Why do they have this mentality of Pakistani females raised in America are not virgins statistically? I don't think this is the main concern for Westerners Pakistani men to marry women back home... They want to bring a wife from home so they can control her as well as use the stereotype of being shareef and gharelu.
While some families are probably backwards in that they want a girl who's easy to control, I think for most guys, marrying a girl from back home has the added benefit of reinforcing cultural ties to Pakistan. As Muslim as someone raised in the West is, culturally, you are an American/Canadian etc. Same for girls marrying guys from Pakistan, but there are work related issues with that.
Some women in this thread are being overly defensive and just going off on guys who marry girls from Pakistan, you guys are kind of reinforcing the stereotypes of girls from abroad. There are good and bad people from all countries.
While some families are probably backwards in that they want a girl who's easy to control, I think for most guys, marrying a girl from back home has the added benefit of reinforcing cultural ties to Pakistan. As Muslim as someone raised in the West is, culturally, you are an American/Canadian etc. Same for girls marrying guys from Pakistan, but there are work related issues with that.
Some women in this thread are being overly defensive and just going off on guys who marry girls from Pakistan, you guys are kind of reinforcing the stereotypes of girls from abroad. There are good and bad people from all countries.
I dont know any guy that voluntarily made the choice to go to Pakistan to get married.............its usually the parents' insistence.
I am a girl raised here in the west and I am very proud to say that I go clubbing, smoke 2 packs a day, I like my tequila and my mini-dresses (Kim K's bandage dresses are to DIE for). I also don't pray 5 times a day, and I despise anything desi including anything bollywood. My hair's blue right now, and I think that parents should be put in an old home as soon as possible. I have had numerous boyfriends, and I have had live-in partners too.
I dont know any guy that voluntarily made the choice to go to Pakistan to get married.............its usually the parents' insistence.
Fair enough, but the reasoning for the parents' insistence could be that they perceive a girl from Pakistan to be more in tune with their culture. It's not always that they want a girl they can control. That's all I was saying. Maybe my family is more liberal but I'm honestly shocked by some of the things I read about on here, parents forcing their kids etc.
And if these guys are that whipped by their moms that they'll make a life decision based on her whims, then they need to grow a pair. I'm all for respecting my parents and listening to their input but I have the final say and my parents expect that of me. After a certain age, unless I was doing cocaine or something, my mom and dad expected me to make all decisions on my own and they would simply tell me what their thoughts were, but never forced me.
I am a girl raised here in the west and I am very proud to say that I go clubbing, smoke 2 packs a day, I like my tequila and my mini-dresses (Kim K's bandage dresses are to DIE for). I also don't pray 5 times a day, and I despise anything desi including anything bollywood. My hair's blue right now, and I think that parents should be put in an old home as soon as possible. I have had numerous boyfriends, and I have had live-in partners too.
I can haz gora huzband now?
Lol perfect for desi guys looking for white girls.
I can haz gora huzband now?
off topic but I was at a concert last night and I saw this girl wearing the sluttiest, trashiest dress. I thought she was maybe hispanic or something, and then she had a thick desi accent and started talking about some bollywood movie...eurgh.
^ One of my brothers is marrying a girl from Pakistan, but it was his choice (and hers, obviously). She did go to college here, but she grew up in Pakistan. They met in the US.
My other brother is marrying a girl mostly raised in the US.
My parents didn't pressure them one way or another. But Pakistani heritage and Muslim faith were of supreme importance.
I personally think its just easier to get along with one another, if you were brought up in the same environment.
You can have more in common and share similar interests, and then the guy and girl don't have to do too much adjusting on top of already getting to adjust to married life and all the craziness that comes with that.
If you were born and raised in US, it makes sense to marry someone from USA instead of marrying someone from Pakistan. But then why do Pakistani guys in USA still end up looking for a wife in Pakistan rather than USA (besides cousin marriage ;))? Just wondering.
a. guy tells his wife, Ajj Biryaani khanay ka mood ho raha hai. Wife: ajj to kafi dair ho gai hai aur main thaki hoi hoon Inshallah kal bana doon gi.
b. guy tells his wife, Ajj Biryaani kahanay ka bhot mood ho raha
wife : 1. Mera bhi app XYZ resturant sey ley aao na .... Husband: okay or Bahir sey khani hoti to ley ker aata na
2. So why r u tellin me.... Dont expect me to act like a typical pakistani wife... who is gona cook and clean for u. We r both equal. Husband :|
3. Kitchen bhi hain hath bhi hain bartan bhi... Online recipe dhondoo aur bana lo.
a. guy tells his wife, Ajj Biryaani khanay ka mood ho raha hai. Wife: ajj to kafi dair ho gai hai aur main thaki hoi hoon Inshallah kal bana doon gi.
b. guy tells his wife, Ajj Biryaani kahanay ka bhot mood ho raha
wife : 1. Mera bhi app XYZ resturant sey ley aao na .... Husband: okay or Bahir sey khani hoti to ley ker aata na
2. So why r u tellin me.... Dont expect me act like a typical pakistani wife... who is gona cook and clean for u. We r both equal. Husband :|
3. Kitchen bhi hain hath bhi hain bartan bhi... Online recipe dhondoo aur bana lo.
If you were born and raised in US, it makes sense to marry someone from USA instead of marrying someone from Pakistan. But then why do Pakistani guys in USA still end up looking for a wife in Pakistan rather than USA (besides cousin marriage ;))? Just wondering.
they do???? I don't see it.
IMO they are more likely to identify more with the American Muslim ways and not choose a pakistani girl all together.
I think both American/British desi and Desi desi have few good and few bad things.
Desi/desi are
1. Offcourse desi are more respectful.
2. Willing to do more for husband even if they think its unfair
3. Bring Cultural values in family.
American/British desi
1. They dont need to adopt the culture you are living in, Desi desi's have hard time doing that.
2. More open minded.
3. Hard working.... They will manage to Study/ Work and then take care of the house .... So they want husband to chip in thats where you think they dont give enough time to family.
There are more things we can put but again you might find a American/British Desi or Desi desi wife who has all of the above qualities. I think guy shld pay more attention to how smart the girl is rather then where she is coming from.
Disclaimer: this post is just my opinion , I can definitely be wrong
Willing to do more for husband even if they think its unfair
Of course that's a positive....for the man. :)
I love how if a woman is willing to take everything, even abuse, from a man, it's seen as her adhering to cultural values but if a man gives his wife consideration, he's considered too Ameircanized.
Gotta love hypocrisy of desis (desi desi AND abcd/bbcd/adofkjsafdodd desis)