Am i just passing through a phase?

I have normally been considered a strong or lets say controlled girl when it comes to relations. I have never involved my self in any kind of affairs. I have had close friends & have also had crushes but something serious never struck me.

But lately i am getting this feeling of longing. Is it natural in the early twenties when all you hear is “When are U getting married?” “Oh U know, falaan got married” etc. Every other person i know is getting married and the wedding forum just makes me more inclined.

Now coming to the point, I have been in touch with a couple of friends & a few other male colleagues. Recently, a friend proposed to me. I am having a little very little feeling for him but i am still confused is it just the feeling of longing or the fact that i hear wedding bells everywhere or just natural inclination in early twenties or at this age you just tend to be very emotional?

It may be very odd for some of you but i am having this longing feeling for all the very candidates of marriage in my life and at the same time i am unable to say yes to anyone. I am even unable to describe the state of confusion i am passing through. Who do i say yes too? People always say that its your gut feeling or inner feeling for some one that makes you say yes. But i keep having this Yes feeling for all the people who show interest recently. I am the type of person who doesnt easily resolve for some one but look at me all confused about every single suitable candidate. I dont get the NO feeling and neither do i get the YES feeling. I some times get the vibe that may be i am feeling positive about some one or this friend of mine due to this feeling of loneliness or longiness?

What happened with you guys when you were to be married?

Re: Am i just passing through a phase?

"What happened with you guys when you were to be married?"

Early twenties I was studying and enjoying my Uni life to its full. My world was only around books and my friends.

Mid twenties i were dancing in my sisters weddings and doing a job too.

Late twenties i am still doing a job and i dont see anyone good around me so i am waiting for him to come n find me.

Sorry cant suggest you anything on ur prob but maybe u should involve ur parents. Listen to them what they say. They may sound more convincing to you.

Early twenties is a young age and taking a life time decision all alone at this age may not be very wise and enventually not very fruitful. So i would say consult with ur elders.

well let me give you a little bit of background on me.

My father had a heart attack last year…usse pehle I was dead set against getting married until I completed my master’s degree, but when that happened. My mom said m really worried about you main tumhe kahin set karma chahti hun etc. so I said fine let’s start the search then. So then there were lots of rishtas and stuff…koi mujhe nahin pasand aata tha aur jo mujhe thorra acha lagta tha somehow it wouldn’t work out. But I never had a strong feeling for anyone. Well anyways about in November of last year I went to visit my cousin-sister… her husband I guess observed me really closely and he says to my mom that..isse ghar ka kaam nahin aata uske ilaava nature ki bohot achi hain aunty m going to Pakistan in December mujhe apni beti ki details batayein aur batayein kis qisam ka larrka chaahiye aapko—main chahta hun yeh larrki meri family mein jaiye. So he took pix of me to pak…over there his on BIL took a liking to my photo and said I want this girl for my nephew….well my cousin-sister’s hubby came back to usa n gave my mom the proposal of his BIL’s nephew(now my hubby)…my mom called my saasu ma and asked her to send her son’s pix…as soon as that pic came I was drawn to it like I had never been drawn to anyone before…even though the picture was blurry and I cudnt see his face properly cuz he had his face covered with his mouth (unke baithne ka andaaz hi aisa hai) well then my saasu ma invited my mother to my jeyth’s wedding in march. So we made preps to go to pak for my jeyth’s wedding and had decided to take that opportunity to see my hubby. I landed in Pak on morning March 15th, that was the first tyme I laid eyes on ym hubby and saw him clearly…and I knew from inside that I was right he is the one I’m meant to be with…later that evening my saasu ma gave formal proposal…my mom had already asked me and I had said yes so iss tarha se rishta pakka hogaya…and hubby n I had our nikkah on march 24th just 9 days later

Itni lambi story bataane k makhsad yeh hai k you may wanna say yes to everyone…but there will just one for who you will feel an extreme pull towards…wait for that and if you cant wait then phir main kya bolun see what a lot of ppl see that larrke ki fam background kya hai kya pardhaii ki huwi hai ussne kitna established hai etc. ]

btw i'm 24 and got married this march

Is it time of the month? Sorry, it has to be asked, every lass feels all pro marriage when it comes to that special time of the month.

I am somewhat similar in terms of relationships, but I have never experienced 'longing' so much so that I feel the need to say 'yes' 'Yes' is a bad word in my head.

Im sure someone with different colour fonts will be here to help you shortly. In the mean time...have a flake...or some ice cream. :)

^lol @ someone with different color fonts… :hehe:

yes

sorry i just want
to reach 500 posts today before 12 pm

^ go to the jokes section and write "lol" to each one even if you don't find it funny :)

To PO i think it is just a phase, you're young, you may be feeling "left out" when you hear of others being or going to get married. But don't rush into decisions like marrying if you are not 100% sure.

Hi, your post reminded me so much of myself and what i feel at this moment of my life. I too am in my early twenties and everywhere i go its the same old story 'when are you getting married?', I try putting it off with my parents although, i know they want to take me back home but the truth is I do want to get married. The question like you is who to?.

I have finished university, all my younger relatives are married as are friends and majority with children! I too at times feel for the longing of being in a relationship, sometimes i envy some of my friends/random people who have someone in their lives. I wish i had too. Even if guys come to me, i usually push them away as they are not what i want or if i want them it just cannot be.

So my answer to your questions is, I think everyone has this desire form a young age to get married and start a family and as you get older, when it doesn't happen to you but everyone around you is getting married, of course you are going to feel the way you are feeling. Basically its natural, so don't think you are just being 'emotional'. The way i see it is everything is kismat. Though easier said than done, i just wait it out and see what happens. If you are meant to be with a particular person Allah will bring him to you, not just once but in many different times and thats what i believe. Even if you say no to someone now, but they are meant to be with you, someway or another he will again come into your life.

So don't feel inclined to say yes if you don't feel anything for someone.

Hope i made some sense!!

x

Don't do it..... don't say yes unless you really really like someone. I got married when I was 28 and I'm glad I waited. Some of the people I almost said yes to...... no way would I have been happy with them (My mom and aunt tried pressurizing me, while my dad supported me and said don't say yes unless you really want to get married to this person).

Marriage is not a bed of roses, you have to really work hard at it to make it work.... especially in the first 2-3 years. So don't say yes just because of that societal pressure until you feel ready emotionally. And honestly, single life is much much more enjoyable ;) enjoy it as much as you can. Say yes only when you meet someone who you really really like and are attracted to.

as they say there are 2 people needed for a marriage, a girl who is marriage age, and an eager mother.

without going into details, in my case it involved a family dispute and the marriage was arranged to end a generations long blood fued that had claimed the lives of many people on both ends. I did not want to do it, but then had all kinds of emotional blackmail from my mother, grandmother anf others, I liked another girl who was in US in a different university and we had friends in common so it was really a tough situation

I was unsure about whether I was ready to leave all my plans and go for solving this khandani dushmanu. I was only 19 then, I said I was not sure and needed time to think about it, and I need to mull it over during the fall semester and will tell them in winter. Her brother pointed a rifle to my face and asked me to just say yes or no rather than delaying tactics.

I said yes, but told my brother I was thinking of running away and my passport was taken from me. As the dates were being arranged, I took off for quetta and only told my cousin about it. Her family knew we were close so the had my cousin kidnapped and broke his ribs and ruptured eyesockets beating him at their haveli. He told them I was in Quetta and they had me arrested by some local idiot thanaydaar because he was bought by the local sardar who was old friend of my father in law. I was framed for drug possession and what nots, finally the bro in law and his goons came to the thana and told me that I can not take back my word because its an izzat thing for their clan and they would rather have me be dead and not have the wedding that way rather than say no.

My parents also came and my father told me that he has never asked me for anything in his life, and that this is one thing that will end the fued that has been going on since his father was a child and being the eldest on each side, him and my future FIL had decided this would be the way to just end the conflict that noone alive today had really been a part of.

I agreed, and went back, the next few weeks were really a haze, I was not in contact with anyone outside of my family, even though the restrictions on me were lifted. They day of the wedding was the first time I was going to meet her, and i was dreading it. wedding took place, I dont remember much, I had been drinking rather heavily for the previous few days, when i saw her first I thought I was just drunk then I realized, it was her..the girl from US.

all of a sudden, we started dancing and all the guests knew our move and we were in perfect choreography...fireworks went off, etc...in the distance a Pir Faqir looked down at the celebrations and had a knowing smile on his face.

This is 100% true.

X2...Im not sure what to say...

^ You defintly had a few too extra pints tonite.

I think X2's joking

hmmm
yeah you are right its the phase.... don't worry to much about it.
If want to find "the one" and then get married... then hmm.. you will just know... you won't come here to ask if he is the one... instead you will be coming here to complain about MIL and SIL.

And if you want to walk other path.. arranged marriage.... still you will be here complaining about
yeah...u guessed it... MIL SIL

etc etc.

no he is not, I was in his wedding.. in stead of bag of "chawars" he made me hold AK47...
I kid you not!!!

X2 can sell the copyrights to this plot to bollywood and become a millionaire overnight.

Oh humpty dumty.

I say gurl. Go with the flow and get marry. Mens looks dont matter. Mota ho ya Kala ho lerkike liye husbnad husbnad hota hai.

Lerki ki shadi 25 se pehle ho jani chahiye. Otherwise beti roh 35 thak

marry him because you want to marry HIM not because you want to get married.

x2–

You are truly one of a kind!!