Am I right in thinking this is classed as shirk?

I have been listening to lots of naats and nasheeds recently in place of my usual music and I’ve found that a lot of them contain the words Ya Rasoolallah Ya Habibullah Ya Mustafa etc. so I deleted these from my phone. As we are not supposed to call upon anyone other that Allah, is this shirk?
I’ve now started to doubt some of my other naats which havent actually got those words in them but as they are partly in arabic I might not be understanding them right. And even the urdu ones are quite difficult to understand.

Re: Am I right in thinking this is classed as shirk?

Both sides have strong arguments about this issue. Now it is up to you whatever your heart says and whatever convinces you follow that.
You are already convinced that saying Ya Rasool Allah is shirk , now what else are you looking for ? Do you want to be convinced the other way ?
I listen to Qawalian , Naat , Nasheed , but only to those which I think are consistent to my beliefs and provide me spiritual peace and tranquility.

yp agree with u , Ya word in only suitable for Allah .

your not understanding the context which these words are being said. yes no doubt there are some who commit this act of shirk by believing that those who they call can cause benefit then may Allah guide them.

but the context which they say is not that! they are merely asking for the pious' intercession which is valid. it's nothing about belief, just a difference of opinion within schools.

Yaa Al Mirch wa Yaa akhi al cricketplaya...! Sadaqa al mirch wa sadaqa cricketplaya.

But why is it that most naats have these words?

well the naats these days, i believe you refer to the ones in pakistan, are mostly read by people who attach themselves to the prophet so much.. what can we say.. there are some in this group that go to extreme.

other than that, you can say anything like "good business" "marketing" "attractiveness" "catchy".. afterall it's a business :(

Because according to the beliefs of those who write them, read them , sing them, listen to them it is not shirk to say that .

what do you say when you visit a muslim graveyard… Kindly put it down here…

PS: it is related to the topic as well…

PS 2: do you believe in sending “salam” to Prophet:saw2: (at least at his roza-e-mubaarak)?

u beter elaborate it by urself AQ ?

I don't think it is shirk, ya rasool Allah is used in a different context and ya Allah is used as a different context.

When i was learning Arabic ( not very well) our arabic teacher used translate "Ya" as Ai....as Ai muhammed bin Qasim, come here!

maybe its in that sense!

^^ which suggest that it means to call or call upon someone. How can you call someone who is not present?

^^ May be u have not heard the Hadees Qudsi . Allah said " O Prophet(pbuh), I would have not made this Universe if you had not there "

May be u also forgot the Hadees of Prophet(pbuh) " whoever sends me Durood, I myself listen to it "

There are hundreds of Sufia in isllamic history who used to see, talk, and learn Quran from Prophet(phuh). Sufia of Awaisia Naqsbandi still use to ask any misconception about any hadees from the Soul of Prophet(pbuh)

But ignorant people who have not this ability and status, usually ask questions like these " who is not present ? "

A very disrecpectful and insulting way to say something about Prophet(pbuh) , who is not present, do u know the status of " Who" ?

There are some scholars which consider everything shirk, biddat, deviant , flana tamkeena....open fatwas factories, declare people kafirs, mushriq, munafiq ,murtid etc etc...but hardly give dawah of quran and Sunnah with love , affection, and reasonable manner as Prophet(pbuh) used to give. He evn signed a pact with jews, allowed christians to offer prayers in Masjid-e-Nabwi, and never said a single word to all Kafirs at Conquest of Makkah who showed such cruelty to him and muslims in all these long years . Thye flood the cyber world as well as real world with alot of money for thier hard core version , with zero tolerance level. Khwarijs were the same thing , They raised the slogans of " La Hukm Illalah " . Hazrat Ali(ra) once said about them , you have put a wrong meaning to a right thing.

We see such attitude in Iraq and Pakistan also where these people kill innocent shia children women , men with oil tankers, suicidal attacks even in markets, mosques, or even in hospitals.Such people even not spare the 60 inocent people in Karachi when they were celebrating Eid Miladul Nabi(pbuh) two years back. To kill innocents allowed as this event is Biddat and its allowed to kill these people, am i right ? !! The name of this group in Pakistan is Laskar-e-Jhangvi plus Talibans of FATA. and no need to tell that who are providing these people such huge money via Petro-Riyals and Dollars !

you did the right thing by deleting them.

I certainly do and it is not of God. It is of a prophet PBUH. We should keep it that way!

^,was the religion of Allah (swt) revealed to you direct or through the Prophet (saww)?

Propoganda is popular today, it won't be tomorrow when the oil runs out. Rasool Allah's name however insha Allah will remain forever.

Ayite its a very good question.
Well this thing differs from sect to sect and m sure this thread is gona creat a spark here as it did in the Zakir naik's thread where he called Prophet (saw) "dead".

Well to be honest i dont think that the word "YA" is just of Allah Subhanawatala. When u go to grave yard u say "Assalam o Alaikum YA ahlul kaboor". and YA means "AY" in urdu. Ay mere bandey.

BUT BUT BUT BUT BUT dont take me wrong, personally m totally against the naats now a days, they are pure shirk according to my naakis knowledge. Specially the ones that Dr. Amir liaqat Hussain sings. They ask Prophet (saw) for blessings and it is shirk, u can only ask Allah for blessings and help, u can not ask prophet (saw) for help. one example is

"bhardey jhooli meri ya muhammad" now it is shirk, only Allah can do this.

but on the other hand naats sung by professor abdul rauf are perfect, he just admires prophet (saw) in naats but for asking help he uses HUMDS.

yeah thats why all angels and Allah Himself recite Durood on Prophet(pbuh) !!