madhoo obviously you have not seen the church of fatima in F-8/4, it used to be the best religious building till Faisal mosque was built. Now the church in G-5 is probably the best church building. There is also a big modern built church in G-7/1, Islamabad has more than 10 churches overall. Lallo na ho to.
Yeah I know all of that and also the one in F-16. It’s a flying church. But you have to be high to attend the service there.
All the churches that you are talking about have been there before Pakistan was created. Moving a building from one place to another doesnt make it new. FC College in Lahore used to be in Delhi Gate…Androon Shehr..now it is at another location.
I just find it ironic that in the US Muslims are a “fast growing” community, while in most Islamic countries (as stated in the Quran I believe), proselytizing for Christianity is a CRIME.
Dare I say the word hypocracy?
Then to complain about some Georgia crackers who are worried about Islam? Hmmmm. Just sorta strikes me as basically unfair…
acha aur sunnay ka program hai phir...sahi hai
Now i cant recall the names of the churches back in fsd but there is one right next to the chenab club. I used to cross it almost everyday on my way to the club. Then there is the huge church on jhall - Centrafil which i'm certain was built after pakistan since my grandfather alotted the land to italian nuns. i'll get back on some more churches in fsd.
That’s exactly the point I am trying to make here Lunatic… you are a Laylpuree,and you have to make an effort to remember where is this church and where is that Church… Lyalpur was the Diocese (still is) and there is a Bishop of (now called) Faislabad. I was very closed to that Diocese, and took courses with them (when it was still allowed). Trust me that no new Church have been sanctioned in Pakistan – because it is not allowed under law. Until Bhutto, you could move your Church from one location to another, or build a cardboard churches in ChoRa colonies, but Zia even changed that.
If some Baptist goes to Faisalabad today, and requests a new church to be built, you think they will let him do that?
In Islamabad, all Churches are old established Churches. Government is under pressure from foreigners to make some provisions for them. The story is not the same in the rest of the country.
The new Cathedral of Faisalabad was built in mid 90’s – (admitted, the land it was built on was adjacent to a missionary school and already owned by the Church). Construction of new Churches needs approval by the local governments, but is NOT banned by law. I have lived in Faisalabad, and take my word that there isn’t a single neighbourhood in the city that would be considered ‘too sensitive’ for the construction of a new Church.
Thank you Zaalim Bhaijan for letting us know that one needs approval from the government to build a Cathedral on Church’s land. What kind of backward country is that?
You can build anything on Church’s ground. We are talking about new Churches. There has always been a Cathedral in Faisalabad… I don’t know of any city in the world where there is more than one Cathedral. Do you know of any?
I qualified my comment with the word 'new' to emphasize that the Cathedral already existed, and only relocated to a new location. As such, the construction of a new building still had to be sanctioned which of course shows that it's not illeagal. Building permits are required for any kind of signifcant construction, I don't know what you are objecting to here.
As far as having two Cathedrals in one city is concerned, I have attended enough services to know otherwise :)
Yes, Westminster is Catholic and St Pauls is the Church of England Episcopalian. It is the same in the US, only Epis and Catholics have Cathedrals. Basilicas are Cathedrals with columns in Italy....