Amazingly enough, the age of the shoe-stealing in musjids throughout the world has greatly decreased. But, with the downfall of one evil, another always arises…
I was in the bathroom stall in our musjid, minding my own business (or ‘tending to’ my own business, if you will). I reached down for the lota, when all of a sudden, a skinny brown hand creeped out from the neighboring stall and snatched the lota away from me! Shocked, I scratched my head and after a few moments of contemplation, I realized that I was screwed. The Lota Bandit flushed the toilet and swaggered on out of the bathroom. It was only until my good friend, Asma, came to my rescue shortly afterwards, as I noticed her by her shoes. She filled up the lota with paani for me, being the sweetheart she is, and I was freed from captivity.
The End.
P.S. If I ever find out who’s skinny brown hand that was, I swear I’m gonna sue.
Phatima
why didn't you say something?
Hey your needs were equally important as the bandit's at the time.
Plus it was in your stall to begin with.
Kia zamana aa gya hai.
Yea well even if I did say something, it's not like that freak would be like "oh" and then hand back the lota. They'd simply do their business and get on with their lives. I don't think the Lota Bandit gave a snap doodles whether I had lota paani or not.
Same thing has happened to me. Only a little difference.
I went to the bathroom in Masjid. Before I sat down and relaxed, I checked the lota and it was empty. So I took it out and filled it. Then I went back in and started taking care of my business. Some old dude came in the next stall and after using the bathroom, he took my lota. I was pissed, but I kept quiet. Not only did he use my lota, he kept it in the other stall. Then some other desi uncle came next door, I said “Can I have the lota please?”. Uncle said in heave accent “Vat?”. I said “Can you hand me the lota please?” Uncle said “Vat?”. I knew from the accent it’s a desi dude, so I said in Urdu “Mujhe lota dey dein please” and he finally understood and did.
What does one have to do to get the lota back here?
Well, atleast you got it back. The Lota Bandit I had to deal with just snatched the lota and it never returned :(. I didn’t know what to say - it was a very awkward situation.