Another Indian Perspective on Kashmir

Perhaps Indians who spend their time trolling Pakistani forums aren’t the best representatives of their people…maybe (some of) their countrymen aren’t as blind to ground realities?
…And here ends my journey to Kashmir**

But I am going back to India with the belief that provided all Indians are made aware about the ground realities prevailing in the Valley, they would readily accept the wrongs their government inflicts here, writes Sumegha Gulati

Today is my last day in Srinagar. The experiences I had in these two months were immensely different from what I had seen earlier. A different culture, new companions, supportive professionals and loving people—the various hues of Kashmir made it a beautiful journey. And at the end of it, I find myself becoming nostalgic about the days I spent here.

Before coming to Kashmir, I used to feel that the journey is tough only till I reach Srinagar. I was under the impression that once I start working, things would be easier. Of course, I had then too known that a different culture and the stereotypical image I had of Kashmir were bound to become problematic for me in the due course of time. But the challenges I faced here were of an unexpected kind.

Torn between the love for one’s nation and the realities I was facing each day, I would often wonder where to devote my loyalties—for the “national interest” of my country or for the cause of the Kashmiris.

At times, I would tell my folks back home in Delhi about the atrocities the Indian state has inflicted on the Kashmiris. They would get irritated listening to all this. Often, they would tell me that the situation is not the way I perceive it and the Army is required to protect the borders.

I remember a couple of days ago, when I called up my brother to inform him about my return tickets, I said, “Bhai, I am coming back to India.” He waited for a few seconds before saying, “Shut up!” and banged the phone down.

On the other hand, when I would accept that the Indian state has wronged Kashmiris, not all my Kashmiri companions would agree with the authenticity of my views. I found my genuineness questioned time and again, particularly by those in the professional circles. There would be times when I would be labelled as Indian pseudo Kashmiri-empathisers for my pro-Azadi stand.

So, at the end of these two months, I can say that I am still holding on to my viewpoint; while simultaneously trying to make my folks back at home as well as my colleagues and friends in Kashmir believe that Indians too, can accept their mistakes, provided they are made aware regarding the ground realities.

Indians love their country. All individuals do; there is nothing special in Indians about that. The problem is a bit different with us, particularly when it comes to the Kashmir issue. Brought up with strong feelings of nationalism and “Mera Bharat Mahan” kind of an ideology, most Indians, perhaps a very large number of them are blissfully unaware of the flaws their country is facing.

Add to it the unobjective stand taken by the mainstream Indian media regarding Kashmir and the result is a mass of millions of Indians who conveniently stereotype all Kashmiris as “Jihadi” and “Terrorists”. Of course, one cannot just blame the media and the Indian state for all wrongs. The Indian citizens too are at a fault for this.

It does not take one to be an Einstein or a Newton to realise a simple fact that 18 to 20 per cent of our union budget goes to Defence each year; despite the fact that more than 30 per cent of the Indians live below the poverty line. The hard earned money of the Indian taxpayers like my father is being regularly pumped into the valley to maintain the seven lakh troops in Kashmir; not to develop the infrastructure here. And even if we leave Kashmir alone, who is answerable for the underdevelopment of the rest of India? Just to preserve the inflated ego of the Indian state and maintain its unjustified holding on a foreign land, the basic rights of a large section of the Indian masses are being violated each day. A cursory glance at the union budget of the fiscal year 2005-06 provides a deep insight. While a total of Rs 83000 crores was allocated for the Defence outlay, a mere Rs 6425 crores was the revised budget estimate for Agriculture and allied activities. The fact that there were enormous farmer suicides in the latter half of 2006, following the above mentioned budget, is a bit too much for a coincidence. The government of Maharashtra admits to 1,447 farm suicides in 2006 alone. And that’s in only six districts of Vidharbha.

Interestingly, even after the reports of the farmer suicides hit the headlines, the budget outlay for Defence in the year 2006-07 was increased to Rs 89,000 crores. No doubt the Indian government has taken measures to integrate Kashmir with the mainland. Electricity in Kashmir is perhaps the cheapest as compared to the Indian States. The occasional medical camps organised by the Army for locals are another crucial aspect, even if they are aimed more at creating a favourable image of the Indian state than the philanthropic nature of the forces. Yet, all this can never hide the stains of the Kashmiri blood that colour the hands of the Indian troopers. In the two months that I stayed here, custodial killings, rapes, beatings and torture became an indispensable part of my professional life. Unfortunately, the figures have been shocking always when it comes to Kashmir.

Reports received from various civil society observers suggest that from January 2009, till May this year, 49 human rights violation cases have been reported. 36 people died in various violence related activities, while 3 rape cases were reported. Besides, four cases of custodial killings and six cases of alleged enforced disappearances came to the forefront.

Whether it was the crushing of ten-year-old Khushboo under an Army vehicle at Lasjan, or the death of sixteen-year-old Arif Ayub by a tear gas shell; whether it was the custodial killing of Manzoor Beig or the Shopian rape and murder case…the stories are all same. Only the names and faces change. I visited many families here who had lost their loved ones. Majority of the 400 students who stay in the Yateem Khana at Bemina crossing are children of this conflict. The eyes of 5 year old Adil, who lost his father after the last shell hit him before the Indo-Pak crossfire was declared, would haunt me forever.

After having a glimpse into the lives of Kashmiris, it is difficult for any common Indian not to empathise with the Kashmiris. And I still go by my stand that provided all Indians are made aware about the ground realities prevailing in the valley; they would readily accept the wrongs their government inflicted here. I also assert that the Indian democracy is restricted till Lakhanpur. Beyond it, we have no democracy; only the oppression, a sham that the Indian state has beautifully engineered with the help of the mainstream media for its own vested interests in this region.

Most importantly, I reaffirm my pro-Azadi stance. A lot of elderly people in Kashmir claim that Kashmir still has chances to integrate with the mainland. Many of them feel that the withdrawal of the draconian laws such as AFSPA is a major step towards this integration. However, the people of my father’s age- in Delhi as well as in Kashmir- have already played their innings. It is our time now. And being one of the youths of India, I can say that neither the youngsters in Kashmir nor in India are interested in prolonging this oppression. Of course, the precondition being making them aware about the ground realities here.

(Sumegha Gulati is from Delhi)
Greater Kashmir Daily English Newspaper from Kashmir Srinagar, Kashmiri, Kashmir news Kashmir Discussion Forum, Kashmir Tour, Srinagar,Book hotel in Kashmir, Kashmir Bazaar, kashmir SMS, All about kashmir, Kashmir Gifts, Kashmir Websites, Great Kashm

Re: Another Indian Perspective on Kashmir

ever heard of cherry picking .. what is next arundhati roy's garbage passed off as popular indian stand.. these people earn their brerad and butter by this kind of contraraian view but nobody gives a rat's a$$ about them

…and Altaf Hussain says that Pakistan should reunite with India :rotfl:

You know that this article is ghost written by a separatist Kashmiri local with a Indian Hindu pseudonym when he/she talks about Shopian, conveniently forgetting that 4 local Kashmiri Muslim policemen have been charged in that case.

India is a democracy and free country .... so if anyone has an opinion they can express it ..... same goes in this case .... just because she expresses something that might not be inline with the Indian government position or popular position ... does not mean she has "hide" in London and give statements from there !!!!

Similar view have been expressed by a number of Indian before also, it is their right ...... perhaps you have been living with people from dictatorships for long ..... it is ok to have an opinion that does not go with the rest of the country !!!! that is what democracy is all about ........

The author is most probably a DU product.

To the line regarding Indians being blissfully unaware, I would also add deaf, dumb, and criminally negligent.

The point wasnt whether she has to hide in London etc.
Even in Pakistan there are many who express opposing views, so Indian democracy is hardly the shining example of freedom of speech in this regard.
You might also want to re-read the point regarding India democracy not extending into Kashmir… :rolleyes:

The bottom line here is that Indians are generally unaware of the reality of Kashmir, and yet pose as though they know more about it then the Kashmiris themselves.

Its nice to find Indians with actual humanity, who have actual hearts. Many Indians, including the trolls on this forum are heartless, and delusional bordering on deranged. Indian nationalism has to be one of the most vile forms since the Nazis and Zionist Israel.. Makes me glad im Pakistan despite all our troubles.

And I doubt you would know what actual freedoms mean. You live in a propaganda state, ruled by bias spouting media, and bollywood bs.
The most exposure you have had to the real Kashmir is through sunny deols bs Kashmir movie.
So its no surprise you consider Indias actions in Kashmir justifiable, consdering you hold such low standards for human rights yourself.
I suggest you study the human rights records of actual democracies to understand what human rights truly are..

So Indian are being advised about "freedom" by someone who has spent half his life under a military dictatorship :D

As for bollywood BS ..... even GS has a new section for this BS .... need i say more !!!!!

Coming back to the original topic ....... these days the sepratists are clinging to any small "hope" they can get ...... this is another example of this. So if this is what you are banking on getting Kashmir with .... Doc ... get a life !!!!

First of all, who better to know of freedom then those who have gained it where once they did not have it. I would perfer the definition of freedom from a North Korean then a say a Canadian.
Regardless I have never had anything in Pakistan impinge my freedom... SO dont know what your talking about. Your opinion is about as worthless as any Indians.

But the fact of the matter is that Indian democracy is a sham, atleast as far as Kashmir is concerned.
Your actions in Kashmir alone speak volumes. The only explanation for your justification of your countries crimes is the fact that Indians themselves have very low standards as regards human rights.

As for Bollywood bs.. For Indians, its their prime source for news, entertainment, propaganda, and general life lessons. Indians revolve around bollywood, it colors their view of the world.
Pakistanis watch bollywood as a distraction. We are smart enough to not put to much stock in Indian propaganda and bs. Indians, not so smart.

lol.. You can bark all you like. All of Kashmir is against India. Everyone hates you.
There are no few seperatists, it the whole of Kashmir. But you can continue to delude yourself all you like, you bollywood mentality isnt capable of seeing outside your self imposed Hindu nationalist box...:p

And again, you know absoultely nothing of Kashmir other then what you see in your bollywood trash media.

So spare us the rants, your about as credible as the trash media that feeds your delusion. :D

Yes yes only non resident pakistanis are expert on kashmir..

My udnerstanding comes from ground reality. Documented evidence and multiple first hand accounts, includng this one.. Your understanding comes from what your taught by your govt and your bollywood movies... A bit biased dot you think?
As the person in the article stated, Indians know very little about Kashmir beuod what they are taught by their govt propaganda and biased and unprofessional media.

Here is some “ground reality” of the terrorist operating in Kashmir … but then you won’t belive it … and you call other delusional :smiley:

Inside Jihad - TIME

I never denied this… I encouraged it.. It good to see people fighting the Indian terrorists..
What I deny is the Indian claim that Kashmiris are happy to be Indian. I challanege the claim that Indias presence in Kashmir is harmelss. You on the other hand, refuse to acknowledge grond realities, simply because you were never raised to think independantly of the Indias sated policy. :smiley:
Perhaps you would do well to actually read my comments and try to understand them insead of mindlessly googling without comprehension:)

Ofcourse the reality of freedom fighters from PAKISTAN, is not something your state would hide from you, so that is something ou all know about. Yor states crimes in Kashmir on the other hand are mystery to you and most of you perfer it that way:)

It is people like you that have put Pakistan where it is today .... getting certificates from every world leader that Pakistan is not promoting terrorism anywhere ......

As for Kashmir .... it has been what 20 years now sponsring these "freedom fighter" ..... it could have been done in 9 months .... for precedents check history of the sub-continent :D

YEah only a non resident pakistan can get hands to he documented evidence and first hand account :-))

Very fact that there was no army presence before 1990 when pakistani extremists started pouring in tells me indian army has no fetish with kashmir..

face the fact as long as criminals from across the borer will keep copmign and killign people army will be there to check them..

Human rights record is accesible to anyone who has the will to read one. Indians would never allow anything to shatter their much cultivated myth about Kashmir, and so would never even contemplate anything to the contrary...

LOL, there were no Nazi Concentration camps prior to world war 2, yet that doesnt mean there was no anti-semitism.

Pakistan could never have started this movement. This was started by KASHMRIS fed up with Hindu Indias occupation of their land. The reason you dont see that is because you are misinformed and indoctrined by your Indian propganda machine to believe this lie.

i just want to know if whatever is going on inkashmir....is it a freedom strugle or is it an another islamic strugle for more and new lands?