American Pakistanis

Re: American Pakistanis

well thats just not in USA but happens in UK too. I guess the reason to do this are:

1) some assume British/USA born Asian wives cannot be a good mother...a Pakistani wife will be obedient.
2) they want a pakistani wife so that there is someone who can teach the kids cultural values/things (urdu for eg).
3) And it could be that out of all the rishtas they liked the Pakistani girl more than the

plus not just for guys...it happens with Uk/Usa born asian girls too that end up marrying someone from pak again for the same reasons above.
I can only see these reasons...rest god knows.

Really?

Most of the time its because of:

a) the guy's a cousin
b)VISA

I may be completely wrong though, just my guesses.

When men are looking to get married, they need a person who is culturally a Pakistani, someone who understands and speaks our native language at home rather than english, has the same tastes and fashions as a typical Pakistani. enjoys the same jokes/activities etc. It is very difficult to find those qualities in girl born and bred in the US/UK/Canada. The men are looking not only for their own compatibility but also how easy would it be for their spouse to fit in with his family, some of whom might not like speaking english at home, all the time. All these factors become even more important in the future when the man would have kids, so he can ensure that his children are knowledgeable of the Pakistani culture and values of his family. All this doesn't mean that there aren't Pakistani girls born and bred in the west but still have our cultural and religious values, it is just a little difficult to find them. So the easy way to guarantee that your future spouse would follow your cultural values is to marry someone from Pakistan

Er talk about yourself buddy :hehe:

I’ve found girls in UK or Canada etc with more cultural values in them the ones back home. I am generalising but I admit it :smiley:

yup usually those are the common reasons...but i have kind of seen that girls who are into wrong path as in disobey their parents.... their parents think a dude from pak will be good for them before they end up running with someone.....also visa thing is a benefit for the dude...what benefit do the girl or her parents get in calling the guying all over from pak and going through the visa hassle?...i mean no one would do it free of cost i am assuming thats what they want a Pakistani husband and they give greed of the visa.

rest again god knows

In the case of the cousin marriage situation, 55% of British Pakistanis are married to first cousins and in Bradford 75% according to Times Online: Latest news & breaking headlines | The Times and The Sunday Times

Explains a lot…:hehe:

Don’t they just love us :wub: How many other cultures do they research so much? I feel special, aww! =/

The OP bemoaned the fact that (and I quote) “Pakistani guys in USA still end up looking for a wife in Pakistan rather than USA”; I responded by citing how families of Pakistani American girls also tend to prefer Pakistani husbands for their daughters. In my case, I actually chose a Pakistani guy over several Pakistani American ones.

Hence, generalizing in this regard is faulty. Unless there are actual statistics to substantiate it.

I was born n rAised in Pakistan and my hubby is American,kar lo Jo karna hai :snooty:

Yeah right !!!!!!
speak for girls in your area
I was born bred and english thru n thru no desi friends not any asians in our area...
but mum taught us more Islamic values than most pakistani girls that I know
I married a cousin in Pakistan and have survived here ....
alhumdolilah have given my children good moral social and islamic values,how they carry them through life will be their prerogative

my cousin always goes on about not wanting to marry a girl from the west....me thinks larki walay refusing these kinda guys thats why they complain...

Because they're told by their mothers that its better for them to marry back home. Usually, its an arranged marriage and families are looking for someone who can come to the US and live in a family environment.

Also, lots of people (see below) assume they will not find a Pakistani girl with good moral and cultural values in the US. What happens is they go back to Pakistan, find a sehmi chup chaap girl, bring her back to the US, have kids in the US (must make sure they're citizens you know), raise them in the US and then become part of the stock that complains about why people go back to Pakistan to find girls. :)

Usually, most people in the US are very much religiously aware and connected with their culture.

People come here, get their education here, struggle night and day to gain residency here (or not), raise their kids here.....................and then trash the women that live here at the end of the day.

So much for culture and religion in our Pakistanis.

Could it be that desi guy and his mom and sisters just want control? don't they usually look for bholi quiet girls when they go on their rishta hunt

So was I. :snooty:

… Or perhaps they like to be pampered like desans, but have that larakoo gori attitude as well..

Oo oo, I think I am blurring the boundaries of sarcasm… :smiley:

How many of you actually teach your children urdu or punjabi whatever as kids? Or perhaps I am mistaken by culture that you meant islamic culture a.k.a. arab culture.

Good chances are mothers of ABCD’s/BBCD’s/CBCD’s etc. girls are Pakistani.

So why bash men marrying Pakistani women? :smack:

Why can’t these girls be relaxed, its not that girls in these countries not getting married to desi men. yes they are. Plenty of them are being chosen by desi men.

Besides it goes both ways, some of these girls who are brought up in foreign lands DO have too much of dreams and expectations and negative thoughts about inlaws, desi culture..etc. and above all desi men themselves. They take the meaning of equality as similaity. :hehe:

The point is that marriage should be considered a free choice.

If desi men want girls from Pakistan then so be it.

Their choice.

I dont know any family that doesnt teach their children Urdu or Punjabi and doesnt stress religious education.

diwana,

Go to sleep…lagta hai apko neend arahi hai…:hehe:

Accha, Tuo Hum,

Chaltay Hain!

:yawn: