am i an abcd?

disclaimer: I’M NOT AN AUNTY LIKE HOUSEWIFE WHO WATCHES ZEETV ALL DAY. I HAVE AN EDUCATION, A FULL TIME JOB, AND A HUBBY THAT I TAKE CARE OF. SO PLZ DONT HATE.

but…i was watching this drama recently, and i guess they’re trying to show that this dude marries a complete ABCD girl n now is gonna regret it etc. so i know dramas always exaggerate n are gonna make the girl go completely overboard…but as i’m watching this, i’d have to say i agree with 98% of everything she’s saying!!! I’m posting just the part of her dialogue but if you don’t wanna watch here’s basically the point director/producer is trying to make:

1. ABCD girl wants to wear the same type of clothes she wore BEFORE shadi. hubby knew her beforehand so no reason to expect a change in dressing style.

2. ABCD girl is offered a job where she’d come home 2 hrs later than hubby so she expects hubby to cook dinner etc or just eat take out like he did before shadi.

3. she does her own laundy, hubby will do his own.

4. she asked hubby to come to a party with her…but he didnt wanna go so she says she’ll come home late. she comes back around 2am n hubby’s mad so she like “well thats why i asked you to come with me”

5. she takes an interest in hubby’s finances/spending habits. wants to save up for a house. asks hubby how much money he sends home. he gets mad.

i’m not sayin i dress like her or come home from parties at 2am with random dudes…BUT i do agree that if the hubby could eat take out before then he can eat out after shadi too. n the split up of laundry is actually practiced in my household! i kind of agree with her all the way especially cuz the dude knew how she was beforehand. n this made me think: am i the ABCD that guys in pak fear like death and the very reason they don’t wanna marry us unless there’s a greencard in it for them???

funny thing is: i was born in pakistan!!! lol and i’m one of the most desified girls out of all my friends in terms of dressing etc. i mean i watch geo dramas on youtube on sundays. that should give you a clue abt how “americanized” i am. lol

Re: am i an abcd?

^ Apart from few facts that anyone can challenge , I think this kind of exaggeration sells better .

and no we don’t hate aunties who are housewives . They are awesome . :k:

Sometimes people from the motherland hate others from the motherland.

Just look at Aafreen's constantly turquoise-tasbeeh-turning mother.........she was born n brought up in Pak...................and looks down on her own family members that live in the same city as her. She has issues with Sabah and destroys her life.
When Adil's mother tells her that she hopes she too will be called for Hajj soon..............then the tasbeeh-turning-troll condescendingly tells her that not "everyone" is called for Hajj. LOOOOOOOOOOL!

I see your point, PG. BUT...........there will ALWAYS be exceptions to our generalizations. AND.......you'll find ABCDS hating on other ABCDS......FOBS hating on FOBS.........motherland dwellers turning their noses up at fellow motherland dwellers and thinking they're not good enough. Marriage is a complicated issue. People try their best to find someone compatible to them.......and sometimes even their best efforts at finding that person result in a failed marriage. To each his own.

^ True . I think we are developing a whole hate culture in Pakistan . Teaching them to be racist and generalize on every other aspect of life .

I blame elders for it :vivo:

Does it matter since ure already married? :hehe:

Why is the woman you refer to as “a complete [American Born Confused Desi]” speaking with the world’s **fobbiest **accent? Exactly what region of the US does she hail from, with that fob-tastic accent?!?
Am I missing something?!?

^She's a poser. (Although I have a friend who grew up in Canada and has a desi accent. I also know a little boy who was born and raised in US and has a an ABCD mom.........but maybe picked up his desi accent from his FOB dad.........who doesn't even live with them. Huh? Weird)

Yeah........I guess they couldn't find any willing ABCD girls to play the role. Which is strange.......cuz I'd imagine 15 minutes of fame would appeal to many.

Posing as a Fob?!? That's wrong on so many levels.

No, they just couldn't find any actresses, period! It can't be that difficult to do an American accent.

True. Who **wouldn't* *want their 15-minutes of fame on GupShup?

"agar Mrs asim ka matlab tang nazreen aur orthodox soch hai..abh bhi main mrs nahi hooN."

Errr... why did she marry this dude if she thinks being his wife means this and she's too good for him?

I dont see anything wrong with him asking her to change. Hes nto asking her to wear an abaya...it wouldn't've killed her to wear a shirt on top f that bra. (err sorry...sari blouse)

2 AM isnt a time for wives to be coming home with random dudes from parties. No matter how "shareef" the party/wife/husband/guy is.

Both make valid points baout their money habits but it coulda been handled better.

Im too lazy to watch teh rest of the video clips, someone tell me what the rest of the story is?

i did not watch the clip and am answering the questions as if they were there without a drama attached to it

1. ABCD girl wants to wear the same type of clothes she wore BEFORE shadi. hubby knew her beforehand so no reason to expect a change in dressing style.

People change their views over time so then it is up to the couple to manage where they will adapt and where they will not, but if u knew the person and they are the way they are, then asking them to change for you is a little dodgy.

1. ABCD girl is offered a job where she'd come home 2 hrs later than hubby so she expects hubby to cook dinner etc or just eat take out like he did before shadi.

I think it can be a shared responsibility, one can always cook food ahead of time and then heat and eat. So the guy cooking for himself, and eating take away are not the only options. all three in some combination can work.

1. she does her own laundy, hubby will do his own.

no issue with that, as long as the general workload around the house is equitably shared

1. she asked hubby to come to a party with her...but he didnt wanna go so she says she'll come home late. she comes back around 2am n hubby's mad so she like "well thats why i asked you to come with me"

I am on the fence on this one. no issues with her going on her own, and stating that she did want him to come with her, and that she told him it will be late. But I think the magnitude of what is late can be an issue. and then is 'late' defined i.e. 11;30, 12, 1? if that is defined then yes, if not then well yes it can be an issue.

1. she takes an interest in hubby's finances/spending habits. wants to save up for a house. asks hubby how much money he sends home. he gets mad.

No issues there, finances should be known, shared and discsussed by both.

Broader point- when things like these are clashes then its not just the differences in views about certain things that are an issue but more underlying issues for the relationship that need to be addressed..communication, expectations and mutual understanding, and that has little to do with being abcd or qrst.

Really Roxx, the bigger question here is why she’s mostly seen wearing capris pants? Would she be less of an ABCD if they extended the pants to full length jeans (I don’t begrudge capris though).

More importantly…were they the SAME pair of capris…each and every time?

These are more pressing concerns. :chai:

That depends on the accent with which these “full length jeans” speak: is it ‘fobby’?

One can only assume -unless you’re implying that the role of the ‘**capris **** pants [sic]’ **was played by twins, a la Michelle Tanner on Full House. Perhaps we should consult Uncle Jesse? :chai:

^Bob Saget (aka Danny Tanner) bought em, so he should know. But then again, Uncle Jesse and Joey most likely washed em. But Jesse was better looking…yeah go with Jesse.

It’s painfully embarrassing to watch that show now, can’t believe I looked forward to it as a kid. cringes

Nothing wrong with dressing the same after marriage as u did before (husband shouldn't have married her if he finds her style so scandalous imo) and it's healthy for the wife to be interested in money/household finances as well. Even separate laundry isn't too bad if the work is generally shared equally, he's not a baby and it wouldn't kill him to do his own little bit..

wats with the hang up on the 'accents'?..pleez show a little maturity and argue about soemthing worthwhile..

no wonder ppl form paksitan think we're stuck up and snobby..

lolll…thats true. i was just really shocked to find that i agreed with this actress on such trivial issues. and i just wanted to compare what other GS posters thought of this abcd image.

and this ABCD has a fob accent cuz she’s a fobby pakistani girl playing the role of an abcd. i didn’t cast for the roles i’m just a girl who happens to like geo tv!

We've already moved on from the riddle of the "accents" to the mystery of the "capris pants [sic]"; do *try *to keep up!

I'd have no problem with the accent if it were a girl from Pakistan. but since the character is meant to be an ABCD, why not cast someone who has a better accent?
anyways its more of an issue about the casting choice and acting than the accent itself......

LOL. :k: