An Organized Home

Share tips on how to keep your home organized while working and taking care of baby.

My main problem is my room; I can’t keep it clean for the life of me anymore.
I don’t have proper furniture yet for the baby so there is always something laying around.

Re: An Organized Home

With a small baby sometimes convinience outweighs organization.

I use to keep a small wicker basket in my bedroom stocked with diapers, wipes, baby cream and a couple change of clothing etc. (instead of storing everything). I used to re-stock it everyday.

Also I cleared up my side table and emptied drawers to keep a breast pump or anything else I needed on a frequent basis.

Always keep one drawer empty and that way you can toss things in there - if you expect company or for an quick cleanup.

Hmmmmm
I would marry A girl who is very organized.

I actually do the wicker basket trick too. and another little one for his toiletries.
:slight_smile:

I’ve also emptied out my side table but we used to have bills in there and now the bills are homeless. :hehe: so the husband stashes them on the table. That doens’t help makes a bigger mess.

I jsut really really need to get baby ka furniture already.

Samosa kao ja kar shabash..
har waqt larkiya hei ghoomthi hai tumharai deemagh mey.
Khabhi we’re so bad and khabhi shaadi ka kahyal?

Muniya - my advice don't get a baby changing table. (If you get one with lots of storage or a chest or armoire)

Sad to say I didn't change my children on that thing once. I just used the bed or the floor where ever I was.

It was nuisance to carry your child to the table and change them.

Munz, getting baby's furniture would definitely help, but make a trip to IKEA. They have the best home office, kids room organizing stuff. Little inexpensive things that really store all little random things. Take a day to organize then never, ever compromise on putting things just here and there. Always put them where they belong. That way you'd never have to keep the place neat. And it isn't hard.

Try to keep all baby's stuff in one area. If you live in a colonial style home, then keep a stack of diapers/wipes in the family room as well to save trips upstairs. Otherwise, all this clothes & accessorries should be at one place not in multiple rooms.

Oh make another basket for the bills and store them under the bed

I put all my bills in an organizer in my "home-office." All stationery, documents are organized there.

^ Niksik I used to do that - but my home office is upstairs.

I keep my bills in a kitchen drawer now because it's just easier to sort out junk mail and put the bills in the drawers.

Oh acha. I have it right next to my kitchen so it works out well!

Yeah I dont care for the changing table either. Its easier to change baby where you are. They sell these disposable changing sheets in target which i loved, especially for travel or visiting others.

Those are cool Afro. They come in so handy.

I did have a changing table and used it a lot. I did maalish for the kids on that as well. Looks like I’m the only one here who used it :bummer:

Seriously? I can't imagine life without a changing table. It's so convenient. It has two drawers and two open shelves for storage. Everything is set up right there. Also, it saves you back pain (especially during postpartum), not having to bend down to change the baby. I had to spent 10 days without it, while visiting my family, and I thought it was so inconvenient having to take the changing sheet out and all the other stuff to change the baby each time. Anyway, that's just me.

Muniya, yeah it would help to have baby furniture. In the beginning, I used to have a 'baby station' (ie. playpen with a changing pad attached) downstairs. That had everything, so I didn't have to make trips upstairs each time I had to change the baby. Eventually, I just started making trips to the baby's room for changing and putting her to sleep. She sleeps in our room at night, so I've emptied a side drawer to put some of her things (though I still go to her room to change her at night.) I also have a small storage basket with carry handles that I use to keep bottles, water, and formula for the night -- if she wakes up and for the early morning feed.

For bills, I have an 'organizer' sitting in the home office. Every couple of days, I sort through mail and put it away. You could also get one of those pretty storage boxes from Ikea and store all your bills in it. You could leave it on your dresser/sidetable, or just put it under the bed.

our previous home was always disorganised. We blamed it on the fact it was a small place and we had no place to store things..

now we're in a bigger house and have realised.. its just us :)

lol.

no we're actually a lot more organised than before.. only cus we have more cupbaords. The bills still sit on the kitchen bench and i have made it a point to the hubs that when we move into the new house, Inshallah, this will not be the case..

I demanded i get a change table with drawers and have found that it has been a life safer.. i store everythign of my daughters in there... well i hang her dresses now as she has a cpbaord.. but everythinf from nappies, to wipes, everything goes in there.. cus she is older now (i think since she was about 14 months), we dont use the change table part anymore... thats for her stuffed toys or other things that i want out of her reach..

now i just lay her on the carpet of her room and change her there.. its just easier..

other than that, i always find an item of clothing of hers in our room or in the family area... a home is a home.. it needs to look like one. You cant expect it to look like a display home all the time..

Yeh I totally have a pet peeve with changing baby right there in front of everyone.
I like to take him upstairs to his room anyway so the changing table may actually work for me. The crib that I was actually has a changing table attached to it. and three little draws under that area.

I did try the never leave anything out of place rule, its a tad bit more work and hard when he's crying to be played with but works. :)

Muniya, a lot of it is just adjustment in the beginning. Don't be too hard on yourself. You've got a lot on your plate and with time, you'll know exactly what works best for you. Some people think I'm obsessive about the way I have things at home and just can't relate with me...but that's how I am. I cannot function if things aren't in the proper place. So I've learned how to manage my life in the ways best suited for me.

Oh Muniya what a great thread. We are in teh same position but things have gotten better after the first week or so. I emptied out the side table in our bedroom and put the baby’s stuff in all three drawers (undershirts, bibs, mittens, burp clothes, swaddling blankets etc). Hanged her clothes in the closet and the huge cases of diapers and wipes go under her crib for storage.

One thing that has been a life saver for me is a caddy to store her toiletries etc. Mine is by JJ Cole and the bestest gift we recieved. I store her baby lotion, oil, gripe water, diapers, etc in it. It also comes with a changing mat. We live in an apartment and don thave the luxury of getting any more furniture than we already have. So no changing table here. But the caddy has been great.

This way atleast the living room can be company ready at all times. Still working on the bedroom :bummer:

Nikki I think thats the key. Around the 2nd week I stopped trying to be perfect and jsut started to work around my lifestyle. But I’m under constant scrutiny of another mother (MM) so there is added pressure.. or should I say was added pressure.

I try to keep the house up and running and if my room does get a little messy then so be it. Not to many people come up there anyway. Except this weekend a distant cousin came to visit Ayman and she let herself go right on up! Like WTF – I wasn’t even changed my baby was half clothed (he’d just come out of a shower) :eek: ticked me off but she was there to be nice so I put on the smile and wave face. :slight_smile:

Oh I understand the “pressure” thing. I do.

people can get so judgemental that they forget their time. It’s so easy criticizing others. but I think you’re handling it well. :lifey: