an extract from my story :)

'Hey Dan… you know what? I grinned.
‘What??’ he looked at me excited
‘hmmm… remember you said something awhile ago.. how you dont like sharing your feelings with anyone’
'umm yes.. ’ he leaned back in his chair and grinned. I couldnt help laugh at him.
‘well.. do you realise you have told me enough to blackmail you’
'you wont do that.. ’ He leaned over on the table.
‘how do you know that?’ I asked
‘cus you are you… thats all I need to say’ He smiled and then leaned back into his chair again. I looked at him and wondered what did he mean.
'I know you love me Mr Daniyal, its ok… ’ I couldnt help making a smart comment.
'Good… she has finally figured it out.. ’ He clapped quietly embarrassing me.
‘Yes.. that I have, you’re an open book’ I teased.
‘Only for you sweetheart’ He cheekily said.

I decided I needed to change the topic and asked him about his cricket game which he was playing tomorrow. That’s how he knew Anam’s husband, Imran. They play cricket for a local Pakistani team which one of the uncle’s has created. Daniyal seems to think he’s the best thing that ever happened for cricket and asked me to come and see him play. I said no because I didnt think he needed any more of a big head. He moaned and asked me to come with my brats and his siblings. I thought about it and said I’d come one day.

We walked back to Flinders street. By the time we got to the parking, it was almost 12.30.

‘You gonna get in trouble?’ He looked concerned. I looked at my time and thought my parents still wouldnt be back, but I was tired and could do with some sleep.
‘Na.. should be aright. Parents are probably still out’
‘You gonna be arrite driving back?’ He was being funny. I dont usually see him being this nice.
‘Yeah… i’ll be fine. You drive save ok?’ I said and got into my car.
‘Hey… thanks for the lovely night’ he said ‘i’ll treasure this night forever… and ever’ He flirted.
‘Bequiet… go home. I’ve just about had enoufh of you Dan’ I laughed back at him.
‘Arrite… see you soon then.’ He closed my door and I pulled down my window. ‘Come and cheer for me at the game tomorrow. I’ll be waiting’
‘Good, you do that. I’ll be sleeping in’. I said. He laughed. ‘Khuda Hafiz Dan… drive safe ok?’
‘I will… and you too. Khuda Hafiz’ He smiled and I started my car and reversed out. He stood there until I drove out of the parking safely.

I started to miss his company as I left. I wished God would do something special for me. Please God, I asked.

(17/02/03)

My family was still out by the time I got home. I figured I’d still have about 2 hours to lounge around on my own before they got back, so I took a nice hot shower, got into a compfy shilwar kameez and put on a desi flick Kuch Kuch Hotha Hai. I’d watched it a dozen times already, but thought I needed some light romantic movie to end the night. My mind wasnt on the movie. I felt like calling up Anam and telling her about the whole night. I hadnt spoken or seen her for awhile either. It was too late to be calling her though. Didnt know what to do. My body was so tired but my mind fully awake. I decided to have a cup of tea.

My phone beeped. It was Daniyal.What was he doing awake? Silly question, what was I doing awake?

‘Usha called. Told her everything. She’s pretty cut but I feel gr8. No more hassles :)’ he wrote.

I assumed he must have told her how he felt. I messaged him back saying it was good he had talked to her about it and was feeling better, at least now i wont have to see his sulky face. He laughed and said thanks for listening to him, I called him an idiot and asked him to go to bed. I smiled to myself that he felt he had to share his day to day dealings with me. I felt really close to him in an odd way. And then I wondered life without him.

Mama had no idea how much Daniyal and I talked. If she knew she would arrange the wedding straight away, but, I truely didnt know what I would tell her even if I did begin to explain the situation. What would I say?

‘Mama the guy you introduced me to is the best thing thats ever happened to me, yet we’re not getting married’?
‘Mama, Daniyal and I get along so well, and we cant believe that our parents actually set us up, yet we dont know what we want?’

I had no idea what I would say to anyone. I hadn’t been able to tell the brats much either about the situation. I decided I really needed to talk to Daniyal about this, but what was I to ask him as well?

‘Daniyal, should we get married?’

His heart would stop beating and he would never want to see me again. No, he wouldnt do that, but I was scared of his answer. I didnt want to know the truth, whatever it was. I liked being in this dreamworld and waiting for the days to unfold themselves. I just went with the flow, not knowing what might happen next. When I had first met Daniyal, I didnt know if I’d ever meet him again, and look where its brought us. We talk to each other as though we’ve known each other from prep. For our parents it’s probably a God sent gift. For my brats, a chance to see their baji get married. For me, meeting someone I’ve waited for all along, and still… not being able to do anything about it. But, what is Daniyal thinking of all this?

Before going to bed, I prayed and then sat on my bed talking to God.

‘God, Assalam o Alaikum. I am really confused, but I think you already know that..’ I began.
'…I’ve been thinking quite a bit lately, about this mess I think I’ve gotten myself into. God, I really didnt want this to happen and I dont even know why it has. I know you have a reason for all this and I’m sure you are planning something good for me.. but what is that? I dont know.. ’ I sulked. I took a deep breath and then started to tell God more of what was in my heart.
‘God, I cant tell anyone else about how I feel. I’m not sure if anyone else will understand.. well how could they huh? If i dont either. I think I’m really falling in love with him… but I dont even know what love is. You know everything thats inside me Allah Mian. You know how I feel and why I do.. please help me.’ I was nearly in tears. I decided to change the topic as I knew God already knew everything I said, but, I felt better that I had told someone. Someone who really mattered. In the end I asked God to take care of everyone I knew and loved, and even if I didnt love them or knew them, to bless them anyways.

My family still werent back. I lay down, and fell asleep.

such a sweet entry.. i want to know what happened next!!!?

it better be a happy ending! or i'll just start crying :~S

hehe thanx suroor... its actually not the beginning... its just part of it... hasnt finished yet though... lekin dnot worry... it'll be a good ending :)

^ to jaldi finish karo.. i cant wait to read more.

the next bit..... :)

I woke up really late. My dad was walking around the house waiting for someone to wake up and give him some company. I heard mama come out of her room and yell out for me. She came into my room and informed me what time it was and how I waste my whole weekend sleeping. I wasnt in the mood to say anything back so I got up and headed for the shower. It seemed like everyone was awake except for me. Great, hate being the last one to get out of bed.

It was a beautiful day. The sun was shining and coming into the family room. Maham was sitting at the table doing her homework. She gave me a funny smile when I went downstairs. I knew she wanted to know all the details. Mama was also anxious to hear a long story, but I needed some food.

'Daddy.. would you like some tea?' I asked.
'Yeap... ask Mama if she wants some too' He said. I asked Mama if she'd like some as well.
'I just had a cup.. and so did your Daddy. He's had two cups already and this is going to be third now.... ' She replied. I put the water in the kettle and made three cups of tea. Aarish came down in the meantime and put a DVD on of old hindi songs.

'What time did you get home?' Maham asked.
'hmm about oneish I think.. ' I answered.
'Where did you go?' She asked.
'Cafe Grecco' I replied.

I kept the discussion short. I didnt want to say anymore than I should because Mama would grab on to a word and then start a very long and agonising conversation.

'Did you have a good night?' Mama asked. She was happy I was actually meeting someone she liked. I wonder how she would react if I told her nothing was happening after all this time. She looked really happy, so I decided not to say anything that may upset her and then in turn get me in a bad mood.

'Yeah.. it was really nice' I replied.
'Achi baat hai... I'm glad you are finally doing something. See, I told you it was a good family.. but you never listened to me before.' She commented. She was feeling proud of herself, and I was glad an argument hadnt began.
'I was thinking of calling them over for dinner. What do you think?' She asked me.
'Why?' Aarish asked.
'Yeaaah! invite them' Maham yelled out.
'I thought you were doing your homework.. ' Daddy asked Maham. She put her head down again and mumbled 'Mama invite them!'.
'I'm asking Annie... what do you think Annie?' She said looking at me very lovingly.
'Up to you, Mama. They are Daddy's friends.. so you can invite them if you want.' I replied, hopefully not sounding too rude. I didnt want to be excited either, not while Aarish was around. He would have a hundred or so questions to ask.
'What do you think Iqbal? Mama asked Daddy. He was reading the newspaper and didnt look very intereted.
'Invite them if you want... dekhlo... why dont you have a bbq?' Daddy suggested. My dad needed any excuse to get out of the house. He loved the outdoors and when Mama ever mentioned a party or dinner, he would recommend a bbq or a picnic instead.
'hmm.. that's a good idea.. I will discuss it with Sajida' Mama said and that ended that conversation.

Mama did call Aunty Sajida, but didnt really discuss her plan. They ended up discussing other things, like clothes and bessemer pots and anything else but the bbq Mama was planning to have for Daniyal's family. I didnt mind as I saw Daniyal whenever I had the chance, but, Mama was more eager to talk to his parents, more on a personal basis and decide what was our future. She hadnt said anything yet, but i knew Mama, I knew what she had in mind. And, that was the part that was scaring me. I didn't want Mama to know the truth, not yet. I hadnt seen her this happy for months, and we hadnt been fighting for awhile as well. It seemed as though everything was turning out to be fine. Inside, I knew things were very far from what Mama was dreaming about.

During the week work got quite busy, which was probably a very good thing as I had less time to think about Daniyal. By the end of the day I was too tired to think at all, and usually ended up having dinner, doing a bit of a run on the treadmill and falling asleep after Isha. Daniyal must have been busy too, either that or he was waitng for me to call him as I hadn't recieved that many messages from him. I decided to be stubborn and not give in to any temptation. I had to teach myself to survive a day without talking to him. It was kinda wierd and before going to bed I asked God to forgive me for being silly.

On Friday, while I was at work, Sara had called and planned to go shopping and then to the movies.The brats and I hadnt been out for awhile, and needed to fill each other in on our lives. Sara and Maham generally talked each night on the net regardless of how busy they were, but we hadnt had a proper heart to heart for awhile. Friday's were my worst days. I was always too tired to do anything, but I decided to go out with them. They didnt have any other of going out, so I had no choice.

Everyone met up at my place and then we drove to Chaddy. The girls looked quite tired, but they were still excited about being together after about a 3 week break. At Chaddy, Sara and Maham split. They went their own way and left me and Maivish to wander around.

'What do you think they do when they go off?' Maivish asked. I never really thought about it before, but she made me think.
'I dunno.... do you know what they do?' I asked.
'Naa.. I was just asking you.' She smiled and knew she had made me think. I hate it when they do that, and then I become like a worried mum. I decided not to ponder too much about it, afterall it was a Friday and I didnt feel like thinking too much.

'Hows things with you? uni?' I asked Maivish
'Yeah arrite.. got exams coming up... hate it' She complained.
'Yeah? goodness... I'm glad I got nothing like that to worry about'
'Yeah.. but you got other problems... marriage!' She laughed. I sighed and changed the topic back to her.
'So hows that guy... remember you told me about him?' I said
'Who... hmmm Hammad?' She asked
'Yeah think so... was that his name?'
'Yeah.... hes arrite' She sighed.
'Whats the matter... do you like him?' I asked. We werent doing much shopping.
'Naa.. nothing like that. I talk to him... but I havent really seen him for awhile.. he's got other friends' she explained
'Acha.. so you dont like him?'
'Naa... hes hot though.. but you know its not right.' She said. More like convincing herself. 'Anways, hows Dan?'
'Yeah... arrite' I said 'Havent spoken to him for a week' I smiled and was proud of myself.
'Serious? wow' she said and couldnt believe I was telling the truth.

(18/02/03)

'Yeah... I kinda was thinking about the whole thing, and thought if this doesnt work out, then I'm the one whose gonna get hurt.. and plus I dont want Mama to get the wrong idea as well..' I told Maivish. She listened.
'hmm.. how do you know he wont get hurt either?' She asked
'I dont... and I guess I dont want to hurt him either if things dont work out.. I dont know what to do Mavz'
'Have you told him this? What if he likes you?' She asked while we walked towards the foodcourt. We had to meet Sara and Maham in 10 minutes.
'Na.. havent told him... and I dont know if he likes me either.. well not in that sense' I said
'hmm.. maybe you should ask.. '
'hmm. yeah.. but I guess at the moment I'm just gonna try to talk to him less.. anyways can we not discuss me pleaaase' I smiled. I was so sick of discussing Daniyal and myself. It felt as though there was nothing else more important to be talking about.

Sara and Maham had eaten something while they wandered off. They had bought a few things for their hair and seemed as though they had been doing naughty things. They were really hyped up whereas both Maivish and I looked drained. We decided to go watch a movie but everything was finishing really late.

'hmm.. lets just go to PP's and watch dvd's?' Sara suggested. No one else could be bothered making a decision so we settled on Sara's suggestion. We didnt spend that much time at Pancake Parlour, had our pancakes and went to Sara's place. The telly was being used by Sara's parents so we went up to Sara's room instead.

and the next.....

'I'm so tired!' Maham yelled out.
'I've got the bed!' Maivish ran to the bed and refused to let Maham on it.
'Move Mavz! My feet hurt' Maham tried to roll Maivish over but Maivish only behaved like a 4 yr old and refused to let Maham on.
'You're an idiot! Move over' Maham yelled again and then pushed Maivish. She got in to the bed finally and both Sara and I laughed at them.

Sara was logging on to MSN messenger to check who was on her list. I pulled up a chair and sat on it with my feet inside the bed. Maivish had turned the electric blanket on which only worked on the side she was on. It was deliciously warm inside there and I didnt feel like moving. Maham and Maivish started to behave their ages and were discussing Maham's subjects.

'You'll be arright Maham... ' Maivish told Maham.
'Yeah I know... but my teacher is so slow. I had a look at your stuff, it makes more sense than what the teacher says. Dad's been helping out a lot as well.. '
'Yeah.. see.. so dont stress. Plus, we dont even go out that much anymore.. it's been like 3 weeks or something' Maivish said.

Maham had been studying a lot lately, and because it was her final year at highschool, the rest of us werent allowed to make any plans to go out together. Dad had been a bit lenient tonight, considering it was a Friday and we hadnt made a fuss for awhile.

'Hey check my mail Saroo' Maivish asked Sara who was busy chatting to someone.
'I already have... there's nothing there. Only junk mail and I deleted it.. ' Sara replied.
'Did you check mine too?' Maham asked
'Yeah.. only junk mail and an email from me' Sara said.
'What did you write?' Maham asked while making herself more comfortable in bed.
'I dunno... just read it later. Nothing much... I wrote it when I was bored.' Sara said while continuing to chat.
'Havent checked yours Ansa... I'll check it in a sec' She told me.
'hmm I doubt theres anything there... maybe Atif.. I didnt read his email before I left work'. I said, there would be no one else who would write. Daniyal usually did but he only replied to emails I sent and I hadnt sent him one since Tuesday. Sara checked my email anyways, she was bored.

'Whats there?' I asked her not looking at the screen. The bed was so nice and warm. I was planning to join Maham and Maivish soon but I knew they wouldnt let me in so I stayed put.

'hey.. theres one from Daniyal Bhai' Sara said. 'Can I open it?' She asked and didnt wait for the respond. Both Maivish and Maham's heads popped out from under the quilt. I got my feet out as well and turned my chair around to face the screen where Sara was reading the email.

'What does it say baji?' Maham asked. She and Maivish weren't going to leave their places on the bed. They knew if they moved, either myself or Sara would invade their territory.

'Let me check...' I said and read the email to myself.

Hey sweetheart,

where you been? It's been centuries since I heard from you.. u arrite isnt it?

You better not have found a new friend otherwise you'll have to answer to me.. how can u find anyone better than me anyways? lols!!

im playing this weekend again... come and cheer for me pls.. pretty pls :)

I'll call you on the weekend... pick up ok!

ok.. im off.. its 5.05 and im still in the office!!

ciao!

from your prince

p.s i hope things are ok.. u aint ticked with me are ya?

I read it out to Maham and Maivish.

'See.. he loves you... cant even spend 3 days without you' Maivish said.
'hmmm I'm sure it nothing like that.. ' I told her with a sigh.
'Can we go see him play?' Sara asked.
'Well.. I cant go... I want to though' Maham said.
'Na... I'm not going either, so dont worry' I told her. I really didnt want to go and be some kind of a cheer leader for him. How embarrassing would that be.
'Just go.. he's asked you twice now' Maivish insisted.
'I'll see...' I knew I wasnt going to go but just to get them off my back I said I'd think about it. Sara was willing to change any of her plans to go and even planned to come over the night before so I wouldnt have to go and pick her up before the game. I told her to relax and that I'd tell her tomorrow.

hey thanx for sharing :flower1:
u should keep up with youre writing is it a hobby?

thanx :)

yeah it is... i hope to be a author one day.. not hehe.. na i just write for fun and my sisters read my stuff.. thought id post a bit on here

hey sadzzz i dint know u were into writing..

cool hae yaar...maza aaya parh k :)

Danyaal aur Annie kee shaadi kara do :(

do they or dont they like each other? Annie likes Danyaal but she doesn't know if Danyaal likes her?

Sadzz is this cool story your OWN story or fiction?

And who is Usha???

its all fiction :slight_smile: but a few of the characters in there are my own family members and stuff…

Usha is Daniyal’s ‘friend’… i should have posted the beginning… sorry :hoonh:

My moms name is Usha....

So is Usha Indian? How inneresting..yes do post the beginning.

And from one wannabe writer to another - GO GIRL :)

yeap Usha's an indian girl :) its my friends sister's name... the first name that came to my head :)

thanx karina...

That was very good. Perhaps you could send it to publishers, once you finish it. You never know, someone might like the story and print it.

thanx guys.... :) thanx sadya

ive got the first pit typed if neone is bored enuff to want to read it...

thats really nice ! i wana read the first part :(

sadzz, continue posting...

guys.. i put everthing in a document... pm me if u want to have a read.. i dont wanna overcrowd the thread incase people dont want to read :)

to all the guppies who PM’d… thanx :flower:

lemme know how it goes… and suroor… hold ur horses gal! hehe.. Inshallah i’ll get the next bit for ya

:bummer: