Amir Liaquat Hussain.

Re: Amir Liaquat Hussain.

I try not to judge, but observe. A lay man can observe mega structures and appreciate its design and build. A layman can also differencialte between good poetry and bad poetry, good music and bad music so on and so forth

When you say
then i presume that you have done that research too.

I try to find answers which surface my mind. Somtimes it requires lot of time and effort to find answers of difficult question.... hence the hardwork is inevitable... otherwise i am just an avg joe and dumb as cheesecake

If you read again what i said

I did not find any major technical flaws in his religious knowledge and concepts. A great deal of research is required to achieve this feat.

I am talking about 'moti moti batain'. A person should know about important religious concept and dogma, if he is interested in religion.

Code Red,

Exactly! these 'moti moti baten' are the ones taht count.

I'm gonna try and make this non argumentative b/c thats teh last thing I want to do at the moment.Please read it with a cool mind (thanda dimagh). Thanks.

--There is a difference between knowing your religion and TEACHING it. When this personal knowledge transfers to TEACHING, it brings upon you so much responsibility taht you cannot even imagine as this is not some ordinary scientific hypothesis, its the "Deen".

You mentioned about bringing together harmony between two sects. Shi'et is majorly diff from the sunni sect. And when I say majorly, I mean different emaan, diff aqeedah (the way of performing salaat or the difference of opinions in history come a long way down the list). To give an example, (a teeny one) if a child trips, automatically a shia says "ya ali madad", which to me, is plain shirk. Ali is dead just like Mohammad adn neither can be called upon for help in this world. (I'm honestly hoping this doenst turn into a religious debate now.) When people call in and ask a question, Amir accepts and agrees to both scholars even if their answers are diff. How is that possible? This is not bringing harmony, this is mixing the basic beliefs which will, eventually, effect the upcoming generations. Next step could be just as well be a muslim scholar and a hindu priest bringing together 'harmony'.

As far as the validity of Islamic info is concerned, Someone above has mentioned about the lack of resources adn quotations in the program. Do me a favour...rather do yourself a favour and give Zakir Naik a watch. You'll see the difference.

If you saw Alim Online in fajr this morning, someone called and asked the following:

"Masjid may agar log apni aur apnay jan-nay valon ki jaga reserve karlaitay hain
to kya yeh durust tareeqa'ey kaar hai?"

Now if we apply our commonsense the answer would be -- NO. Masjid Allah ka ghar hai jis pe har namaz parhnay valay ka haq hai, front sif or last. Pehlay ayey, pehlay pae'yay vala hisaab.

the Imams answered : iskay do pehloo hain. 1-if he is a regular masjid-goer and is always offering salaat in the frontmost sif, then he can reserve his place and 2 agar vo shaks namaz parh raha hai aur zyada waqt masjid may hi guzaarta hai aur beech me vazoo karnay gaya hai to apni jaga reserve karsakta hai.

Now,the second one makes sense but the first? It doesnt quite do it for me. Please, if you can find an authentic hadees on this, share it because i may be completely wrong here.

CR- my point is, we shouldn't just blindly follow anyone famous adn I'm not saying you do, it's just a general comment. Questioning isnt wrong.

Another joke (I consider it a joke) that Mr.Hussain made in Alim Online last week was when some guy called in to ask how he can get his first love out of his head and before moving on to the Imams, Mr.Husain told the nation of a 'buzurg''s tale:

(Note: the buzurg and the whole incidence was anon, no references whatsoever)

Get this: Once some guy came to ask the buzurg how to get a girl out of his mind. the buzurg gave the girl laxatives continuously for a week. After a week, the emaciated girl (due to diarrhea) did not look like her beautiful self due to loss of weight. The buzurg asked the young man, do you still love this girl? He said NO! That is not the girl I loved! So the buzurg takes the man to the 'bait ul khala' and shows him her 'fuzla' and says: "it was this fuzla you had loved, not the girl! just her outer beauty which is lying right there!"

I mean, C'MON!!!! This is national television and you're supposed to be TEACHING religion, not mocking it.

I hope I havnet offended you in anyway, it was just my perception and some answers to your questions stated above.

X-Communist- I see your concerns are very valid. I have followed this guy due to these very reason you mentioned in your detailed reply. I fully understand that inviting Aalims from both sects (shia and sunni) and then doing a show asking them opinion on sensitive matters is like walking on a tight rope.

I fully understand the difference of Aqaid and emaan of two sects. Touching the subject is like playing with the fire.

So First of all, we should admire the guy for showing the courage of doing on national tv and doing it successfully ( it is evident from the fact that million of people watch his show , including shia and sunni and feel relaxed)

Just like shia, overwhelming sunni population is drenched in shirk and *shirkya Aqayed. *They all need education... But before educating them you have make them listen to you and trust you... and prove yourself as a wellwisher, a friend.

The dilema of our society is that most of the aalims / religious person who appear on media look aggressive and authoratative. Which make people wary of them. But on the other hand Amir liaqat has opted for a mellow approach and he hits the nail on the head when he say

"Aain hum sub mil kar martaba dil se darood-e-pak parhain Alahuma sale Allah... " He knows saying darood-o-salaam is common practice among both shia and sunii ... and he wins hearts by singing naat.

Now comming back to "moti moti batain"... Just this morning i saw him doing show and telling about hazrat Ali karam allah waju and his life n fazeelat. As he attained martyrdom on this day... He shared the tale of fatah khaibar and then took telephone calls. a woman started talking and saying something like
"germany main ek confrence hoi hazrat ali ki shaan main our confrence ke aakhir main ek aadmi ne kaha ke mujhey samajh nahi ata ke ya tu ye Kainaat Ali na banayee hai, ya phir ye kainaat Ali ke samney banayee gayee hai ... "

She tried to quote from a khutba from Nahajul Balagha but Aamir swiftly droped his call and he said ke This is wrong. Kainaat tu yaqeenan Allah ne hi banayee hai. our Aisi baat karney se hamain bachna chahey keyonkey Ali ke Abdeayat our Allah ki Ulluhiayat do Alag muqamaat hain. In dono ko milaya nahi jasakta, And then he told the lady 'Agar kisi ne germenay main ya kaheen bhi aisi koi baat keh di hai tu aapko issey dohrana nahi chaheye tha'

In short he gave a very straight forward and precise speech as to how we should balance oursleve in expressing love for Ali that if we go beyond limit then we are doomed or if on the other hand if you show abhorrence then again we are hell bound

^ Agreed

CR --

Thanks for considering my pt of view. I missed the german caller and najab ul balgha but yes, you are right, dropping the call and explaining the vahdaniyat of Allah was the smart hting to do.

As far as sunnis and shirk is concerned, you are very right again when you say that a lot of sunnis commit far more shirk than any other believers.

My view differs though, when you say we should credit him for playing with fire and walking on a tight rope. Islam is not fire nor a tight rope. It is such an easy religion that is even easier to follow...its our mullah and sects taht have induced the elements of fire and rope making it ever so difficult to preach/follow.

What I cant seem to understand is how a national scholar like him can agree to two different opinions about religious issues. It's either one or the other.

An example of yesterday's show:

Caller: Kya yeh sahi hai k maut k baad 40 din tak rooh ka talu'q apnay ghar valon say rehta hai?

Sunni Imam: Hamay aisi koi hadees ya ayat nahi milti k jis may 4 ya 40 din ka talu'q ho. Yeh aisay mamlaat hain k jin pe na Allah aur na hi Rasool ne zyada roshni dali ho.

A.L.Hussain: Ji, beyshak bilkul theek.

Shia Imam: Agar insaan k naik amaal rahay hongay to uski rooh ghar asakti hai, apnay ghar valon ka haal daykh sakti hai, sukh dukh daykh sakti hai. Agar bad-amaaal rahay hongay to aisa nahi hosakta. Naik amaal valay ki rooh non-defined period tak visit karsakti hai kyoun k uskay dunyavi amaal naik they.

CodeR, it's not because of his alleged fake degree that I disagree with teh man. THis accusation came into the news quite a while after his show 'alim online' was aired. I have followed him for some time and to me, how can i trust a person to guide me religiously when he agrees to two diff beliefs at the same time? Which one should I follow? And its not just him that I question. I follow Dr. Israr Ahmed and Dr.Zakir Naik also, all for my own satisfaction.

Reciting the durood isnt something to credit him with (not to mention the clearing of throat and then pushing the play button on a recorded naat towards the end of the show)....you and I recite it atleast 10 times a day ourselves during fardh namaz. It is fardh to recite it daily (during namaz). If he's doing it with two scholars present, no big deal.

The main thing that needs to be paid attention to is the burden of responsibility this guy or any other scholar carries by teaching the nation religion. You either know it or you dont. I would rather go for a scholar who will excuse himself at times by saying, "I do not know the correct reference to such and such but I will get back to you once I look it up", than someone who is plainly misleading.

You adn I can be wrong about our religious beliefs but we can always research and correct ourselves. But the minute you adn I start to preach, we have to be damn sure about our knowledge. This isnt techniques of tennis or guesses on how the egg implants in the womb--.

Anyways, my original question was whether he's shia or not --only because of the way he agrees to the shia imams (I was confused) and I believe a lot of ppl have answerd it already.

May Allah guide us all on the path that is right.

I frankly love the part ...when for every Question asked the Sunni and Shias answers always resembles ...unbelievable to imagine that some of them will go to a level where they just want to kill each other.May be its just their language of interpreting Qurran and Sunnah which differs ...like the used different terminologies to describe the same thing but its a great program to watch....and the Ramadhan Nasheed is just beautiful.

I am starting to like this guy.

You are welcome :flower1:

**As far as sunnis and shirk is concerned, you are very right again when you say that a lot of sunnis commit far more shirk than any other believers.

My view differs though, when you say we should credit him for playing with fire and walking on a tight rope. Islam is not fire nor a tight rope. It is such an easy religion that is even easier to follow…its our mullah and sects taht have induced the elements of fire and rope making it ever so difficult to preach/follow.**

So you agree it is a mess now, some one has to do the dirty work of cleaning the mess and misconceptions :slight_smile:

** What I cant seem to understand is how a national scholar like him can agree to two different opinions about religious issues. It’s either one or the other.
An example of yesterday’s show:

Caller: Kya yeh sahi hai k maut k baad 40 din tak rooh ka talu’q apnay ghar valon say rehta hai?

Sunni Imam: Hamay aisi koi hadees ya ayat nahi milti k jis may 4 ya 40 din ka talu’q ho. Yeh aisay mamlaat hain k jin pe na Allah aur na hi Rasool ne zyada roshni dali ho.

Shia Imam: Agar insaan k naik amaal rahay hongay to uski rooh ghar asakti hai, apnay ghar valon ka haal daykh sakti hai, sukh dukh daykh sakti hai. Agar bad-amaaal rahay hongay to aisa nahi hosakta. Naik amaal valay ki rooh non-defined period tak visit karsakti hai kyoun k uskay dunyavi amaal naik they.

You see he (Aamir Liaqat ) is not a scholar in that show but merely a host. The scholars are those two people he invite and people ask questions to them. he is just conducting the show. his saying bilku theek is like Ok thankyou for the answer. It is just like Hamid mir conducting Capital Talk. He also invites politician from both ends and agrees with their response.
The agreement by a host does not reflect his personal approval. it just means acknowledgement of their answer.

** CodeR, it’s not because of his alleged fake degree that I disagree with teh man. THis accusation came into the news quite a while after his show ‘alim online’ was aired. I have followed him for some time and to me, how can i trust a person to guide me religiously when he agrees to two diff beliefs at the same time? Which one should I follow? And its not just him that I question. I follow Dr. Israr Ahmed and Dr.Zakir Naik also, all for my own satisfaction.

**His role is not question or scrutinize them but to act as moderator in that show, his duty is to act as a mode of communication between caller and Aalim. In my view the two scholars from different SOT make the show interesting. As many time i have seen sunni guy crumbling and giving a very hollow answer but shia dude explaining it better, and vice versa.
Reciting the durood isnt something to credit him with (not to mention the clearing of throat and then pushing the play button on a recorded naat towards the end of the show)…you and I recite it atleast 10 times a day ourselves during fardh namaz. It is fardh to recite it daily (during namaz). If he’s doing it with two scholars present, no big deal.
I certainly have no problem if you dislike the guy or his voice or his style. That is purely personal.

Btw, saying darud in namaz is sunnat not farz, according to fiqah hanafia.

** The main thing that needs to be paid attention to is the burden of responsibility this guy or any other scholar carries by teaching the nation religion. You either know it or you dont. I would rather go for a scholar who will excuse himself at times by saying, “I do not know the correct reference to such and such but I will get back to you once I look it up”, than someone who is plainly misleading.
I agree.

Y**ou adn I can be wrong about our religious beliefs but we can always research and correct ourselves. But the minute you adn I start to preach, we have to be damn sure about our knowledge. This isnt techniques of tennis or guesses on how the egg implants in the womb–.
different scholar have different level of understandign and different techniques of preaching some we find easy to understand and some we find repulsive. thus we can always choose the one we find best for our liking. there is no compulsion

Please checkout this documentary shared by a friend of mine…

Amir Liaqat Ka Asli Chehra | PKColumns
cant believe someone can fall to this extent…

he should get Oscar for his renowned acting prowess. :S

why is geo still showing his programs…??

^ jazakallah!

During one of his episodes he allowed his guests to say that it was alright to kill Ahmadis as they are Kaafir. He sat without objecting and in fact smiled from time to time and made it okay to spread words of hatred and violence. As a result, 2 Ahmadis have been killed in the past 10-15 days. One of them was doctor working in Sindh. See this link for more info.

How is it accepable for a someone on International television to intice poeple to kill others!!! Have we not learned anything? Don’t enough people die in pakistan in suicide bombings that we now need to encourage people to kill others based on their religious belief?

For those of you who don’t understand urdu…

Amir Liaquat comes accross with confidence and good strong verbeage. Makes him sound like he's a mufti. But like mentioned above, his credibility has been questioned time and time again, so we should really limit our source of knowlege to established scholars and qualified aalims and not self claimed hero type TV personalities.

Nadeem Farooq Paracha puts it all simply and right on the head.

SMOKERS CORNER: Boot Point -DAWN Magazine; September 21, 2008
SMOKERS CORNER: Boot Point
By Nadeem F. Paracha

It was inevitable. Former minister and host of a religious TV show, Dr Aamir Liaquat, who is also known for delivering highly animated and dramatically choreographed numbers, was recently thrown out by his party, the Mutahidda Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Party chief Altaf Hussain and the MQM Rabita Committee cancelled his membership after accusing him of spreading religious hatred through his TV shows and going against party policies. The same day an English-language daily blamed an unnamed religious talk show of inciting the murder of two Ahmadis in Lahore. Many believe the show in question was the one hosted by Dr Liaquat. If so, then his firing too was inevitable.

Now imagine, in this Land of the Pure, where men have been known to have gone psychotic by killing Christians, Hindus and members of different Muslim sects at a provocative call given by a fanatic, what effect such religious talk shows are having on the collective psyche of society? A society whirling helplessly inside a dangerous socio-political flux in which even the most sensible men and women are looking at everyone but themselves to put the blame on whatever that has gone wrong in the spheres of economics, politics and religion in Pakistan on someone else.

Just as there is a serious lack of objectivity, responsibility or sometimes simple decency in most political TV talk shows, religious shows too are riddled with a warped display of what could best be described as narcissist anarchy. It is a reckless exhibition of love-for-the-self and loathing-for-the-other that overwhelms any realisation associated with the notion of consequences. Thus, some so-called religious talk shows, too, are adding to the already hysterical, self-righteous and dangerously paranoid concepts of morality and faith doing the rounds these days.

There was already a feeling in the MQM that Dr Liaquat had become too big for his boots, even though the MQM also suggests that it was due to the party’s influence that he got the chance to bag his own show on a TV channel. The show began as an attempt to bring together scholars from various Islamic sects that exist in Pakistan and rescue the religion from factionalism and misinterpretation.

However, soon he too started to experience the same kind of careless celebrity complex his political talk show peers got afflicted with, leaving him to toe a hard line that his more hard-edged televangelist contemporaries like Dr Israr Ahmed and Zaid Hamid are known for. Interestingly, some of Liaquat’s more moderate sympathisers suggest that though most of his political and religious talk show contemporaries who suffer from the same celebrity complex that blinds them about the repercussions their sophomoric brand of sensationalism triggers, unlike Liaquat they come in with hardboiled political and social agendas to push. Supposedly, Dr Liaquat’s complex does not come attached with a personal agenda other than mere self-glorification.

This makes sense, because whereas most political talk show hosts and Islamic televangelists on various channels have off and on been accused of using their new celebrity status to push forward certain right-wing and reactionary strains of politics and religion, Dr Liaquat does not have any such agenda. Instead, and as the MQM believes, he is over-smitten by his celebrity, but so much so that he is now ready to become a mouthpiece for even the most sectarian line of thought if this would sustain his popularity.

Along with the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Awami National Party (ANP), the MQM has evolved into a prominent secular party. But it has been more demonstrative of its credentials as compared with the PPP and the ANP, both of which are being seriously challenged not only by extremists in Swat and Waziristan, but also by large chunks of an urban middle class that is rapidly being plagued by a highly schizophrenic streak. It is from this class that most of the TV talk show hosts and televangelists are emerging.

This leads to a rather potent point: many of the political and religious TV shows anchored by hosts who hold masqueraded sympathies for Islamists and TV shows in which televangelists passionately give western countries a convoluted verbal bashing, some even calling them economic terrorists. Ever noticed how each one of these shows are punctuated by a gazillion commercial breaks, most stuffed with commercials of products made by western multinationals?

I mean, if, say, the likes of Hamid Mir are always so incensed by western interference in, and influence over, our affairs and they are so sympathetic towards those fighting a war against the West, how can they allow their shows to be sponsored by western multinationals? The truth is that if there are no multinationals sponsoring their shows there will perhaps be no show at all.

A piece of advice to these brave souls and revolutionary media mujahids is to rise and be the first to set an example by boycotting the multinationals and their sponsorships. They should tell their seths that their shows will not accept advertising money from the economic lackeys of western imperialism perpetrating economic terrorism. Do the show free of cost in the larger interests of Islam and Pakistan!

Everyone, please take a minute and send this appeal to get Amir Liaquat Hussain off the air. (It’ll only take a minute…click on the link below)

PAKISTAN: Two persons murdered after an anchor person proposed the widespread lynching of Ahmadi sect followers

The question was he is Shia or Sunni
the Answer is HE IS SUNNI INDEED
why u people are fighting for his degrees or his political affiliation?

looks like he (paracha) has become the mouthpiece of the MQM these days. The only reason why aamir liaqat was kicked out of the MQM (or forced to quit) was because he was becoming too powerful and could have jeapordized altaf’s position as party leader). Thats how things work in the MQM, which is run like a mafia.

I am not too fond of aamir liaqat but then again, blaming him for the deaths is absurd, its like blaming grand theft auto for any baseball bat beating/murder that occurs around the world.

I agree Spock but Geo should disassociate itself from Liaqat. He is inciting violence against the law..if the roles were reversed he would have been arrested.

**Dr.Amir Layaquat is nore a shia nore a sunni. He's a fraudster who changes his beliefs merely for monetary purposes. He's a taqya baaz, i have seen his clips. Just a mere fraudster in short , if you want to read more , there's plenty to read.

****KARACHI, March 9: He is the most high profile Parliamentarian of Altaf
Hussain's Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) and is also projecting himself as Altaf Bhai's successor, should something happen to the MQM leader in London.

He is the blue-eyed boy of General Pervez Musharraf as the General telephones him after hearing his dramatic preachings on the TV. He is the most versatile preacher of Islamic values and morals on home TV screens round the clock. He is a prolific speaker and a successful fund-raiser for charities. He is a junior Minister for Religious Affairs in the huge cabinet of Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz.

But in addition to all these qualifications, young, dapper and the stylish member of the National Assembly from Karachi, "Dr." Aamir Liaquat Hussain, is a fake and a fraud.

In a stunning investigation by Karachi Urdu Daily "Ummat" it has been documented and proved that Dr Aamir purchased fake University degrees to contest the 2002 general election, forced the Karachi University officials to authenticate these degrees in a single day and prevented any investigations by the newspaper to dig deep into the unavailable records at the University.**

I GOT MORE INFORMATION WITH THE REFERENCES BUT I CANNOT POST BECAUSE IT SAYS NEED 25 POSTS OR MORE....