American citizenship and second wife.

This guy I know is married to a nice Pakistani woman , but then he went to Pakistan and Married second time while he was still married to her. This lady in USA sponsored her for green card and citizenship. Now he is demanding a divorce from her and wants to bring the other one from Pakistan to USA and keep both of them under same roof. :mad3: I am furious and I told her to go and tell the INS/CIS about his second wife and make sure that she never lands here.
Is this possible that once she complains to authorities , they will cancel his citizenship and deport him because he committed polygamy which is not allowed as per US laws ?

There is no compromise here because he is a drug addict and has beaten her many a times to force her to give him money to buy drugs. She works and makes reasonable amount of money. He works but does not make enough money to finance his addiction.
She wants to throw him out in the streets now but does not have enough courage. How can I help her out ?

Re: American citizenship and second wife.

Wow, that's sad. She should definitely call INS ASAP.

If she has her own place to live and is making good money, she's already in a better position than most battered/abused women (which she is).

What a disgusting excuse for a human being the dude is.

Have her call the cops on him. Also, tell her to sue him thru an attorney. I dont think she will be able to do anything until there is proof that he has married someone in pakistan.

Best to report such cases.

Report to INS BUT before she does anything...she needs to think out a plan for herself. What she needs to get from him, document wise to prove he is married to another woman and whatnot.

Tell her not to act in haste or make him aware of what she is doing, consult an attorney first and then make a move.

Are you the only one who is furious or is she furious too?

What a lowlife.. Hope she is ok..

thats very sad. yes she should report him. isko marta hai tou jo pak se ayegi pata nahi shayad uske saath bhi yehi kare. tell usa one that you are with her and will help her thoroughly and that she should report to ins/cis as soon as possible (ofcourse before that she needs the proof that he has already married) but give her the courage that you are there for her help and that you will go when she has to go to cis. i guess she scared that there is no one to help her and that she cannot take this step without anyones's help. good luck

Before she reports him, ask her to get a lawyer. If hubby can produce evidence that she was an abusive wife or not loyal then he is free as a bird, so before she reports him, she wants to make sure that her record is clean

Unfortunately there is no such thing as canceling the citizenship.. if they were lawfully married until he got the citizenship and there was no fraud on either sides, there is no going back.. he will be able to keep his citizenship but she should definitely contact a lawyer regarding the situation.

If he is a drug addict.. why would she want to stay with him anyway?

Anyway, you can find more information on your own at this website.. www.visajourney.com (check in Effects of Major Family Changes on Immigration Benefits ) but lawyer would be great in this case!

This. Then get his abusive ass into jail. What a ****!

What the........

I agree... plan things get docs and kick his sorry ass out and make him pay for all this

very sad :hinna:

Firstly, let's talk about the immigration issue. IF the guy already received his U.S. citizenship, then there's no point in contacting the USCIS. They might make it harder for the guy to get green card for his 2nd wife....but USCIS doesn't take away citizenship that easily. BUT...if the guy does not have citizeship yet, and currently is a permanent resident (ie. green card holder), then all the wife has to do is send a notarized letter to USCIS stating that she's withdrawing her sponsorship of him and the she believes he married her only to obtain immigration benefits (ie. committed marriage fraud).

At the end of the day, you can not help someone who doesn't want to be helped. This woman has a job and makes decent $....so she's not dependant on her husband financially. You didn't mention kids so I'm assuming there's no children in this marriage. And he's a drug addict. If all this isn't enough to make the 1st wife WANT to leave him....then there's not much you can do. The only thing I can think of is that you encourage her to get into counselling so she gets some self-confidence.

I don't think that INS would say this is a non-issue. They do take it very seriously. I think reporting will help her. Even if they don't take his citizenship away, they can put charges or felonies against him (police will for reporting domestic abuse) for which he will be restricted to do a lot of things or even serve jail time. His life will be screwed with having criminal background with even those charges.

I have a relative who went thru this. A guy married her only to get citizenship. In the course of 5 yrs of their marriage they had 2 kids. They guy left her after getting citizenship. She told the INS the whole deal. Last time we checked he was in Pakistan, but I think any time he wants to come to the US, he'll have to serve jail time for all the criminal charges against him. He won't have a career, a decent job etc

one of my friend's relative went thru this she not only got him settled in his USA but also his whole family and this happened in like 8-9 years. She even funded his education. When the guy got completely settled with his citizenship he left her his family supported him and he married again. She did not do anything against him. But in my opinion this woman should stand up for herself. It really does not matter if she would be able to get his citizenship cancelled but atleast she should do what is in her hands. Report him & make him go through hell.

I have seen and known women who left their painful marriages when they were financially dependent and later made a life for themselves. This woman appears to be in a much better position. When Allah closes one door he opens another. All she needs is courage and everything will get better with the passage of time.

Pakistani men are all douchebags....true story !

No.. I married a Pakistani man. He is the most wonderful person in my life!
And if you think just us women have bitter things to say about Pakistani men.. umm OP is a guy right?

^ :k: