Another dream of Imran Khan comes true

I don’t represent any political party but it’s quite clear that Imran Khan is one of the most sincere politician in the country, i never even heard of Namal College and was pleasantly surprised to see what Imran Khan is doing in Mianwali. You must watch this video to see what his plan is and how much it can make a difference in Mianwali (one of the most backward area of Pakistan).

IMRAN KHAN’S NAMAL COLLEGE(UNIVERSITY OF BRADFORD UK) MIANWALI, PAKISTAN*
Namal College is built on land generously donated by the people of Mianwali
District. Located a short distance outside the city of Mianwali on the main
Highway, the college is set on a gentle slope of a hill in beautiful
countryside on the edge of Namal lake. Phase 1 of the project and the first
of a complex of buildings has now been completed. The two storey building,
covering an area of 60,000 sq. ft. houses the college administration, Maths
and Computing laboratories and an English Language Centre. Phase II of the
construction programme will begin shortly and include Staff and Student
Accommodation premises and research laboratories.

Namal College is an Associate College of the University of Bradford, one of
the leading Universities in United Kingdom
. It specialises in the Technical
and Engineering disciplines, and has a history of developing and delivering
high quality and demand driven degree programmes. Bradford has extensive
experience in setting up vocational training professional courses in
different parts of the World. Bradford University will work closely with
Namal College in designing the courses and curriculum, in ensuring Quality
Assurance, training and development for the Faculty and advising on matters
related to academic administration. Imran Khan is the Chancellor of the
University of Bradford. For further information about the University of
Bradford please visit the University website: www.bradford.ac.uk

.::Welcome to NAMAL College::.](http://www.namalcollege.edu.pk)

FIRST-PAKISTAN: IMRAN KHAN’S NAMAL COLLEGE(UNIVERSITY OF BRADFORD UK) MIANWALI, PAKISTAN

Well done Imran Khan, i really hope you can rule the country for at least five years.

^ could not agree with you more.

and there are still people questiong his intentions!

Even if we dismiss his war on terror stance for a minute (and I do not agree with him there), what about his great charisma, integrity, sincerity, honesty and international connections etc. which are all essential ingredients needed to attract much needed foreign investments to Pakistan and bring about a healthy change in the social sector (health, education, jobs etc.) of Pakistan

The advantage is that it will greatly cut the cost of education. The cost incl. maintenance per student at Namal is around Rs 2 lac whereas if they had to go to Bradford for the same degree it w'd have cost them around Rs 25-30 lac/year each!

They have ambitious plans to turn this into an education city like Oxford and Cambridge by building more schools, colleges, hostels, banks, parks and shops etc. in the area by 2020. Two lecturers from LUMS have decided to go to Namal + there will be lecturers and professors visiting them from Bradford University every few weeks or months. They could also have faculty members of Bradford lecturing students directly from UK using large screens and Tele aid. All students from underprivileged backgrounds will get a scholarship

Could these students ask for more!

Good work Imran Khan.

The anchor rightly puts these students on the spot by asking them ‘why could your MNAs and MPAs not do something similar in your respective areas so you did not have to come from places as far-flung as Bahawalpur?’

Allah has given each of us some unique talents that we can use for the betterment of our country AND betterment of humanity.

Imran Khan in his younger days was an excellent bowler,

BUT

He would have been a failure, had we tried to use him (in every match) as an opener,

OR

We could not use him as a wicket keeper (simply because bowling and wicket keeping are mostly unique and mutually exclusive roles in a cricket team.

on the same vain,

Imran Khan in his older days is an excellent "philanthropist"

BUT

He is a total failure as a politician.

Is that a bad thing against Imran? Heck no!

Just like he could not play a constructive role as a wicket keeper, he is not suitable to play a constructive role as a politician.

Politics is not Imran's God given talent. He could work on it and learn but that will be a waste of his time and abilities.

So he should fully concentrate on health and education and philanthropy.

Imran should have remained a personality for health and education similar to what Eidhi is to emergency volunteer services.

I'd hate to see our beloved personality Abul Sattar Eidhi to leave his volunteer work and become a politician. It will be wast of time for Eidhi and a loss for Paks and perhaps the humanity.

No we can't. It is criminal aka law and order issue.

you think UK would have dismissed Lord Nazir had he ever said something positive about 7/7 bombers. In fact Lord Nazir would have been put in jail the very next day. Nothing can justify 7/7 bombers' heinous acts. Similarly nothing can justify bombing of girls schools, suicides and killings in Pakistan.

We should be honest about ourselves and about Imran.

We should all give him credit where he is on the right path,

But

We should not encourage or accept his stance on our national integrity and

We should punish him if he supports terrorists morally or otherwise.

Re: Another dream of Imran Khan comes true

Real educations is the only hope against the dark forces that have occupied Pakistan. I hope this kind of constructive efforts by Imran and others bring that about.

Right on target. :k:

I don't agree with him on that either but his opponents use that as main weapon, they totally forget about his positive contribution.

People mainly oppose Imran Khan because they support a certain party and it's probably their duty to criticise Imran Khan NOT because of his personality but to show their loyalty to that particular party.

Every educated and patriotic Pakistani should vote for Imran Khan. You can't expect any changes if you keep bringing back people like Sharif and Zardari.

Fair enough burqa!!!
Who do you think should rule the country after next elections???
In other words, who would you want to see as a PM and president of Pakistan????

You don't have to write a whole essay, simply tell me the name of couple of people (other than IK) who you want to see as PM and president of Pakistan.

I take a different view here. Many politicians have reservations about this war on terror (and we know who they are..) but is is just that Imran is more outspoken, straight-forward and honest than others and does not mince his words in public.

But believe me the equation w'd change once he is in power. I do NOT believe for a minute that he w'd compromise our national integrity or would not have gone after known terrorists such as TTP etc. NS despite his dilly dallying w'd have done exactly the same as Zardari. The only difference is IK has ghairat too and would not be boot-licking US like Musharraf, NS or Zardari for his kursi. The long-term solution to this cancer of extremism is not military fire power but good governance and giving people from deprived areas hope. And I have no doubt that Imran can take important measures to end top-level corruption in Pakistan or atleast greatly minimise it and bring about a healthy change in the social sector (esp. health and education) of Pakistan. Those social skills alone make him better than many other politicians in my eyes. Integrity, honesty and sincerity of purpose are essential to politics. Please do not devalue them.

imran is national hero, always was.

only his policies seem to have the potential to draw all members of our society closer to national unity. policies of others are undoubtly just pushing certain fringes out and you can see the results today.

***He is an awesome and charismatic personality. We need someone like him who is educated , well-versed and doing what he does best , helping build the nation .

His work speaks for itself , it is commendable what he did with the hospital and sasta tandoor and now the school located exactly where it should be serving a community that needs it.

We need more people like him in Pakistan, people who don't only make promises but who deliver ! ***

Thanks for a positive question, but I'm afraid this may take us away from the main thread "IK and his philanthropic work".

The specific name(s) really depend on who is contesting the next election. And it is kind of early to predict that.

However I can share with you the criteria:

1. Must have prior experience of running a city (as a mayor), or state/province (as a CM). We have elected too many people based on their "perceived leadership" and not their actual "governance experience".

2. Must be a pro-development of infrastructure (roads, electricity, clean water).

Then there are other points in the criteria like his/her plans on spending taxpayers' money on education, health, and defense. Or his trends in foreign policy etc.

Hope that answers your question.

In summary - As voters we must focus on experience, pro-development agenda and not the personalities.

Hence I believe all philanthropists should be in politics. Politics is all about social development and giving people hope (schools, jobs, food, hospitals, roads, electricity) and justice and not about shamelessly clinging onto kursi and behaving like a VVIP. So how can you separate the two?

Imran Khan as a cricketer was, and still our national hero

a great fast bowler

a great seamer

a great controler of in swing out swing

a great allrounder Pakistan can proud

a great captain ,THANKS for only and still last world cup

He also PLAY a lot, out of feild too, who NOT ?? give me a name

but he dont have a good luck and time when he jumped into politics, he forget that he is a pakhtoon ,and there is already big daddies from 4 provinces and Bhai logs......Poor Imran esi mix dal galane ko chala hai jis ki har qisam bohat sakht hai... galane main thodha time lage ga

What if he did not want Pakistan to go herewith the war on terror? We are quickly going there though.

I respect your opinion.

Unfortunately many of us ignore the #1 condition that I have listed.

We must emphasize the fact that our politicians should come up through the ranks instead of getting "installed from the top".

If you want to be a PM of Pak, then start from the ground floor. Be a mayor, a CM etc. before going to the big league of PM-ship.

No wonder we have so many politicians fail as PM. Poor thangs didn't know how to run more than a tonga or donkey cart, and suddenly they are "voted" into being a driver of an 18 wheeler.

If IK wants to be the premier, no one stops him to run for a mayoral election in a large city.

If he does a good job, then we should vote him into a CM position of NWFP or Punjab or Balochistan or Sindh, wherever he wants to have the domicile.

BTW the same expectation should be attached to Altaf Hussain/MQM, ML of choudhries or Sharifs, JI Mullhas, etc. etc.

Believe me we'll soon get the leaders who know how to run the country. Otherwise we'll continue the tradition of doofus PMs interrupted by equally doofas generals.

I also think that Imran should remain a philanthropist and not get into politics.

For example, I wonder what Imran’s solution is to Taliban menace in Pakistan?!

That’s what Gilani says about them:
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/10/31/AR2009103102082.html
"Our civil leadership, our military leadership and political leadership . . . we are on the same page: that we have to fight the militancy. We do not have any other option because their intentions are to take over" the country.

i just heard him yesterday, although he is against operation but he is not against facing the animals.
what he said was i would have not let it get to that level in the first place and to have a final resolution we need to stop drone attacks and US occupation in afghanistan which is fair assessment, by the way he has been to all the tribal agencies.

although i personally dont agree with him on this one as even before 9/11 or US occupationof afghanistan we had different kinds of monster which was sectarian and bombings of mosques were rampant and in todays scenario monster has mutated and is in different shape.
and every one know lashkare jhangvi was supported by taliban and their ideology was consistent with the then taliban in afghanistan.

so i do agree with the imran partially that this monster cant be eliminated unless US occupies afghanistan and at the same time i dont have any answer as well for the situation where we wouldnt have gone into waziristan and US decided to withdraw…

although i have disagreements with the imran but i would still vote for him, he has a point although its different than mine but atleast it is independent view and i have no doubts about his integrity.

as for his politics i think he needs to be a bit accommodating and flexible as he cant get everything solely on his own terms but should be flexible dont compromise on his core beliefs but flexible enough to let others adjust with him to attract new people, candidates for elections etc.

in my opinion he is our last hope and there is another party which can get us out of this messy, cold, feudal kind of politics is MQM but very unfortunately they havent been able to distance themselves from the past based on ordinary pakistanis perception after some time they get themselves on wrong side of histroy, after all the good work in musharrafs era in the end we had May 12th.
being a resident of sindh i can safely they MQM is much better than PPP even for ordinary sindhi speaking rural peasant.

so my vote in coming election would be either imran khan or MQM(subject to they keep themselves away from petty controversies).

some of you who had been following me on GS may be surprised about my changed view and i would give reasons when specific topic appears.

What i like about him is that is acts speaks more than his words, first the cancer hospital and now this great educational institute right where it was needed most.

All though I do not agree with his stance in war against these animals, but i must say that if he take politics as a full time job and give some other people in his party some breathing space, to me PTI is single man party, he need to bring other level of leadership in front.