Amir Muwiya's conversion to Islam

Anybody know how and when Amir Muwiyah converted to Islam ?

I never came across his story of Earlier days in Islam.

Was he son of hinda (wife of Abu sufiyan ) or his mother was some other wife ?

Did he take part in any ghazwa ?

I have nothing against him at the moment. Its just for increasing my knowledge about an important personality in Islam.

Please do not post links of other website with details. I am just enquiring some basic info about a person. thanks

Re: Amir Muwiya’s conversion to Islam

I never came across his story of Earlier days in Islam.

You may read it from any authentic source, for e.g Hadrat AMir Muawiya aur tareekhi haqaiq by shaikh Taqi Usmani.

To start with Hadrat Muwaiya :razi: converted along with Hadrat abu Sufiyan :razi: at the time of fatah e Makkah.

Was he son of hinda (wife of Abu sufiyan ) or his mother was some other wife ?

Yes he was son of Hadrat Hinda Raziallah.

**Did he take part in any ghazwa ? **

In most of fights after makkah conquest.Not quoting reference at the moment

Re: Amir Muwiya's conversion to Islam

Well only the lord knows what goes in one's heart and on what darja of emman he stands on ... But having said this , he was one the fellas , who jumped the wagon , once it started running ...

One can even debate that Islam was the only option available at that time - so many people had no choice but to embrace Islam .

To me - he comes before many of us and comes after the early joiners ...

People who embraced Islam during the early days and fought those early battles - they hold more respects among muslim as compare to the people who joined the running train later .

And it was evident in khulfa-e-rashedeeN's era as well ... Badar-e Shabba were paid more out of Maal-e-GanimaT then others !

hmm .. Interesting.

Bao- Thanks for ref of book by Taqi Usmani Sahab. I 've read his one or two books. Those were very interesting but on different topic, basically travelouge and info about various cultures of muslim living in this world for centuries but mostly unknown to us.

So, you are saying he was with Abu Sufiyan at the time of Fatah Makkah. Interesting ! but still Its strange as we read about abu sufiyan ‘s conversion ( obviously not his free will but joining the bandwagon as there was no other option) in school books and it was shown in movie ’ the message’ but there was never any mention of Amir Muaviya in any common book :konfused:

Why Amir Muawiyah 's early days of life are generally hidden from common muslims ? :hmmm:

While re reading the book of Taqi Usmani it is stated on page 260 that -According to Allama Waqidi Hadrat Amir Muwaiya :razi: converted to islam secretly long before Fatah makkah but disclosed it on fatah e makkah.

This is supported by statement of Hadrat Amir Muawiya :razi: and also by the fact that while his father was main leader of kuffar in pre fatah makkah battles, hadrat muawiya did not participated in Badr,Uhud,Khandaq and Hudibya battles.

Amir Muawiya :razi: also participated in Ghazwa Hunain where he was given 100 camels and 40 ouqiya silver as ghaneemat.

You may read the book here

disappointing this, since you are taking from people who dont even believe in the emaan of those who came into islam before fatah Makka!
we do not carry rancur for those who came into faith late or early

from sahaba.net

Abu Sufyan Ibn Harb was a warrior who fought beside the Prophet (pbuh). It was during the battle of Al Ta?ef that Abu Sufyan?s eye was injured. So he went up to the Prophet (pbuh) and said:

?This is my eye, it has been injured for the sake of Allah and Islam.?

The Prophet replied and said:

?Which would you prefer: An eye in heaven or shall I pray to Allah that he brings it back??..

He said: ?Certainly an eye in heaven.?

Abu Sufyan later lost his other eye in a fight on the day of the battle of Yarmouk.

This is a story about one of the Sa7aba who opposed Islam and the Prophet (pbuh) for 21 years and his name in the minds of Muslims is subconsciously affiliated with kufr (disbelief in Islam). Once he embraced the religion of Islam, however, he became a completely different person who gladly gave up his eye for Islam only a few weeks after becoming a Muslim.

btw: Yazid bin Abu Sufyan RA (Muawiya RA elder brother) was highly regarded and attained shahadat whilst leading an islamic conquest around the shaam/palestine area. the ghazwa of turkey was led by Muawiya RA

^ Hadrat Yazid bin sufyan died from plague.

as salaam alaikum, will keep that in mind, i must admit i wrote that from memory. im i right to say Yazid bin Sufyan RA was leader of a group fighting in the cause of Allah SWT around shaam/palestine?

^ Waalikum Assalam

According to Wikipedia

More authentic reference in my opinion is at Page 268 of the book of mufti taqi usmani.
http://www.archive.org/download/Hazr…TaqiUsmani.pdf

Allama Waqidis Fatuhu us Sham has more details. (will search and post online link inshallah)

His earlier days in Islam wudnt be a highlight coz he converted with other hundred thousand.

His Mother was definitely Hinda, edited.

Does it really matter if he took part in Ghazwa's. He lead Siffin and Nahrwaan; wudnt this earn him more than takin part in Ghazwas.

edited

Ali RA said he was a brethren (brother) i'd just like to point out that this is not blood brother but islamic brother, as it was also said they were upon the same religion. in turn off the top of my head Muawiya ra said Ali ra was his cousin, when he threatened the christians

laray be, par phir be BHAI BHAI - SubhanAllah

I havent seen a reply yet edited

:hmmm: Reference from Nehjul Balagha for Hazrat Muawiya (RA)..

Have you ever read Tafseer Ibn e Katheer for last ayats of Sura e** Al-Mumtahina** which deals with the bayat taken by Rasool ullah :saw2: from women of Makkah after Fath e Makkah?

Two things first, I wud love to see the Tafseer of Ibn e Katheer for last 5 ayats of Sura Al Mumtahina, I have a soft copy but i wud like to see em here.

Second, Its not Nehjul Blagha, Its** Sharh Nehjul Blagha**, Al Hadeed isnt a shia, He is a shia critic.

I have done my two points but just as a surprise gift lemme add something else since we r on topic of Mu’awiya and Ibn e Katheer

Ibn e Kathir says in al Bidaya Volume 8 page 135:

“The Sunnah is Mu’awiya should be referred to as king not khaleefa”

Yes Ibn e Katheer's 'al Bidaya' always remained favorite of those who are against Muawiya (RA).. Even the most favorite book of our Shia Brothers written by a Sunni (Molana Modudi) is 70% based on al Bidaya. Can you post any reference from Ibn e Katheer's tafseer and his voluminous history? edited

If i had any, it wud have put it with my last post, none the less Even Katheer said King is more appropriate word for Muawiya not Khaliafa.

edited

:eek: talking against Muawiya (RA) and relying on Hazrat Ayesha (RA)… Kia ye khulla tazad nahin

Shia are like jews, Shia r jews, Shia r chirstians, Kafirs..... U got anything new to divert the topic ?

Mohammed s.a.w VS Abu Sufyaan
Ali a.s VS Mu'awiya
Hussain a.s VS Yazid
me VS you
Its Hashmi vs Ummyads. U dont need to be a Rocket Scientist to see this. I hope u end up with Mu'awiya.

Above is not for you muqawwee123, i think that u know but i just wanted to make sure u knew.

Yes Islam came to highlight the difference between Hashmis & Umayayds. :bummer:

Following conversation took place b/w Rasoolallah (SAW) & Hinda at the time of Bayt mentioned in Surah Mumtahinah.

Hz. Hind Bint Utba[ra] Baite at the Hand of the Prophet[saw]

Hz. Hind[ra] said: “You[saw] are taking pledge from us what you have not taken from men, we are giving it because we agree with you[saw]”
RasoolAllah[saw] Said: " Promise that you will not steal"
Hz. Hind[ra] said: " Other then what I have taken from Abu Sufyan[ra], I did not know it was not permisable for me"
Hz. Abu Sufyan[ra] who present there said:" What ever has reached before today is Halal for you"
RasoolAllah[saw] asked:" Are you Hind bint Utba?"
Hz. Hind[ra]Said:“yes, Forgive my mistakes of the past and Allah will forgive your mistakes"
RasoolAllah[saw] Said: “Promise you will not do Zina”
Hz. Hind[ra] Said:“Do virtious women do Zina”

RasoolAllah[saw] Said:” Promise you will not kill your young ones"
Hz. Hind[ra] Said:" We raised them and you killed them at Badr"
Hz. Umar[ra] who standing near by started smilling at this answer.
RasoolAllah[saw] Said:“Promise you will stay from false accusation[bohtaan]”
Hz. Hind[ra] Said:“This is a very undesirable and filthy act”
RasoolAllah[saw] Said:“Promise you will never go aginst my words”
Hz. Hind[ra] Said:" have we have not come here to follow you in good deeds"
RasoolAllah[saw] asked Hz. Umar[ra] to take the Baite from her, Then RasoolAllah[saw] Made Dua of Maghfira for Hz. Hind[ra]

**Tareekh-e-Tabari, Vol#2, Page#309

Now can we forgive the women, who was forgiven by Rasoolallah :saw2:**