an extract from my story :)

thanx erem

hehe suroor.. yarra i had it all typed up.. well the next bit, but works kept me occupied and weekends... aaagh dont ask :) Inshallah this week...

Originally posted by sadzzz: *
works kept me occupied** and weekends... aaagh dont ask :)

:D work=Gupshup? :D

^ no comment

Come on sadzzz :)

:hoonh:

I know not much... inshallah more will be up soon.... sorries in advance

Within a week Aarish had organised a 5 week break and flown to Pakistan. Dad was not talking at all. No one was giving us the information we wanted, no one would tell us what exactly was happening and why was Mama still in hospital. The day after Aarish got there, we made a call to him.

"Hows Mama? Have you seen her yet?" Dad asked. After 5 minutes of questions after questions I took the phone.
"Aarish... hows things? you arrite?"
"Yeah...."
"Seen Mama?"
"Yeah..."
"How's she?"
"Why are you all asking the same stuff? Cant you come up with something else" He shot back.
"What do you mean? I am asking how Mama is... " I was getting frustrated with him. Maham took the phone from me and started repeating the same questions. After about two minutes of the same conversation, she started to ball and ran upstairs cursing Aarish.
"What did you say to her?!" I got angry with him.
"Nothing... !"
"We just want to know how Mama is, Aarish. That's the reason why we sent you there."
"Figure it out yourself!" He yelled back. I heard Rauf grab the phone off him.
"Hows Mama?" I asked Rauf
"She's fine... Aarish is just tired.. we've been here all day so he's exhausted" He said. I gave the phone to Dad and went to attend to Maham instead.

Nothing was making sense anymore. Why was Aarish so narky all of a sudden? Something was wrong. Dad called his best friend in Pakistan that night to go and see how Mama was. After three days, Dad called again to find out what was the problem.

"hmmm...." Dad was listening to his best friend on the other end, giving a detailed analysis of what he had seen.
"ahan... so its serious?.... ahan... hmmm... ok.. "

"So whats happened?" I asked as soon as Dad put the phone down. Maham was sitting by listening in as well.
"hmm... she was very serious... but Aslam is saying she's doing much better now. She cant talk at the moment.. some wiring in her mouth" Dad explained.
"I think you should go back Daddy... " I said
"Yes, Daddy... I think you should too"
"We'll be fine..." I added.

Dad left within a week and a half. So it was just Maham and myself left at home. I was worried for Maham as it was her last year of high school and I didnt want her freaking out at this time. She said she was doing arrite, I believed her as I knew it took a lot to get her stressed, especially regards to her school work.

I also learnt that everyone else in the Pakistani community knew about Mama's accident, infact they knew all the details which we didnt even know about. I was upset as I believed family should know things first. Why were we being left in this illusion that Mama was ok when reality was that doctors had no hope of her living. The doctors insisted we all go to Pakistan, but having the Pakistani mentality we all have, no one bothered to tell us cus they didnt want to freak us out. I'd rather be freaked out than never see Mama again! Everytime I thought about it, I got more upset, but I hadnt shed a tear. Not one drop of salt water had managed to pop out. My nose hadn't fuzzled up, my heart didnt beat any faster. I had turned into a rock and I didnt care for anyone anymore. When people asked me about Mama, I spoke as though she was not even related to me. People were suprised at how calmy I described the event. I was suprised too.

Daniyal's family had been helping out a lot as well. Saima would call every second day to find out if things were ok.

"How's Maham? She must be stressed" Saima asked
"Yeah... but she's a smart one so doesnt show it. The only time she cracks it is when I serve dinner..."
"At least you're trying... I cant cook at all...!" She whinged. "Oh yeah... Dan wants to talk as well... so dont go anywhere!" she handed the phone to Daniyal.
"Hey...!" he yelled into the phone
"Ello... whats up with you?!" I asked.
"Nuffin... I was bored... God, you girls talk for ages.."
"We were discussing important issues... "
"Yeah right... I'm the one with important issues... "
"Like what? Did your team lose in footy again?" I teased
"Oye... easy... that was harsh" He sulked "...they are going well thank you very much..."
"ahem ahem.... okk"
"Ok listen.... trust me this is an important matter..."
"go on... shock me"
"I might me moving to the US for a bit.... works got a project happening... and they want me to go..."
"serious? for how long and when?"
"umm dunno... in a month or so i think.. "
"hmm.. for how long though?"
"i think its initially a 3 month project.. but yeah it all depends..."
"hmmm interesting.... what do u think"
"hmm... sounds good. At least I get a chance to get away from here... good experience.."
"yeah..."
"yeah what?"
"I mean yeah... good experience.. so you gonna take it up?"
"I guess so.. "
"sounds good..." I didnt feel like talking anymore "Hey... Maham's calling me... we're having a girls night tonight"
"oh... so you gotta go?"
"yeah... kinda.. Maivish is coming over soon"
"I see... going out?"
"Naa.... watching movies at home..."
"hmm I guess I better let you go then huh?"
"Yeah..... hey listen... lemme know what you decide"
"Ofcourse! Why do you think I just told you.... !"
"Oh yes... arritey... Inshallah catch you laterz"
"Yeap.... Allah Hafiz"
"Khuda Hafiz"

I felt exhausted. I felt everyone was running out of my life. First Mama, then Aarish, Dad and now Daniyal. Nothing was stable. I wasnt going to be selfish about Daniyal, I know this meant a lot to him, but I wanted to know where did I fit in all of this. For the first time, I actually felt like crying.

Hey sadzzz

Take your time writing and getting all the ideas together. Don't rush it cuz of our pressure. :)

mannnn i feel sad for the girl

hope everything turns out ok

:bummer:

btw sadzzz i second what Sehar said above just now

thanx Saher and Irem… yeah my writing seems a bit rushed these days haina? its all over the place…

thanx heaps again :flower2:

Originally posted by sadzzz: *
"go on... **shock me
"
"
I might be moving to the US for a bit*.... works got a project happening... and they want me to go..."

very shocking indeed :D .. can't wait to see what happens next ;-)

*Originally posted by Nutz: *

very shocking indeed :D .. can't wait to see what happens next ;-)

tsk...

phir kia hua :(

sadzzz yaar bas bohot ho gya :teary2: ab toh in kee shaadi karwa do please :smiley:

ithni jaldi? hehe

^ amma ko beemar q kiya :teary1:

haan i know …thats not fair :teary1:

:yawn:

hey sadzzz,
sorry i've been away :(
but gr8 story, sad, but well written.
cant wait for more
ciao!

Hey sadzzz, when do we get it in a Penguin paperback?:D

^ i didnt know u visited this thread? haha