of their domestic and foreign policies?
What a load of complete bollocks.
As for Mullah being a taunt. Yes it is. If Mullay are afraid of getting a bad name, stop doing ****ed up things that give them a bad name.
Ansaar Abbasi may not be a mullah but he is a bitter pessimist. No one denies that we as a nation have loads of issues. But for 5-6 days leading up to this match one problem was solved, we all were UNITED! That was a great victory out of this loss. was it not?
Thank you Saby. Shouldnt broaden the thread but this is the same mentality that tries to understand the earthquake or the flood as its a punishment. Wonderful consolation for the sufferers to know that Allah feels they deserved to have their loved ones buried under rubble. Judgmental and pious is an unfortunate, and unfortunately frequent combination.
And yes Saby, I agree with you on the unity front. Everyone was a Pakistani, and it a thing to celebrate that we have something that does that for us, not something to gripe about.
Thank you Saby. Shouldnt broaden the thread but this is the same mentality that tries to understand the earthquake or the flood as its a punishment. Wonderful consolation for the sufferers to know that Allah feels they deserved to have their loved ones buried under rubble. Judgmental and pious is an unfortunate, and unfortunately frequent combination.
And yes Saby, I agree with you on the unity front. Everyone was a Pakistani, and it a thing to celebrate that we have something that does that for us, not something to gripe about.
it is freaky yar. I was about to add the same 'earthquake' thing but stopped because of the same broadening the thread fear. I remember that during 2005 quake, we all received messages k Allah ka azaab naazil hua hai. But I couldnt help wondering that most of the deaths were in relatively conservative regions of pakistan (azad kashmir). Liberal areas were not affected.
Found nothing wrong with the article. He made a very good point. We are united and jubilant about our world cup campaign, but when it comes to getting our house in order we are doing zilch (he mentioned many things such as electing the right ppl, rooting out corruption but you chose to ignore everything else but focused on blaming the US thing and ramond davis part)...
Yes, very surprising that I picked out specific parts of an article that I feel angry about when talking about why Im angry about an article. But that aside, the premise of the article is: this is why we lost the world cup semi final, and it contains a list of gripes. Not only are some of the gripes idiotic (raymond davis & Quran burning foremost but there are others) but so is the premise, and this mentality of looking for what God is thinking at the moment.
Ansaar Abbasi may not be a mullah but he is a bitter pessimist. No one denies that we as a nation have loads of issues. But for 5-6 days leading up to this match one problem was solved,** we all were UNITED**! That was a great victory out of this loss. was it not?
its not about unity being wrong...its about the ill conceived reasons that drive the unity. Why isn't the unity driven by other more important issue? Its because the nation is lost without a leader. So in the cricket team and captain Shahid, they found a pseudo savior of sorts. If today the Pak team would have actually won the semi final, that would not have made any difference in the lives of the same people in a practical sense. I think his article is not from a sporting perspective, rather it is an ideological one more suited to the Pakistan affairs section. After all he is not a sports columnist.
Pakistan is a volatile active volcano. The scale of problems is huge and people are fed up with these issue. They need a breath of fresh air, which was provided by these young men.
Let me remind you all the tiny list of jubilations in a years time
September 09, 20110
Aisaam ul Haque gave us sense of pride and honour by reaching finals of Tennis grand slam.
He and his partner gave tough fight and I was happy
November 25, 2010
After a long time Pakistan’s National hockey team won gold medal in Asian Games 2010. Whole Nation was jubiliant.
March 30, 2011
A torn apart team with mostly less experienced players did wonders in Cricket World Cup. Just like Aisam ul Haque and Bopana, Pakistan cricket team fought well. I am proud of them and despite that fact that whole nation is not happy but we are proud of their achievement and character.
These are handful the days of happiness for a Pakistan Nation during a year with constant volcanic eruption on our heads
what he said is not wrong, but I think people are appreciating afridi more after he apologized to his nation, for which in return people are madly respecting his gesture cuz the fact is hardly anyone apologizes their nation for their actions. last time i heard anyone apologizing was Clinton and that was on his sex scandal.
whether we take cricket a game or a war, afridi and the boys are paid to play. however, writer failed to understand that cricket makes sense to people of Pakistan, whereas CIA covert operator or some unknown pastor burning Quran is way above their understanding.
writer however must appreciate the union cricket brought among sunni-shia-mahajir-punjabi-sindhi-saraiki-etc that no political party has ever done.
ps. once again Pakistani team is the news not for their cricket. lol