Re: Ami, abu, mum, dad...
my kids call me Uummi [means my mother] and their father Abbi means my father.
y do u need to make things sound complicated from wat u wrote abbi means ur father or their father n uummi ur mother or theirs? jeez just say they call me ammi n their father abbi
wow!! ur mom from bathinda??? omg i am in love with that place!!! and like i always say bathinde kothi ppaade!!![]()
twannu mil kar khushi hoyi!!!
i call daddy, papa!!
anwyays i call my mumsy, cutie pie, babe, sweetu, darling
infront of others i call her mumsy dearest, mummy jeeeee, maaaaaaaa
she calls me bitya rani, meri jaan, janu, soney, meri teee(as in punjabi for daughter) she usually uses meri teee as in meri teee aithey aiii meaning my daughter come here…
i woulld like my children inshallah to call me anything they like
but not my name!!! i dont want them to be like goraas with no respect for their parents and calling them by their first names ..
i wouldnt want my kid to call me by saying aisha can i have this , aisha this aisha that!!![]()
as long as whatever they are calling me has love associated with it i dont mind:)
We call our dad "Baba jani" and my mum "Mamma" ...well it used to be Ma ma ...but then somehow it evolved into Mamma...hehe
My dadi dada lived in Saudia for a year or 2 and that's what most kids call their dad there.... Baba or babajani...so my dadi loved it so much that when I was born as the first kid ever in the family...that's what I was asked to call my dad...and then later on...all the kids in the family...like my chachoo's children n all...call them Baba as well...
I know I should come up with something new...but I think Baba sounds so cute that I would want my kids to call thier dad by that...:D
I call my Mother Ammi ,maa and my father Abu, Baba jaani
Re: Ami, abu, mum, dad…
Me:Mama and abbuji
My kids (in the future inshallah): mummy and baba jaani ![]()
yeah baba jaani sounds shoo shweeeet!..:)
Mama
and i call my mom mama or sometimes ammi jaan too
Do you realize that a child calling a parent “ami, mom, mommy, mummy” is a social construct? ? ?
If a child uses a parent’s name, I don’t see how that implies disrespect unless the perception is present that using a parents name is disrespectful.
When we have kids, inshaAllah, they can call us by our names. I don’t find that disrespectful, neither does Matt.
We don’t really care what the rest of society thinks so it works out quite well. . .b/c in our household, using names is not disrespectful.
You contradict yourself, a parent’s name can also be said with tons of love ![]()
i dont want them to be like goraas with no respect for their parents and calling them by their first names ..
I dont' know any goray who call their parents by their names like that, how many have u met who Do?
i dont want them to be like goraas with no respect for their parents and calling them by their first names ..
I'm with Sara on this, I don't know any white people whose kids call them by their first names, how many do YOU know that do this?
But this is a very interesting thread. This is an upcoming discussion for us because Steff wants to be called "ammi" which is what I call my mom and which is what Steff calls my mom. I call my dad "abbu or abbu ji" and she wants me to be called the same, but I prefer "baba".
I call my parents ammi ji and abu ji..
I would prefer my kids call me ami/amma and him baba. But, in the end, whatever they want to call us, i wouldn't have a problem with it.
my brothers son calls him BABA jan and Ama jan
and i would want my kids to call me same.
it sound weired when someone calls their parents MUMMY or DADDY
mum or dad is fine aswell
Ammi Jee and Abbu Jee ![]()
Ammi and Abbu.
As for what my kids will be calling me, no preference, but Mrs. wants them to call me papa.
Ammi and Abbu.
As for what my kids will be calling me, no preference, but Mrs. wants them to call me papa.
*burger *bachey *papa *kehtey hain
kuj hosh kar mundeya
i say moam and daahd...in front of paksitani people i refer to them as ami and abu when talking about them but i never call them that ..i dont know y i just cant..its too weird and pakiish for me..
i dont have nay preferences of what my future chidrne will call me that is if god decides to give me kidz..i guess i dont really care what htey call me..im not very interested in kids anywayzz..ill c when the time comes..
i call my parents, mom, maa, mommy (she doesn't like mommy)..and call my dad paapaa...
*burger *bachey *papa *kehtey hain
kuj hosh kar mundeya
She thinks abbu sounds like a serious and scary figure :D Mein tou kahta tha k abbu kah liya karein........chalo jab inshallah bachey hongey tou phir iss topic par dobara baat karengey :D