Altaf hussain Updates | Granted Pak Passport

Re: Altaf hussain arrested | Bail Rejected

^ Shouldnt the MQM supporters protest in front of 10 downing street? After all its Britain which has implicated him. In Pakistan so far no one has the courage to implicate Altaf Hussain and other politicians from different political parties.

Supporting someone just because of his ethnicity is taasub, and the above post is full of it. You should really stop crying discrimination at anything said against daddy of MQM. I am really getting sick of MQM getting everything they want through blackmailing AND crying about being discriminated against all the time.

We all have heard Altaf very proudly defending his British nationality only a few months ago. He had absolutely no issues with the British Government or authorities for years he was their subject. Now suddenly, the British are biased. Very nice.

Nawaz, Zardari and company would certainly have transferred money out of Pakistan to UK. But you forget two things. They are not British nationals and the crimes they committed were not committed in the UK but in Pakistan. To think British authorities would really do anything about Pakistani nationals involved in corruption in Pakistan is idiotic.

Being dual national is no crime. But when you are British national (in addition to being a Pakistani) and commit crimes in Britain, you'd face the consequences. Why protest in Pakistan then? If Nawaz's son or Imran's son commits a crime in Britain, they'd be handled the same way.

Why so? They protest where they are.

But you are right in one thing and that is, to have an effective protest, they should protest in front of British conciliate in Pakistan rather spend energy wastefully. But then, it is they who can decide what they should do.

Salem, what do you think about slogans like 'Jo qaaid ka ghaddar he wo maut ka haqdar he' or 'Hamelin manzil nahin rehnuma chahiye'?

you are right. To support someone just because of ethnicity is tasub and that is what people outside Karachi are doing since 1947 and are doing same today too.

As for Karachi, there is no one ethnicity to consider MQM votes as ethnicity based votes, as in Karachi we have people from all over subcontinent, from various provinces, various sects, various ethnicity, various culture, various languages, etc.

Initially Karachiets voted Muslim league, but those they voted showed tasub. Then they voted JI and JUP, but they only used to get elected from Karachi and then ignore them, never tried to sort out their problems. In 1971 election they voted Bhutto (3 out of 7 NA seats went to PPP) but PPP showed worse tasub even when Bhutto got the votes ... and it was first time there was riot in Sindh. Then they supported Zia, and Zia also showed tasub ignoring them and their problems. So today most vote MQM, and fortunately they did get something, as it seems MQM do work for the people of Karachi whatever way they can ... at least it seems so. MQM also try to bring harmony and unity between different language and other groups, sects, ethnicity, culture, religion, etc in the city and province.

As for them getting what they want, is not true, but shows your thinking and problem. They only do strike where they have support, and they have right to do strike there too, so what? ... They shut down Karachi not Lahore or any city they do not have hold, so why worry? If people of Karachi would get fed up with them, they would stop voting them, but if they still vote them then it should not bother anyone.

If anyone thinks that MQM wins by rigging then government should device ways that rigging do not happen anywhere in Pakistan, rather it becomes impossible to rig election. Who knows, it maybe that if there would be no rigging, MQM might get number of seats in Punjab too. :)

We all have heard Altaf very proudly defending his British nationality only a few months ago. He had absolutely no issues with the British Government or authorities for years he was their subject. Now suddenly, the British are biased. Very nice.

Defending British Nationality ... but question is, why there was reason or cause to defend? ... Why people started questioning British nationality when Pakistanis could take British nationality without surrendering Pakistani nationality?

As for British law, in UK there is tasub too, but less tasub then Pakistan, so one feel less discriminated. Anyhow, UK treat dual National as UK national without questioning their other nationality (not like Pakistan ... especially when it comes to Jahil Iftikhar as CJ, he was such an idiot that he thought dual nationals are no more Pakistani ... showing his tasub mentality). Actually, British government also helps British nationals as much as they can in Pakistan, even if they have Pakistani nationality too. It is same as Pakistan helping a Pakistani national in UK, even if they have British nationality ... but since British have less tasub, they do not question their government helping British national Pakistani in Pakistan, like what you are doing.

Nawaz, Zardari and company would certainly have transferred money out of Pakistan to UK. But you forget two things. They are not British nationals and the crimes they committed were not committed in the UK but in Pakistan. To think British authorities would really do anything about Pakistani nationals involved in corruption in Pakistan is idiotic.

I think you are ignorant of laws. When a person breaks country's law in that country, then nationality does not matter. These thugs transferred illegally acquired money to UK and hence broke UK law (Under UK law, laundering money is crime) and should get prosecuted and punished if ever come to UK ...but British government is just ignoring it. Switzerland did convicted Zardari and BB for money laundering. Nawaz's son is using illegally acquired money to do big business in UK, and thus should get prosecuted too.

Being dual national is no crime. But when you are British national (in addition to being a Pakistani) and commit crimes in Britain, you'd face the consequences. Why protest in Pakistan then? If Nawaz's son or Imran's son commits a crime in Britain, they'd be handled the same way.

You are right ... but what about Aafia? Why Pakistanis were protesting in Pakistan when she is not even Pakistani national, was American, broke American law, and got arrested in Afghanistan? What about blasphemous cartoons by a Danish citizen in Denmark that caused huge protest in Pakistan? … It seems you do not understand that people protest where they are, regardless of where crime or injustice originates.

Personally, I consider that rhetoric, party stunt, political slogan, and nothing else. :)

^ Sa1eem bhai, the protests for Aafia and Danish cartoons were stupid, idiotic and damaging to Pakistan. Same goes for MQM goons.

Three Pakistani cricketers were found cheating in a cricket match in England. Please go review the cricketnama threads about them and evaluate how much abuse was thrown at them. No one claimed it was 'tasub'.

As for you, any comment you do not like is tasub. That behavior is taasub. Of all dictators, you'd support one just because of his ethnicity. That is taasub. I wouldn't reply to your racist bigotry anymore in this thread. Have a good day. Thanks.

had hoti hay andhay pan ki.... hanibal aur AP ka asar ho gaya kia?

Source please.

Please read my post (post 279) ... as I gave the source ... that is the oath a person has to take when acquiring American nationality. You can find American oath of nationality anywhere on net, or can get it from American embassy. For your ease, I am putting down American nationality oath down under.

American nationality oath: I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen; that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I will bear arms on behalf of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform noncombatant service in the Armed Forces of the United States when required by the law; that I will perform work of national importance under civilian direction when required by the law; and that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; so help me God.

So, one can see from the oath above that American nationality oath requires declaration that: 'I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign state, of whom I have heretofore been a citizen'

Altaf hussain arrested | Bail Rejected

So I guess no new development regarding AH in last 12 hrs?

Only if life was that simple.
Altaf and Afaq tortured, maimed, and killed thousands and thousands of each other's members. The basis of all that bloodshed were slogans like 'maut ka haqdar'. And yet Altaf did nothing to stop either these slogans or those who dared to went against him.

'manzil nahin rehnuma'. Why should we worship Altaf? Any leader should be nothing but the means to reach the destiny. But Altaf has made MQM his slave-girl. Unfortunately.

Now people tend to support him for the sake of keeping the unity. But what good is the unity when MQM's aim is nurture Altaf instead of doing good for the people?

'Manzil nahin rehnuma chahiye'.

Re: Altaf hussain arrested | To Stay In Hospital

Dawn is reporting that officials are allowing 3 close relatives or friends to meet Altaf Hussain. Some media reports said that his daughter has already been given access to her father.

This is the biggest challenge for mqm since it's inception. It would be interesting to see how they handle the issue both within Pakistan and abroad. It would be better for the party to pass on the leadership to someone else.

^ the problem is workers are not ready to accept anyone other than altaf bhai

Trust me thats where the solution lies as well. Once he is not there, they'll either go to hide out or become small factions fighting with each other like talibans. But in the end of the day they'll finish themselves.

exactly it is altaf hussain who is holding mqm togather wthouth altaf hussain survival of mqm is impossible

Referring to your own post as “reference”, lol. This below is what is called “reference” :stuck_out_tongue:

USA.gov: The U.S. Government’s Official Web Portal

http://travel.state.gov/content/travel/english/legal-considerations/us-citizenship-laws-policies/citizenship-and-dual-nationality/dual-nationality.html

Is Dual Citizenship Allowed in the United States? | Legal Language Services

Renouncing citizenship is NOT required.

No one knows the future. But I think MQM without Altaf will be beneficial for MQM in the long run.
In the immediate aftermath of his removal or death, MQM might split in various groups. But eventually one group will prevail.
Even if no single group emerges out, still they would be cooperating with each other for the common causes at provincial and federal level.

So unlike many people fear or hope, Altaf's removal may not be the doomsday for MQM. In fact, it may be beneficial to make new voters, if the stigma of violence associated with Altaf is removed.

If Altaf Hussain "nominates" someone then probably it won't be as much of problem.