Am I missing out on my 'fun years' ?

Hello/ Salam Guys,
I have been reading a lot of threads on this forum and had a question of my own since many of you seem to be experienced and offer fairly good advise (apart from some of you jokers lol). Anyways, I am 20 years old living in U.S. I go to college and work full time to support myself (I live with parents, but I don’t let them pay my bills). Anyways, My question is am I missing out on my fun years of college since I don’t have a Girlfriend or for that matter any friends? I am fairly introverted and shy, and whatever time I have left after working or studying i spend in the gym, but sometimes this takes a toll on me when I see other kids my age hanging out with friends or their girlfriends, but to combat this I have this false sense of assurance where I tell myself, :don’t worry, after you graduate you’ll have plenty of time to make friends or find a girlfriend lol. Am i right on this logic or is it just a way to make myself feel good temporarily?

Re: Am I missing out on my ‘fun years’ ?

kya? :grumpy:

anyway, you seem like a acha bacha, i have someone in mind for you to be honest. introverted, shy, into fitness, good with studies.. mashallah, there’s a guppan i know.. she’s also quite similar. perhaps you’ll hit it off. :clown:

Ghost14, kidher ho? come say hi, don’t be shy now..

Re: Am I missing out on my 'fun years' ?

The fact that you're nick is Paindo No. 1 tells me you know when to have fun.

Do YOU feel like you're missing out or is this what everyone else is telling you?
Honestly My life was allot like you and I'm better for it today.
Good luck pah ji :)

yup me too... mei bhi study plus parhai kar rha hun... pata nhi aaj kal itna fun shayad nhi hai life meei.... kisi k paas koi idea hai k kya karna chahye??
time bhi nhi hai fun karne ka

OP don’t listen to Sweets. He’s a very feminine boy who is insecure. I am actually a guy so he was just messing with you.

You should see the size of his arse. It’s really something.

Honestly man, you probably are missing out on some fun things but that's life. I have friends who don't have to worry about money at all because even though they pay for everything, when they go home their parents will just give them $100 to take just in case. You're doing a very good thing for your parents so you should take comfort in that, but that comes with drawbacks.

As for missing out, it depends on what you like. Do you want a girlfriend? Do you want to be out partying? I don't know how religious you are but that doesn't really mesh with Islam. I do think that not having friends and not getting to spend time with them would suck, but you must have some time to get out there and hang out with people. Why not get a gym buddy to work out with?

There is something to be said about the friends you make during your uni/college years - that's something not to be missed out on. How much time you have them depends on how much time you make for them, but I would at least look at growing my social circle with like-minded people.

Girlfriend, partying and relationships - that's a personal choice - but maybe not as important as a close-knit group of friends.

I think you should mix a bit of both, work and fun. Don't delay living until after graduation otherwise you'll really miss out on some of the best years of your life.

It's okay to be independent and study, as well as have fun and good friends

no girl friend? - mashaAllah u r acha bacha.
no friends? that's alarming bro. these days of your life are not going to come back. don't just walk through your life. live it as much as you can.

Best of luck.

dude you only got a couple of years more to have fun and develop frienships…after that its all downhill.
Its good to look out for parents, but dont’ dwell on it too much…have fun and waste some of their money..you can pay them back when you enter the routine boring phase of life…

oh…girlfriend…yes get one…test the waters…i have seen some guys who didn’t interact with chics at all…and then they became total despos for chics and were blinded by their horniness causing them to marry in a haste and stuff…don’t get into that :nono:

Forget partying and dating, I can't imagine not having a life with no close friends from college...it's such an important time in your life to maek friends/

Although, if you feel like you're happy and content without em.....then no need to feel worried I guess...

I used to think the same way. Part of the reason why I watched Jersey Shore so religiously is because that was the lifestyle I missed .... and I used to be angry about that, but not after seeing it up close like on that show. You aren't missing anything.

Making friends is important, but so is doing things you enjoy outside of partying and girls. Develop your hobbies and interests. This is important for your personality and confidence, overall. If you want to learn how to skate, do it. If you want to play on a sports team, then do it. That kind of stuff is important, but partying, going to clubs, etc., that isn't important at all.

At some point in your life you might get a chance to experience these things that you think are important and you will realize that it is so overrated.

Living at parents' homes can limit your socializing options. While living at home may seem like the best option if you are located in, say, a small college town and your house is situated right next door to the campus, if you are in a larger city, living independently can be a better option instead of commuting to college from home.

You say you are already working full time so finances should not to be too much of an issue. Why not move out from your parents' house, perhaps even move into your college's dorm, so that you can get to know more people outside of class, make friends and all? Plus, you will also learn how to manage on your own, live independently, perhaps even learn how to cook and clean etc. if you don't know already-- skills, in order words, that are not taught in the classroom but you will need in future.

Good Job Young Man!
I worked fulltime and went to college fulltime as well. End result = less friends but the most authentic, amazing & loving friends. Career = Alhumulilah, When my friends were starting with base salary, I started with experience salary/management position.

So trust me when i say this, your hard work will pay off :)

( I did hang out with some of my close friends but all the airheads lets just say those monkeys are still hanging out. And when you are in your 30s and hanging outside of highschools, with your 10year old Benz lets just say it ain't sexy at all).

Salam. Dude, I was in the same position as you and probably still am. After high school where I had a lot of friends, I came to realise that most of my so called 'friends' started drifting away from me. They would not reply properly and not bother to meet up, long story short, I ended up losing quite a lot of friends as they did not act like a friend. After high school during my 1st year at Uni, I hardly interacted with my friends as we were all busy with uni and exams and assignments etc etc so there wasn't ever enough time.... after my first year I truly realised who my true friends were: like 2/3. So when holidays rolled around I found myself in a position where I had so much free time (friends had gotten less) that I just used to think about the good times and become depressed. My hair started falling out with stress. When I used to go around shopping by myself or with my mum or someone I used to become very sad and feel so sorry for myself, when I used to see people hanging around as groups of friends having a fun time etc etc and because my friends were such flakes (always cancelling etc) I never had this. So I started to think, people have so much fun at uni etc etc and here I am, with hardly any friends and a sad pathetic life. But however after moping around for a year I decided enough was enough. I was going to become stronger. My life should not depend on other people. My happiness is down to me. So I decided to get a job to network and make more friends and throw myself into my studies so that I could get a good degree, using it as something to work towards. Graduation rolled around and I obtained the highest in my entire Uni. As for friends, the close types that I wanted, they just happened naturally as life went on, sometimes you have to have patience rather then going out and getting it. So although you may be having difficulties now, life goes on it will just happen naturally. Don't dwell too much on what you haven't have a waste a year like me :/ Instead do something productive. Sorry for the long reply, I just identified too much to this post. Hope it helps and good luck! :)

One thing is being wise and a totally different one is being streetwise . Whoever is telling you that being a loner is ok , must be high while writing it . All the great leaders you’ll read about or observer were always streetwise and were never afraid of people .

I’ll just call it a phobia . . . get over it , be confident , hit on random girls , make random friends and enjoy life .

Enjoy :k:

Here you go , something to start with . . .

Balance is key at any stage in life, whether its when you're 42 or 24. I think you are overworking yourself a little. I wouldnt skip out on the gym or school, but maybe work part time. Try to interact with ppl in your classes and then those people will become your frnds. Having frnds is more important than have a grlfrnd...you can ask someone out/date once u like a girl but why go straight for a gfrnd when you need to work on social interaction to begin with.

HA! Welcome to reality my friend, btw if you wanna get chicks act like a total douche, girls respond to that. Contrary to all they say that they want "Sweet" and "Caring" guys thats BULL! Complete BULL, they respond to jerks. Go ahead, try it out and I guarantee you, you'll get a girl. Good luck.

bitter much?

kya hua beta, tell aunty sweets all about it. did she leave you for a hotter guy? :(